Product Index
Everything Else
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Linda, Technology Director. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, BYOD Devices
Jun 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I teach in the Computer Lab, and one of my curriculum units is on Game Design. I also work to incorporate classroom curriculum into my lesson plans, and this would be a great way to do that. I could use core curriculum question banks, as well as my game design concepts, to have students learn concepts in a way that bolsters and extends my computer curriculum.

Strengths: The statistics area gives teachers data to react quickly to student knowledge gaps It provides an engaging platform with a social media feel that appeals to kids It requires logical and critical thinking skills to adapt to encroaching threats

Suggestions for Improvement: Was there any indication of how the question banks relate to common core and state standards? I saw that the ability to input your own questions was WP-based, not sure about how the math questions would work. Allow students to create their own 'avatar'. Kids love that. I don't like the concept of kids earning "money" with which to purchase things -- encourages that social status of greed. OF course they should earn something through correct answers, with which to purchase more abilities, but maybe Call the "Money" something else -- even if you call it "coins"...

Verdict: I would recommend this because it taps into what naturally exists within today's students: onine gaming with a social media 'feel', and competition. To be able to use these 2 things to motivate students to work within a learning environment makes it a powerful tool. The statistics, such as answer rates for questions, where the wrong answers lie, etc., that the "game" provides are the kind of data that enable teachers to be nimble in the classroom in terms of adapting curriculum to reach areas of weakness.

5th Grade Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This program will definitely work as an incentive to help students master skills. It incorporates games and learning!

Strengths: I will be able to use this program as a review of skills taught. I can assign questions to the students for them to work on and through their recall and research they will be able to occupy territories. Students will challenge each other because they are always competing with their classmates.

Suggestions for Improvement: At this time it is not interactive between students and I hope that is coming in the future and I can input my own questions but if it gets to be too many I have to let the company do it for me so that may be a little bit of a problem.

Verdict: The program appears to be of high interest with the students going on missions and conquering territories. It is a free program that appears to be of interest to my fifth graders. I can get individualized and class reports. The students will love it because they will be playing games and completing missions.

Jonathan, Teacher/Tech. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this program to help my students by engaging them in academic learning through the use of sugarcoating interactive game. The students would feel highly engaged their learning would increase along with closing the achievement gap.

Strengths: The strength of this program is that it keeps track of student data along with the aid of questions answered correctly or incorrectly. It allows the instructor to monitor student learning and improving by closing the achievement gap's of that students education.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would probably be helpful for the teacher to be able to input questions visual aids answers and not just allow the programmer to create the question.

Verdict: I would recommend this product because students would be highly engaged in their learning. It allows students to use technology to study and further their cognitive development in grass being content in areas previously they would struggle with.

Natalie, Literacy Specialist/504 Coordinator. School Type: High School, Low Income Population, Project Based School, College Prep School, Blended Learning
Sep 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product for critical thinking in a virtual arena. This platform allows students to excel in academics while teaching them the importance of advancing your community by striving for excellence. It brings value to the learning process by imprinting in students that knowledge has value outside of the classroom.

Strengths: It helps to add motivational value to learning. Program also links responsibility for community and advancement woven into educational backdrop.

Suggestions for Improvement: Overall graphics. Program is similar to Minecraft in its configuration but does not seem to be as advanced. Content upload/partnership has not been worked out. Make it available to home schoolers.

Verdict: In the age virtual everything, this is a tool that meets students in a way that engages the 21st century gamer with learning that is closely related to the games and programs that absorb their free time.

Eddie, Teacher. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I could definitely envision using pagamo in the my classroom as a stand alone game for review or quizing

Strengths: Paramo definitely looks like an engaged, fun, and vivid platform for delivering questions and engaging students in the game of learning. The game looks multifaceted and like it will hold and captivate the interest of students.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would say that creating a shortened version for single day or single unit use would be an excellent option for those of us that do not need or want to use it in a lengthier manner.

Verdict: My only hesitation is using it as gamification platform over an LMs that is already gamified due to the redundancy. I do prefer to use it within my LMS as a standalone activity, as it certainly seems incredibly fun and engaging.

Kindergarten Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product in my small groups for reading, vocabulary, and practice to review the contents they have been introduced.

Strengths: The features of this educational tool seems to support and innovate my instructional delivery to my students as well to my students in order to acquire the neccessary skills they need

Suggestions for Improvement: Since I don't have much knowledge on this product, I would like this product to fit the needs of my diverse classroom by differentiating instructions and be able to assess them, collect data and see progress and improvement

Verdict: I would strongly recommend the use of this tool in the classrooms as part of daily instruction for practicing reading, comprehension by playing games while they are learning

Teacher, School Type: High School, Low Income Population, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would upload vocabulary words, and comprehension questions for reading materials. I would have my students play the games for practice, mainly as part of formative assessment.

Strengths: It would be very easy to add my materials into the website and have my students access and practice with the materials. It would save me time from making any worksheets and students can do all this stuff for homework.

Suggestions for Improvement: I don't really see anything right now that needs to change. I don't mind adding my material in there. I'm just happy that my students will have an opportunity to review on their own.

Verdict: It would be very engaging for students and help them learn the materials on their own.

Teacher, School Type: High School, Low Income Population
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product as a review and practice tool for lessons we just learned.

Strengths: It is a visually stimulating program that will encourage reluctant students to maintain interest in learning. In order for the student to move further along they must answer the questions correctly. Thus they need to pay attention to the lesson.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great if this can be connected to their google classroom so students do not have to remember many passwords. Also it would be great if the students can pick hair color, skin color, etc. on the Avatars.

Verdict: It is very visually appealing to students which will encourage students to actively engage in academic work.

Roseann, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it as an innovative tool for educating my students and meeting their needs.

Strengths: This product is new and exciting. This is something my students are not familiar with seeing because the avatars and graphics from PaGamO are Asian. The kids will be excited about it!

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Since it's new to US, there hasn't been too much consensus of the product yet.
2. I may not be able to get instant help due to the company being out of the country.

Verdict: This is an upcoming product used in Taiwaan and now available in the US. It has fun animations and cool avatars.

Alfonso, Teacher. School Type: High School, College Prep School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to create challenges of the weeks lessons for the students

Strengths: This product will give the student and teacher and student immediate feedback of the mastery of lessons taught.

Students will learn lessons and enhance reinforcement in a fun and challenging manner.

Suggestions for Improvement: The product is very user friendly as is. However, there should be training modules available on-line for the teacher to set up challenges for the students.

Verdict: This product will reinforce the lessons of the week. Knowledge enhancement for the students.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up