Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Dino, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would love to use this product for instant feedback in my classroom. We are going 1:1 next year and this product would be a great addition to my resources that I'm trying to get together for next school year or this spring. My students enjoy technology in the classroom and this would be a great way to get them engaged and involved in the lessons.

Strengths: The instant feedback in math class is very, very important so this product allows that with a very easy setup and gives accurate information and results. Students being able to access the same presentation as teachers and interact with it at the same time is priceless. Also this product is FREE, which is unbelievable.

Suggestions for Improvement: Three things that I would like to change would be: being able to enter equations and have students edit those equations in a way to correct them. Another thing that would also help out would be some shared lessons that other teachers did that I would be able to use in the classroom. The last thing that I would like to see on Pear DECK would be to allow students to record the presentation with audio and video feed.

Verdict: My reasons for recommending Pear Deck would be: it is easy to use, very engaging, and doesn't take a lot of time to setup. It allows teachers to document students results for data tracking and assessments. This can be used for all content areas and all teachers would be appreciative of it.

Melanie, Librarian. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to guide lessons and to engage my learners.

Strengths: It gives teachers a way to control the screens of student devices. It provides a tool for formative assessment. It allows teachers to see student growth or progress.

Suggestions for Improvement: Create a way for students without Google accounts to be able to create accounts. This would make it more accessible to elementary teachers.

Verdict: I would advocate for it because formative assessment is vital to student learning and Pear Deck gives teachers a way to assess for actively.

Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: This product would be great not only in the classroom but also for professional development purposes and to teach staff new strategies.

Strengths: The product is visual, interactive, and engaging. It solves the problem of students just listening to a lecture. This way they get to engage with the material and see their answers on a bigger screen as well as see what other students are doing. The teacher also has a lot of manipulative power with what to show and what not to show.

Suggestions for Improvement: The only problem with this application is that it requires students to have devices. It is difficult for low income schools to have a 1:1 ratio that this type of application requires.

Verdict: I enjoyed learning about this product because it has elements of familiar applications like PowerPoint but it has an awesome interactive element. This way students are kept engaged and the rigor of the lesson is increased.

Suzanne, Technology Librarian. School Type: High School, 1:1 Devices
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to add interactive questions to my presentations. As a one-to-one school, students have the technology at their desk. It is a great way to check for understanding of a concept before moving onto the next.

Strengths: It's biggest strength is the ability to do interactive quizzing within the lesson. It appeared to be a quick way to check for understanding and, since it is tech-based, not as burdensome as exit slips and other paper-based methods.

Suggestions for Improvement: How do you track collective student responses? For example, if 50% of the students put forth a wrong answer how do I know that. I saw that you could see individual students but a tech tools should make it easy to see total results.

Verdict: There is a free version that we can use to make sure it meets our students need before purchasing school-wide at the student-price basis.

Kenneth, Tutor. School Type: High School, Higher Education
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Create collaborative teaching environments that allows me to track the energy, focus, and progress of each student while making them accountable for their own work in front of their peers.

Strengths: Get students to actively share their work in front of the class when they have done something but are shy about speaking up Involve more passive students through peer pressure to an extent and motivating by showing acknowledgement with positive feed back.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) Open up software beyond google drive because not all students have gmail accounts 2) Enable teachers to share lessons or have an open source for gathering lessons, other documents, and video

Verdict: Peer motivation to pay attention and to provide quality answers and feedback is a powerful tool that teachers need to become comfortable with and use in their classrooms

Stephanie, Math Teacher. School Type: High School, Low Income Population, BYOD Devices
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would import a slides lesson and usenet with 1:1 in my classroom to keep students engaged and on-track.

Strengths: The overlay ability in the drawing feature is awesome. I could see myself using this for graphing functions and having students critique their own graphing and comparing shifts to parent functions. The ability to lock student screens is also a plus when need students to "pause".

Suggestions for Improvement: Ability to upload pictures on the graph screen. Increased math options. This will limit my ability to use for majority of math lessons (fractions, exponents, etc) Can't think of a 3rd right now.

Verdict: Innovative features. There are similar products on the market, but the ability to work within Google Drive will appealing to Google Apps for Education users.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I want the product to be more student centered. I like the idea behind the product but I want the students to be able to log on and do it themselves. It seems like it would be extra work for all the students to log on and just respond to a question. I wouldn't waste whole class time on this unless the students could do it themselves on a reading group book they were reading about. Then I could have all the students working in pods in different areas of the room working on different things.

Strengths: This product does a really good job at giving the students a question and having them answer it and then plotting their answers right away.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would make this product more student centered or student directed so the students could log on and do it without so much teacher support.

Verdict: I wouldn't recommend it because the students can't log on and do it without the teacher.

Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use this to teach my students with a visual. I would use this to teach my students how to interact with a video or assignment.

Strengths: I like the annotating tool for students. I like the individuality and freedom it gives the students.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great to have step by step guides for students. It would be great to have video tutorials. It would be great to be able to create groups to share content within a school district or classroom.

Verdict: I would recommend this tool because it is an engaging tool to help students interact with content.

It Director, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, 1:1 Devices
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would direct my teachers in using this presentation tool to capture class participation in our one to one classrooms.

Strengths: This product allows teachers to attach quizzes to presentations, take control of the presentation by adding to the slides and allow the teacher to manage student participation through their devices.

Suggestions for Improvement: Signin without Google account

Verdict: This product represents a natural and intuitive progression of the traditional presentation based lesson in a one to one class. It is simple and easy to use.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to provide interactive lessons for students to have interactive learning and authentic learning experiences.

Strengths: Interactive, Authentic learning experiences, and ease of access or use. Students can use their devices to interact with the technology. The platform is provided for teachers, and the technology can be utilized at a reasonable cost.

Suggestions for Improvement: The paid version provides more valuable tools and resources. The site does not provide content to users.

Verdict: This program provides an interactive component to any presentation provided to students.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up