Product Index
Educational Operations
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Media Specialist, School Type: High School
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I have purchased materials from them for years. The have a wide variety of products and their online catalog is easy to use. They provide discounts to educators and to schools. The materials arrive at the school quickly and are of high quality. They also exchange products without problems when the product is defective or does not work as promised.

Strengths: This company provides a wide variety of products for students and teachers. They offer a wide range of prices to meet different budgets.

Suggestions for Improvement: They provide a deeper discount to schools than to individual teachers. I think the teacher discounts should match the schools' because teachers buy products for the classroom with their own money, and a discount would give teachers more freedom to purchase more materials for the classroom.

Verdict: I would recommend this company because of their wide variety of products and the discounts offered to schools. Also, their representatives are friendly and helpful.

Media Specialist, School Type: High School
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I have purchased materials from them for years. The have a wide variety of products and their online catalog is easy to use. They provide discounts to educators and to schools. The materials arrive at the school quickly and are of high quality. They also exchange products without problems when the product is defective or does not work as promised.

Strengths: This company provides a wide variety of products for students and teachers. They offer a wide range of prices to meet different budgets.

Suggestions for Improvement: They provide a deeper discount to schools than to individual teachers. I think the teacher discounts should match the schools' because teachers buy products for the classroom with their own money, and a discount would give teachers more freedom to purchase more materials for the classroom.

Verdict: I would recommend this company because of their wide variety of products and the discounts offered to schools. Also, their representatives are friendly and helpful.

Tony, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, Blended Learning
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I found that what attracted me to the office depot was that they are working with the student and want to ensure they are engaged. I like that they offered several programs and ideas for teacher and even students.

Strengths: The highlight of the program is that office depot understands what educators need to help teacher the student and they are able to offer and help promote both the educator, student and fundraising aspect of the school.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great to be able to show what office depot has done with school, and students and how they student and school has excelled with the help of the collobration.

Verdict: Office depot is already working with district to help educate and offer learning tools to the teacher, student and administration.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I woul dlove to find ways tro improve my classroom. To have someone from the company come and evaluate my classroom and help me to developme more effective ways to use my classroom furniture and to purchase more.

Strengths: I appreciated the conversation and partnership that theydesire to build with me and my school

Suggestions for Improvement: Thered isn't anything I could see to change. I wold have to have a meeting and see what they recommended for y school and classroom in order to know how effective this program really is.

Verdict: I appreciated that they wanted to start with a conversation and an observation to see what I really needed for my classroom rather than just tellim=ng me what I need.

Teacher, School Type: High School, College Prep School
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it in reading, writing and classroom arrangement.

Strengths: The graphics were amazing, because my students are easily distracted and this program will keep them involved.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would be great if I could get a demo version first to peruse. I need to be totally versed in the different uses before I will introduce it to my classes.

Verdict: I would recommend it. My students look forward to the interactions. The furniture will force them to interact with each other in a meaningful manner.

Umar, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: To design and create collaborative spaces that are conducive to student to student learning, project based learning, and student led instruction.

Strengths: They come out to gauge the climate of the school and classroom to better understand what learning environment changes would better support a teacher's or school's current goals.

Suggestions for Improvement: There is no clear understanding of relative cost and most teachers have limited power in defining the furniture and learning environment decisions necessary to adopt some of the practices/solutions offered by this product.

Verdict: I would recommend this product because it offers schools opportunities to push student thinking and student engagement but simply changing the learning environment. This improves learning baselines before instructing as even started.

Micro Comp Tech Specialist, School Type: High School, Higher Education, Other
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use OfficeDepot's services in order to order ink, toner, paper and other tech supplies for my department (CTACE).

Strengths: This product is a great printer and office supply solution, and it solves the issue of centralized procurement for office supplies.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would add more manufacturers to Office Depot's list. Also, I would add a bigger range of Office Copier machines (which is sort of the same as the above problem). Also, I would love to have a dedicated OfficeDepot professional for my department for parts procurement (although that might be unfeasable).

Verdict: I would advise them to take it because Office Depot offers great prices and lots of manufacturers for their supplies.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would certainly enjoy using this for sustained, silent reading as student, will be more inclined to do so if they have a happy, safe and comfortable space. This could also be used for reading, annotating and writing. This would help students to learn in a collaborative effort which could be useful not just to share ideas but also build self-esteem knowing that they are contributing to their learning.

Strengths: This product allows students to read widely, collaborate with each other and share in the writing process. Such tools also fosters contributions of creative ideas, editing among peers and also PBL.

Suggestions for Improvement: To improve product,I would like to know more about increased reading levels, grade levels and time frame. The different layout for specific effects.

Verdict: I would advocate for this tool as this will assist students with BIP,IEP or any unique learning style, that allow them to feel comfortable, confident and inclined to read and participate in reading, writing and speaking. A student will react positively if the tools used are geared specifically for them. Information suggest that the tools increase students reading and writing skills.

Personalized Leatning Specialist, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Blended Learning
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: My district passed a bond to build new schools and this service could help with intentional, flexible classroom and shared space design.

Strengths: Allows for expert coaching in classroom design. Teachers and students are definitely the experts in the learning, but these experts could help us consider things we haven't thought of. OD stands behind their products so I would feel comfortable using them in this capacity.

Suggestions for Improvement: More real world examples (including students and devices) in their Lookbook
Cost estimates for configurations in their Lookbook

Verdict: I would recommend a service like this to ensure we're thinking about all components. It's so important to think about future potential for space design and furniture. In existing schools, I see a lack of planning for growth (power source limitations, furniture and device limitations, etc) being a real barrier for students and it would be great to minimize this.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I learned that Office Depot has staff members who will help obtain grants to bring in items such as furniture to increase the productivity of the classroom.

Strengths: It informs teachers of services they offer that are very helpful. It helps solve the problem of updating or obtaining new items to make the classroom more engaging.

Suggestions for Improvement: Since I haven't tried it yet, I can't give any suggestions on what to change.

Verdict: We're constantly looking for inexpensive ways to upgrade or obtain new equipment. Office Depot seems to be willing to help us achieve this goal. Therefore, I would strongly recommend that we use this resource to help us achieve our goal.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up