Product Index
Everything Else
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
2nd Grade Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Blended Learning
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I love the ability of the kids to actually write their own comments next to a picture. This would be excellent for their Young Authors Faire presentation books as well as field trip memory books.

Strengths: Such a wonderful opportunity for the children to run with their own ideas and have fun with their writing.

Suggestions for Improvement: I wish it were available with Chromebooks. We have so few Ipads/tablets at our district. I'd be willing to bring in my personal iPad to see them do this though!!

Verdict: I think it would be excellent for the field trips and kids to present their own writing.

7th Grade Math / Tech Tosa, School Type: Middle School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I can have students create a "unit book" or a "topic book" in a math classroom. Students can easily share example problems and write about them. Students are able to take pictures, and easily import them into their book. It's neat that they are able to order printed books. I forgot to ask, but I wonder how much a printed book will cost.

Strengths: -Easy to use UI
-Very intuitive, fast

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) Needs ability to insert mathematical equations
2) Needs android/web/chromebook support
3) Does it allow teachers to create "classroom portfolios" to showcase classroom work?

Verdict: It allows students to be creative. It allows teachers to be creative. I suppose it's similar to other digital storytelling ideas, but the app seems very well made and intuitive.

4th Grade Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: Cost is expensive for a 20 page book at least to print it. Do not have 1-1 iPads at this point.

Strengths: 1. Easy to use intuitive interface.
2. Graphically appealing
Think that this solves the teacher's problem of being able to have students create digitally and to share their work.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Make the cost of printing the book more cost effective
2. Sharing gallery of student created content
3. bring more functionality, i.e. video into the platform

Verdict: The platform looks like it is easy to use. (positive)
The cost for the app is free (positive)
Cost for the books to be printed is expensive (negative)
Book can be shared digitally and with audio too (positive)

Shel, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: Have students publish their final writing copy, good copy

Strengths: Looks great, wonderful for end of year, conferences etc

Suggestions for Improvement: There is not a lot of extra time to teach students things like this, it is an icing on the cake sort of app
We are being asked to document and assess everything with data these days. This has a gorgeous product but data is the big deal especially if we are spending school funds

Verdict: It looks great, the real book feeling would attract students and families would like it i am sure

K Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use this product to communicate with parents. Through Shutterfly I am able to ask for parent volunteers, communicate school and classroom events, post pictures of our field trips, or any projects the class is doing.
Also, my room parent was able to create a year book using all pictures we had in Shutterfly to give to the students at the end of the year.

Strengths: It is very easy to send messages to parents.
Pictures are easy to upload
Documents are easy to upload

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be nice to have an option to personalize my classroom page.

Verdict: I would recommend using Shutterfly , because it is easy to use, we can upload photos and documents, and you can create albums and share it with your classroom. You can create a sense of family with each class.

1st Grade Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would utilize it in my writing session with different content areas such as science,math,language arts and social studies.

Strengths: The visual appeal of the finish product of students' writing will motivate them to continue growing as writers and using their creativity to enhance their work. I love that this resource is Free!

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Only available on IPad
2. We have to pay to printing book

Verdict: I would let them know that Shuttlefly is an
engaging,creative and innovative tool to engage students in writing.

Emily, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would like to use this product to create a yearbook for my class. The kids could help design the book and I could send the digital copy to the parents and they could have the option to purchase on their own or keep the digital copy.

I would like kids to create their own books for different projects.

Strengths: Easy for kids and teachers to use.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like it to be ChromeBook friendly.

I would like to pay less per book if I wanted to do a class gift.

Verdict: It is important for children to go through the writing process form start to finish. Publishing a book is the finished product. Teachers do not always have the time or funds to purchase things to help kids publish books. This program makes it easier and time friendly.

Bridges the gap between home and school as well.

School Tech Inst Asst., School Type: Elementary School, 1:1 Devices
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Project work on our ipads!

Strengths: Easy for students to use, it is very intuitive. It will make students who have difficulty doing written work make progress.

Suggestions for Improvement: Class management system for teacher!
Available from other devices.
Allow printing of books at school.

Verdict: Looks Easy to use. Our students can produce fiction or non fiction work easily. It is a creative tool with the option to print beautiful books for families to keep.

Tech, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Making a project where extended collaboration engaged students inside and outside schools

Strengths: Ease to use is its strength, and they can quickly see the end results.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) Wonder if higher grade students would reject it based on its UI
2) Cost of printing could be high

Verdict: It looks simple enough to get student started

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: Maybe have the students pick their favorite story from the year to publish into a complete bound book at the end of the year.

Strengths: It would be a great way to motivate students on doing their best writing in class. Tell them they get to publish their best story at the end of the year. It would motivate them to illustrate their stories with lots if details or teach them to add photos to their stories.

Suggestions for Improvement: It is too expensive for my class right now. Price per book should be around $5.

Verdict: It's still too expensive for each student, do maybe if it was like $5-6 a book I would consider it for my class. I go like the printed books - the quality is good. It would be a nice keepsake for each student to take one home at the end of the year.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up