Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Jun 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: IT is not appropriate for my school.

Strengths: Free products and lesson planning for teachers to use

Suggestions for Improvement: Not all subjects and contents are there. Only limited amounts of lesson are available. No worksheets to go with certain lessons.

Verdict: Our district has the resources to provide customize professional training to all teachers.

Brian, Teacher. School Type: High School
Jun 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to plan my lessons. It would help me find great lessons and align them with my needs of my class and for the school.

Strengths: It is easy to navigate and helps one to find best teaching products. It also will help me create lessons that match the standards and also are already tested.

Suggestions for Improvement: None, keep up the great work!

Verdict: It helps teachers do the best teaching they can do! It also is a great collaboration tool.

Bruce, Instructional Technologist. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School
Jul 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Being at a county office, I could see using this solution across a consortium of educators, possibly from multiple districts, engaged in a focused professional learning pursuit together.

Strengths: With essentially only 10 minutes of exposure to the solution itself (after introductions and philosophy/context setting), I did not develop a deep grasp of its range and depth of functionality.

The mobile app interface looks clean, the ability to capture and upload a range of artifacts as evidence looks solid, the ability to focus tightly on a particular skill and receive coaching support from a vetted coach is great.

Suggestions for Improvement: Not able to say at this time...would need more time with this solution.

Verdict: At this first exposure to this solution, it seems quite promising in terms of the focused (personalized) professional growth it could support for each participating teacher and what they are focused on improving.

Cheryl, Director Of Curriculum And Instruction. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices
Jul 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this with my teaching staff to improve upon the personalize professional learning we have created. We have moved to offering completely differentiated PD for teachers by allowing them to submit a personalized professional learning plan.

Strengths: This product honors teachers as professionals and lifelong learners. It resolves the problem of teachers being forced to attend one-size-fits-all PD. It models for teachers what we want teachers to do for their students, which is differentiating their instruction.

Suggestions for Improvement: Lower the cost of the per day orientation. The other pricing seems doable but the per day is more than other consultants.

Verdict: I believe the added piece of having a personal coach would increase the successful implementation of our "flexible professional development" plan.

Math Teacher, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Jun 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use better lesson to find resources for my daily and weekly lesson plans. I would use the worksheets and be sure that I can change the worksheets for all of my students.

Strengths: This product is great for helping teachers plan lessons and gather the materials for their daily lessons. It solves the problem of hours of planning.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would change the layout because it is sometimes hard to navigate. I would provide more resources for blended learning because that would help me become a better teacher.

Verdict: This is really easay and helpful for all teachers looking for predesigned worksheets and materials for their classroom.

Staff Development And Curriculum Specialist, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School
Jul 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would inform principals that they could use this for personalized PD for teachers.

Strengths: Having Personalized PD at the teachers learning and mindset level. I see how it would greatly help teachers employ strategies to that are actionable in the classroom.

Suggestions for Improvement: I don't think there was a lot I can think of right now to improve it. It sounds like a great product.

Verdict: For personalized PD for teachers, especially for those that need it in their schools and to differentiate PD.

Director Of Business, School Type: High School
Jul 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product for PD for teachers

Strengths: its strengths are it's offerings and the ease of use. It looks like it would be a great tool for our new teachers who do not have any teaching experience.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would change anything until it's implemented in the district. After a review with all staff involved and evaluation from our curriculum committee.

Verdict: It's satisfies a challenge currently with new teacher training.

Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population
Jun 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use it in combination with betterleson.com to evaluate and improve my teaching. I was impressed by the number of lessons that teachers had uploaded on betterlessons.com and looking forward to seeing all the features from teachcycle.

Strengths: Reflecting on the delivering the lesson and combination with betterlesson.com make this a great product.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would love to see a school or district portal where teachers from a particular school can collaborate together.

Verdict: I would recommend this product becasuse I think that there is room to grow for each teacher, and this product would allow the teachers to reflect on their teaching and improve.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Jun 13, 2015

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: It is not cost effective for the boston public schools

Strengths: It cost too much for work boston already does with teachers

Suggestions for Improvement: send some samples out for free to let teachers see if it is any different

Verdict: not cost effective

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Jun 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to supplement my curriculum in math and ela and use with my ELL and SPED students to give them extra support.

Strengths: This is user friendly, as well as comprehensive. It has ideas, lesson plans and connections with other teachers. It scaffolds skills for my ELLs and SPED students and is dynamic in how many resources are available.

Suggestions for Improvement: more special education resources other curriculum areas in kindergarten more definitive sites for ELL learners

Verdict: I would defend the use of this site as helpful effective, and easily accessible to use in the classroom. It has some assessments to make my job easier.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up