Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Teacher, School Type: High School, College Prep School
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to have students analyze primary texts in groups or individually. Students would be able to write annotations on the text itself.

Strengths: I liked the ability to change the text style and annotations.

Suggestions for Improvement: I believe that there needs to be more histroical texts options if it is going to be labeled social studies. It needs to have more capabilites in the classroom sector compared to the individual work face.

Verdict: This is a free platform which means money is not a factor. It allows students to work together on text in a digital vashion that does not waste paper.

Language Arts Teacher, School Type: Middle School, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would have students engage in using this tool to interact with reading material and learn to annotate text.

Strengths: FREE! The ability to create reading groups, reply to annotations, and access free lesson plans is great. I also like that the platform is responsively designed for any device. Ina BYOD age, this is a huge plus.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think in order to be truly useful, the ability to access nonfiction content is really important. It seems that this tool is in its infancy or sophmoric years so I understand why some things are not available yet. However, it is also easier to have fewer places for students to log into at any given time and a more diverse spread of materials could assist in this goal.

Verdict: IT'S FREE! I am all about free, especially when school systems differ in what is adopted, paid for, etc. The ability to have students read literature in the public domain and interact wtih it in an online manner is fantastic. Some students are more comfortable intereacting with content and peers in this type of format.

Volunteer, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: would be great to introduce the students to e-reading platform.

Strengths: E-reading is a growing and vital tech that would be highly valuable to encourage our students to use this tech.

Suggestions for Improvement: Work with libraries to provide more content via loan options. if you could partner with local or national libraries to increase the content availalbe it would make the product much more usefull and valuable to our students.

Verdict: limited list of books available.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I attempted to use this product to provide annotated group readings and read alouds. In our curriculum, we follow the techers college reading workshop model wherein we use a readloud text to teach individual skills that students apply to the reading, comprehension, adn analysis of their own respective, concurrently read novels. Thus there is great need for online resourses that provide tread aloud texts that students can see on their own or a projected screen with annotations to provide deeper comprehension of teh read aloud text.

Strengths: This works as a free tool, becasue it does allow for easy online access to annotated texts so that I may offer my students comprehension support while reading. This measn taht a student can log in and read, still gaining the same supports outside of the classroom.

Suggestions for Improvement: Whiel I think that Owl eyes has potential as aa tool it does face a few limitations: 1. It does not offer a suggestion or grouping of texts by any readibility standard ie lexile or Fontas and Pinnell. 2. It is limited to texts that are no longer copyrighted which means that no modern ro recent texts are available. Modern students do not necessarily want to or have a problem engaging with "classic" texts. 3. The coloration of teh sight is not visibly appealing to modern students who live most fo their lives on the internet. If the annotations offered video links or pictures to help illutsrate ideas as part of teh annotation, it woudl connect better with a modern student.

Verdict: Owl eyes provides a valuabel service in offering free texts with annotation in a clear, easily accessible library.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: My colleague teaching upper class men is having a hard time getting them to annotate, and this is a great tool they could use.

Strengths: Student discuss with each other and they can collaborate and share ideas.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great to have a wider selection of books and have different reading levels so that content is accessible to all students.

Verdict: We could use this in every classroom, in many different ways to get students talking to each other.

Teacher, School Type: High School, Low Income Population
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Student sustained reading

Strengths: Allows students to pick vontent rlthey are interested in reading

They can collaborate

They can share ideas

You can add quizez

Get real examples

Get teachet collaborateing

Share iseas

Allows feedback and training

Suggestions for Improvement: Add new books

More nonfiction

Add different content mayter

Its great i enjoyed the presenters and other ideas brought up today

Verdict: We need a reading progeam at our school

Sabrina, Asst. Principal. School Type: Elementary School
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Teach teachers about it, promote the reading of classics, suggest it to my son's high school English teacher, and use it to read for pleasure.

Strengths: The focus on literature and reading is the best part. I also like that it doesnt have a lot of frills.

Suggestions for Improvement: Add more texts.
Add more children's lit.
Add more diverse authors.

Verdict: It's free, it's not like a video game, it's just about literature and thinking.

Librarian, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I am an elementary teacher and those books are for mainly for high school students.

Strengths: Great FREE resource, but not for my students. I will pass it on to folks at secondary levels in my district.

Suggestions for Improvement: Add "read-aloud" feature
Add books for elementary and ELL students

Verdict: Not for my student reading levels.

Digital Learning Coach, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I like that there is an extensive online library and that i can track student progress and use the data to update IEP goals in reading comprehension. I like that students are encouraged to be active readers and engage with the text by annotating as they read.

Strengths: This product promotes active reading by encouraging students to annotate the text they are reading. I like that I can create assignments online and then track progress. The data would be useful to help update IEP goals and determine areas of strenght/weakness. I love that this product is free!

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be hard to determine weaknesses until I have actively used the product.

Verdict: It would allow differentiation in reading instruction. I imagine using the program to supplement reading comprehension lessons, and to keep those students who finish first from having any wasted time.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it in a whole group setting with the class on a projector

Strengths: Students could use the product for book clubs, vocabulary development and talking points. The text could be adjusted to different size and color for easy reading. I like how most of their text are classic literature. The best thing is that the site is FREE!!

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great to add some literature for younger readers. Maybe an audio component could be added as well.

Verdict: There's a bank full of great literature they have available in their website.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up