Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: i would use this product with my special education students who are encountering difficulty with reading - both decoding and comprehension.

Strengths: this product recognizes a student's level and adapts to it. time is not wasted and the child moves on, seamlessly to the next level. this allows the teacher to see the improvement in the child's ability and the areas the child needs further help

Suggestions for Improvement: a report generated monthly would help the teacher with their assessment. a child friendly report with feedback would assist the student with their metacognition too,

Verdict: this program adapts to the students learning level. thus not wasting time on repeating what a student already knows but providing students with material that would help them move on to a more challenging text

Brasilia, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: As a reinforcement for literacy practice at home and to motivate students to like to read.

Strengths: Fun and engaging activities to learn phonemes and the foundations of successful literacy skills.

Suggestions for Improvement: Having French services for school that have French Immersion programs. Having services in Spanish for students who have that as their mother tongue and can build upon those existing language skills. Making the program accessible for free even if it is a limited version so all can benefit from the product without monetary constraints.

Verdict: Grade appropriate books that engage the learner in reading and to form healthy literacy habits and reading strategies. A more engaging way to do homework.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would integrate it in my literacy block and guided reading in my classroom.

Strengths: It would save me time in lesson planning for guided reading with the teachers guide book. It would allow me to spend more time with one-on-one with students while Ooka Island engages the rest of the class independently.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Illustrations in books can be more appealing.
2. Teacher stratgies should be printed on the back of each books in top of the teacher's guide for easy access.

Verdict: It's a great stepping program for Raz Kids for ELLs and special ed students. It allows students to independently read and check for understanding in an engaging way.

Tech Integrator, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, 1:1 Devices, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it with young students to encourage them to engage in fun reading activities.

Strengths: It is a really fun/visually gamified format that students would love to continue to do at school or at home.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think this product should be free as there are a lot of similar apps and products out there that are free.

It should change the content frequently to keep kids engaged.

Verdict: It's really visually appealing and students would definitely be engaged by it.

Rebecca, Kindergarten Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this tool to teach my students to read. It looks like a really engaging fun way for students in K to 2 to learn to read. I like that the leveled texts are available and that students could have differentiation and move at an independent pace.

Strengths: This product engages kids to learn in a fun way. It awards children 8 minutes of FREE play time after completing various levels of texts.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like to see the texts available for French students as there are very limited resources for French teachers and students. I would like an email update for teachers and parents to inform about the child's progress. I am not sure if the books are available for purchase but it would be nice if they could hold a copy of the book to practice when a computer is not available.

Verdict: I would recommend we use this tool because it look really fun and I believe that learning should be fun for children especially in kindergarten to grade 3. I also liked that it allows for differentiation. It seems really easy to use for young children.

Teacher Librarian / Tech Lead, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I can see using this product as as centre based product in my library commons, as I have all of the primary division circulating through on a daily basis. It would also be a great resources for students to have access to at home.

Strengths: I think that this product would be great for engaging the struggling readers due to the interactive nature of the game. It would be something that the children could move throught at their own pace.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think that the price is a bit on the high side. I can't see an inner city school such as mine paying $20 a head for a game. I would also recommend an eBook version as having all print books may make it harder for classrooms to share. Perhaps a sliding scale pricing may be more equitable.

Verdict: As an inner city school, we are always looking for ways to improve student literacy and engagement in a way that involves parents as well.

Hearing Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product as a method to support my guided reading program with my grade 3 deaf and hard of hearing student. I think it would help engage him in his reading and help him to read independently at times as well.

Strengths: It would help me solve the problem of not being able to always read with all students. It may help them practice their reading more independently. I also like that you can purchase just one license if you only want it for one student.

Suggestions for Improvement: I haven't used the product yet so I"m not able to fully say. I would like it if it was more directly linked to the levelled readers we use in the schools (e.g. DRA)

Verdict: It sounds like a fun and interactive way to get students reading. I'm always looking for new learn to read programs and this one seems pretty user friendly.

Occasional Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Developing readers, ELL students and kindergarten

Strengths: Even though it seems as though it is for young readers, there are plenty of students, especially in the Spec Ed programs that would benefit from this. Toronto has plenty of ELL students that it seems is appropriate for. I think it's fab that there are plenty of leveled books. Adaptive is the key word.

Suggestions for Improvement: I haven't had the opportunity to try it first hand but I plan on signing up and passing it along to the Spec Ed teacher at my school for all her ELL student.s

Verdict: Even though it seems as though it is for young readers, there are plenty of students, especially in the Spec Ed programs that would benefit from this.

Teacher, School Type: High School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use it when I'm tutoring young children to help them with literacy and numeracy skills.

Strengths: I would definitely recommend it because you can use it as a good independent and cooperating tool so that students can learn from each other. I also like that teachers can track where they are getting wrong and monitor their progress as time goes.

Suggestions for Improvement: They should make all different reading levels available so that high school students can use it and numeracy skills will come in hand in hand with literacy skills. Making sure that different areas of reading books are available to reach both boys and girl readers.

Verdict: I would recommend it to my elementary colleagues but I don't think it would be effective for high schoolers. I think it would be great for elementary teachers so that they can use it in English classes and Reading activity.

Teacher, School Type: High School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use this with my essential grade 9 students with literacy program.

Strengths: It's visually appealing with lots of colors and very organized. The reading levels for each grade is organized so well that it's suitable for all grades and reading levels.

Suggestions for Improvement: Make more books available in terms of subject areas and have games at the end so that students can review their literacy level, and have parents access and track so that they can guide them at home.

Verdict: It's very simple and visually attractive so that both teachers and students can access it. It's geared towards elementary level so it will work very well with essential or applied level students.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up