Product Index
Educational Operations
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Elizabeth, Principal. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices, BYOD Devices
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I have used this product on a weekly basis for both staff professional development, to further my own skill and knowledge as an administrator, as well as using it a resource and reference tool for my teachers who are looking for easy to access living/visual examples of watching other teachers in action on topics that have direct relevance and meaning for them on issues in their classrooms.

Strengths: The greatest strength of this product is it's bank of videos on hundreds of meaningful topics that show teachers in action, in the classroom as they interact with students. Teachers can peruse almost any topic they can think of related to education and find instantaneous support that has relevance and meaning to the issues they are directly dealing with in their classrooms. Above all, this product can be accessed anywhere and anytime which takes away the "I don't have time" factor in education.

Suggestions for Improvement: The first thing I would change about this product are the reflective questions that follow the video modules. Each video can have anywhere from 3 or more questions that can be assigned when using it for professional development. What I have learned from my staff is that teachers will search videos that have fewer questions and view only those. They enjoy the videos and they find them very useful but they dread any video that has multiple questions they need to reflect on. For administrators, a quick check in reflective question will let me know they completed the task without the need to walk them through too many cumbersome reflections.

Verdict: I would recommend that we use this tool because as an administrator, the number one complaint I hear from staff is lack of available time to search for tools that assist in their own self reflection and lack of opportunity to do cross grade level walks and observations to learn from other teachers in real time. This tool allows any teacher in any grade level search thousands of topics that have direct relevance to the issues they are experiencing in their individual classrooms. They have the ability to watch multiple videos of other educators demonstrating a lesson or speaking directly to a topic of interest with students in the room. This allows them to absorb information, reflect on practices, and gain tools that will increase their instructional efficacy at their own convenience. The most appealing factor of this product is that it can be accessed anywhere and anytime which eases the teacher's ability to access the information and support they seek the very moment they need it.

K Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Blended Learning
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this for professional development for myself or with my team. I would also use it as a teaching tool with new teachers that I mentor or with high school students who aid into room.

Strengths: This product shows relevant topics and uses teachers in their own environment. It solves the problem of hunting for effective videos on YouTube which may or may not be done by professionals. The questions asked after each demo Lesson are specific and thought provoking

Suggestions for Improvement: It is expensive. I would like perhaps an abbreviated form to be available for individual use. Second, I would like to see the early childhood and lower grade level resources expanded, or more on differentiation. Last, it would be great if some of the effective teaching practices in the videos could be highlighted as a means of doing more of a self check.

Verdict: I would recommend it's an excellent resource for both the videos and the scripted information. Itcoversmany topics at many grade levels, and all are relevant to the CCSS. It makes it so easy to find specific topics at specific grades. It would also be great to watch with a group and then discuss.

Curriculum & Instruction, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I have used to product for personal and professional growth and learning. We have also incorporated it's use during staff meetings as either full feeds or snipets added to our discussion boards.

Strengths: High quality, relevant, applicable and current content that can be used tomorrow by teachers using today.

Suggestions for Improvement: Stick with your name...the recent change was not ideal nor do I like it is much Make downloading of "free" resources available easier. Can you create a feature that will allow the admin to push in relevant content ideas or PD ideas to staff based on individual or collective need.

Verdict: If you have started flipping you staff meetings, it is a great tool to use as a Springboard for discussion and learning. Educates collection is wide enough to meet the interests of educators across the board. You could also encourage teachers to spend time learning independently to improve or expand their practice.

Jen, Teacher. School Type: High School, 1:1 Devices
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Edivate is a professional development program that lets you differentiate what you need to learn to help you in the classroom. The videos show teachers and students in the classroom as well as teachers explaining the rationale of the lesson. Most of the videos are about ten minutes long and teachers can pick what they need to learn.

Strengths: Edivate provides those short video clips that help teachers see what pedagogy can look like in action. They would be useful to individual teachers and PLCs working to improve their practice.

Suggestions for Improvement: I'd like to know more about how teachers find what they want to watch. Id like to see some articles linked to the videos for further reading and more information about the pedagogy. Discussion questions for groups and some annotation pointing out specific teacher moves would also help me.

Verdict: Teachers can select what they feel they need help with.

Mary, Teacher/Math Department Chair. School Type: Middle School
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: We don't use it in the classroom: hiowever, we use it within the department and the district to collaborte with other teachers and school sites

Strengths: It is a collaboration tool that has many facets and is pretty easy to use. Tjere is a wealth of videos on many, many topics that can be useful at sites and within a district. Could be a terrific collaboration tool.

Suggestions for Improvement: The progrfam itself doesn't need much; however, it needs to be incorporated more into the professional learning communities by adminisgtrators, i think it would take quite a bit of motivatyion to make teachers use it to its full capacity.

Verdict: It can be a very useful tool; however getting into the routine of using it has been a bit difficult, to say the least. There are a great many useful videos and lesson plans etc on the site. I think I need to use it more often to make it part of my routine,.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product as a personal professional development tool to improve my skill set in various content areas.

Strengths: I think the reflective questions and feed back are an awesome feature. I think the observation tool wouldst appeal to my students.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think some lessons in Spanish for dual language programs. More videos especially at the lower primary level .

Verdict: I think it has the potential of being a great resource for admin and teachers. I think some teachers might be resistant because it offers accountability. I think that is why it such strong resource as well. I like being able to access lessons and and videos

Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this program as a resource tool to improve my teaching methods for my subject. I would also share this website with my peers.

Strengths: I really like the extensive library that Edivate has. It caters to educators of all grade levels and subject matter. It also helps administrators communicate with their team and stay up to date with what is needed.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Free
2.

Verdict: I think as professionals we need to recognize that we can continue to improve in our practice. Veterans can use this to stya current with new theories and practices. Newer teachers have access to hundreds of videos that will help them improve.

Heather, Tech Coordinator/Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I could use this tool for personal teaching improvement and ideas, as well as for professional development and arts integration trainings.

Strengths: Reviewed videos posted by the organization, ensuring that teachers are not overwhelmed by videos uploaded by any and all teachers. Teachers can share their videos within their groups.

Suggestions for Improvement: Cost may be a deterrent for school systems or principals.

Verdict: Reviewed videos showing Common Core linked lessons and ideas allowing for collaboration using comment feeds. This is helpful for all teachers looking for best practices or lesson ideas.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I will use it to teach my students how to explore shapes and its attributes

Strengths: The highlighting tools is very impressive as it helps students to explore their math details

Suggestions for Improvement: It will be nice if they add more categories for students with special needs

Verdict: I will recommend we use this products because our school don't have such programs that help students in math

7 Th Grade, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: This program is used for any grade level. It allows teachers to view professional development videos categorized in standards. The goal of these professional development videos is to enhance classroom performance and decrease behavior problems.

Strengths: The videos are categorized by standard content making it easy to search thought videos and specific content you are looking for.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think it should really stand out from other competitive resources that are already available online. The only difference from other resources is that the product is categorized by content standards.

Verdict: I would recommend this product if someone has difficulty finding videos from other resources such as teachertube or youtube.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up