Product Index
Curriculum Products
Categories: Math and Science
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Sara, Director Of Innovation And Learning. School Type: Elementary School, Project Based School, BYOD Devices
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: These apps look like an amazing visual way for students to understand math and science concepts. I would use them with whole classes, small groups, and individuals.

Strengths: Including what I have already mentioned, the ability to use the recordings and outputs among the different apps in the suite (app-smashing) adds dimensions to the creativity. Students can break down into small, visually clear steps, concepts that are abstract and challenging.

Suggestions for Improvement: Currently there seems to be no way to create outputs such as stl files for 3D printing. I believe they are working on that. I think adding negative space (holes) such as in Tinkercad, could make the Volumizing app even more versatile.

Screenshots are the only way to output student data currently. Having a pipeline to get student work to the teacher would make these apps even more useful.

Verdict: I would highly recommend these apps.They give students a lot of interactivity, creativity and choice, all while learning important math and science concepts.

Corinna, Teacher. School Type: Middle School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it when teaching physics as a cool, innovative way to make students interested in learning more about physics of motion! They love it when they are featured in the lesson and to be able to take video of themselves would definitely make them excited about analyzing the data! I would also recommend the apps to the math dept...lots for them to play around with.

Strengths: Simple to use and clean interface. It solves the problem of student being bored by textbook physics and unexcited by equations. It makes learning fun and applicable to their own lives and the real world.

Suggestions for Improvement: Perhaps make it available to non- iPad users. Not all districts have apple products. Develop more science apps because the one you have is very cool and I'd love to see more!

Verdict: It is such a fun and easy way to collect and analyze data from a science and math perspective. Students would be excited and engaged for certain.

Dlc, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to have a video library for students to utilize in the classroom. It's a useful database of videos for teachers to utilize and have access to.

Strengths: The ability to have a gallery of videos is a big selling point for me. It takes a lot of time to dig around the internet to find quality videos for students. This is great.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. I would have more selections available by grade level.
2. I would add more programming in different languages.
3. I would do this in order to increase its efficiency.

Verdict: I would recommend that we use this tool in the classroom to have a way to have resources at our fingertips. The resources are categorized by subject for easy navigation.

Noemi, Teacher. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use noticing tools to help students fully engage in their learning by putting into practice what they have just learned.

Strengths: I like that noticing tools incorporates math and science into their program by providing a beautiful interface as well as captivating graphics. Students are able to create their own problems, while using their creativity full force.

Suggestions for Improvement: I got a little bit stuck after creating a problem. I wasn't sure what to do next, I found myself clicking create/combine back and forth and didn't know what to do, as I was done creating.

Verdict: Noticing tools provides a beautiful interface and practice for students to use as a supplemental learning tool.

Physical Education Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this tool to connect my Physical Education lessons to Science curriculum and expand on project based learning.

Strengths: I really like how it separates grade levels and units of learning which helps cutting down on time used for setting it up.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would love to use this product in my teaching. As a physical education teacher I am trying to make connections for students in their physical environment and what they are learning in their core classes. I would like to see PE content added to the platform to save me time connecting the content my self.

Verdict: It can be used in science and math and physical education to piggy back learning across content areas.

2nd Grade Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Blended Learning
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I was shown a wonderful faction lesson for my second graders! They will all be engaged and hard to get off the program.

Strengths: The engagement will keep the kids coming back regularly to try out new and different fractions!

Suggestions for Improvement: I'd hope that the Noticing Tools could incorporate more lower level grade math facts for 1st 2nd graders.. "Math isn't hard, it's just tricky" is my mantra in class, I would like it to be fun to present and to complete.

Verdict: Fractions is a very difficult concept for my 2/3 graders to grasp. Having them create and 'see' the fractions is a fabulous idea!!

Math Teacher, School Type: Middle School, 1:1 Devices, BYOD Devices
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use the product within my proportions and volume unit as a way to reinforce the concepts being taught in class.

Strengths: The apps created by the New York Hall of Science really provide students with alternate ways to explore proportion, volume, and surface area. It also supports integrating Language Arts in a mathematics setting by providing students with an opportunity to show HOW they created their work. Finally, the app allows students to port their work to Google Drive, which is a bonus to schools who have integrated Google Apps for Education into their technology program.

Suggestions for Improvement: Consider providing users with a "beginners" option with less options available. I can easily see some students becoming overwhelmed with all the options available to them. Alternatively, provide extensive help resources that can be accessed in the app. I'm pretty tech-savvy, but I can see some of my colleagues getting easily frustrated.

Verdict: -The product appears to be COPPA compliant -The product provides students with the opportunity to work with data within the app -The product has a module that allows students to explain their learning -The product allows students to send their work to Google Drive (one less password to remember!)

Technology Integration Specialist, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to reinforce specific math concepts that correspond with each app.

Strengths: These apps are beautiful. The interface is well-thoughtout and streamlined to be extremely user friendly. Every button and feature is intuitive. This solves the problem of needing to explain how an apps works so that student can dive in and engage with the tools.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) Target younger students. Can there be an alternative version for younger students -- perhaps promoted as a primary, elementary, junior, or lite version? I could definitely see young kids wanting to engage in tasks like this at their level.

... I really wouldn't change much else!

Verdict: This is a fantastic school, especially for middle school and beyond. I can see some value with primary and elementary school students, but to reach its full potential this suite of tools is best used by older students. Each app is so visually stunning. Some of the concepts are over my head, but I didn't mind because it was so relaxing to look at. I can imagine this being the same for students. The visual appeal of the apps will draw them in and encourage them to continue exploring and engaging in tasks with high cognitive demand.

Science Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, College Prep School
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this for seventh grade science. Also in an inquiry experience early in the year. Since it's physics I would also share with my science colleagues who teach that subject. I'm very interested in the chemistry app.

Strengths: Visually engaging. Gives students options to create their own solutions. High engagement factor for students. Teaches students about science and math using images that they can relate to, no matter what their socioeconomic status is (as long as you can get a hold of I-pads.

Suggestions for Improvement: Data collection and reviewing student work class to class seems like it would be difficult. I wasn't sure how I would get to review all of the students' work. It's only on Ipad which I don't have in my school. We are beginning to get chromebooks. I would prefer Ipads, although they don't ask me! : )

Verdict: I believe it would be very engaging for students. My students love their smart phones, games like minecraft, you tube etc. This would also give them real world experiences they could relate to (ie playing on a play ground) and the physics behind it. Anything that engages students is valuable.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it in the classroom to incorporate with my writing workshop.

Strengths: Gives students to be creative and we can incorporate technology in the classroom.
I like the fact that the lessons/progress can be monitored.
The videos and the interactive lessons are a great feature.

Suggestions for Improvement: 3 things I would change about this produce is to make it connect with Google classroom and I would also allow the app to provide resources for the parent/teachers. It would be great for the app to connect directly with Google classroom.
I would also like this program available on other devices.

Verdict: Because our school doesn't have something like this.
It gives the students to be creative using technology.
One con is that our school only uses Chromebooks.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up