Product Index
Everything Else
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Patrick, Teacher. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: am a geometry teacher at the high school level. I can see using this product to help my student appreciate the real world application of geometry and to assist them in developing an understanding of logic and problem solving.

Strengths: Although it is perhaps not seen as a tool for high school geometry, the logic and problem solving lessons that ae imbedded into this program can show a simple and understandable application of geometric comcepts.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think if the concept could be brought to a high level of problem solving, its application could be directly integrated into any high school math class to reinforce and support problem solving skills.

Verdict: This is a simple learning tool that provides problem solving and logic skill to students from kindergarten through 10th grade geometry.

Michael, Art Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: As the art teacher I see every student in my elementary school. I'm planning to set up a unit with 5th graders using Pixel Press.

Strengths: Integrates art, math, technology and language arts in a problem-based learning environment.

Suggestions for Improvement: I'm looking forward to the physical manipulatives being released - I can see using this with my 2nd-5th grade students immediately, and would love to integrate it with my kindergarten & 1st grade students.

Verdict: Hard to find any negatives at this point.

Kamra, Math Teacher. School Type: High School
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would not use this in my particular curriculum, but I would use this as a stand alone enrichment or after school activity. I am looking at starting something with coding. This would be a great introductory, easy to follow platform.

Strengths: It is a really cool feature that you write the code by hand. Then you take a picture of the code and it creates the game. You can then edit it digitally. The use of coding by hand is a great feature. It would really make students plan out their ideas since it is more painstaking.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great if it were intended for a larger audience. It is great that coding is being pushed for lower grades, but there is still a need for coding items for high school students who did not have the coding opportunities at a younger age.

Verdict: This might really have a place in a coding or business type high school classroom. I cannot see where it would fit in another classroom. It seems to really be intended for up through about 12 years old.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product for our STEM or our STEAM time. This product really seems to incorporate it all in. The students are having to do engineering, math and all sorts of concepts when they play this.

Strengths: This product does a really good job tying in all the STEM concepts. It doesn;t just focus on one, it uses them all to create a video game. It gets the students thinking critically and it gets them to use problem solving skills to create something fun that they want to do which is a video game.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would add in a little more differentiation. It seems like there is only so much the students can do. I like that they are adding in a game for younger students to do.

Verdict: I would recommend the staff to use it because it gets the students thinking critically. The students are doing something fun by creating their own video game. It would tie STEM in really well which incorporates it all.

Technology Teacher, School Type: Middle School, BYOD Devices
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product with my technology students. I would have them work in pairs to design their game. I would want to see their "storyboard" to see what their plan was before starting. I have a tech lab and have 5 - 8th grade students. 7th and 8th grade students are with me for the entire school year.

Strengths: I like that students have to have a plan before working on the creation of the game.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. I would have a teacher dashboard where I could create student usernames. 2. I would like if their was a way to access the students' work to see that they are making progress. 3. I would like a way for them to share their final project with me.

Verdict: I would recommend this tool because it would develop my students critical thinking and programming skills in a fun, yet challenging way. I like that my students get to express their creativity.

Chuck, High School Math Teacher. School Type: High School, Low Income Population, Blended Learning
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: i would try to use this with my 4 year old daughter or my students as a 20% time type activity

Strengths: this product opens up the world of video game design without making kids learn any coding first. i could see a student wanting to learn coding to customize more of their own games

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. find a way to integrate a more defined educational component - i would want to use it to support my teaching beyond just using as a reward 2. get that pre-k model done for my own kids! 3. is there a way to get it working on store-bought graph paper if the colored in squares for the software to identify? sometimes I hate printing, if i could use paper i bought from the store, that would be nice

Verdict: i love the design thinking, competitive element "beating" the game, and social media connection in sharing the game with your friends

Hillsboro, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this tool and app to reward students to create video games.

Strengths: Creative outlet for kids. Hands on and visual.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great to have different apps for each grade level.

Verdict: I would recommend this tool and app because we don't have a platform like this for kids to create.

Instructional Technology, School Type: Other, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use Pixel Press for students to create things on their iPads.

Strengths: It gives students the opportunity to integrate art into ELA and math. It is iPad compatible.

Suggestions for Improvement: Track data free

Verdict: It is compatible with iPads and gives students the opportunities to be creative.

Jake, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: This is a good idea for students who are working on coding or similar concept. I don't think it would fit well into my classroom because the complicated concepts. I struggled with understanding the concepts, so sharing it to others would be quite difficult. I could see this being very helpful for middle schoolers and high schoolers but not elementary students.

Strengths: Highlight is the creativity of the game. I haven't seen a game before with a similar concept. There are lots of math, or english apps, but not many of coding. This provides concepts that will be perfect for some students.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would make more of a area for assessment, therefor the teacher can know if learning is actually happening. They can also develop a way to add different concepts into a game besides coding and problem solving, maybe math or other aspects. It's a great start and now they can constantly develop it more and more so they can reach all age ranges. Not just the older students.

Verdict: It helps students to work on constantly improving and enhancing a product. Once they have designed their game they might have to go back and redesign it depending on how it worked out. This is a area where students don't always want to spend time, once students finish something they don't always want to go over it again and redo it. This helps emphasize the importance of redoing something until it's the best it can possibly be.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Low Income Population
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: Educationally as well as technologically, I want something that can help the students understand the process as well as the result. This is more of a point and click version of a lot of other programs.

Strengths: It is interactive and gives some creative options

Suggestions for Improvement: I would have a more coding option after a certain amount of plays. I would also have a different type of game play or objective based game play.

Verdict: I think it would occupy learners and maybe get them motivated but beyond that I would have problems because it doesnt get them involved wirth the process outside of the point and click experience.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up