Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Social Sciences Teacher, School Type: High School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: The lessons look amazing, current and usable! I can't wait to browse lessons that will be relevant to my English, philosophy and social justice classes!

Strengths: I love the focus on current I issues and student interests. I think my students will be excited and engaged with this content

Suggestions for Improvement: Lessons get archived after awhile - why? Also would be great to have Ontario curriculum connections to stands. Possible assignment connections as well?

Verdict: Current issues that will engage students ; connection to curriculum and a variety of course-specific content

English And Tech Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This would be so fun to use as a review before a test.

Strengths: I'm really impressed with the data on students ability after answering question. The ability to make each child's questions easier or harder is also excellent.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would improve the graphics. The picture quality reminds me of computer games from the 80s. I would create a cleaner teacher screen for data and perhaps allow for renaming of territories.

Verdict: Great. Free for students. Makes it fun to learn the subject material.

No Permanant Location, School Type: Other
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to connect with Elementary and Seondary studnets in my classrooms. I feel that it is an excellent way to reach studnets who don't connect in traditionally learning enviornments. It is a way for many to be reached who are at risk and places a high value on real world tools for learning and for life. Nu Skool is interesting because it allows many people who place a value on connection and seems to be be class based Education.

Strengths: I think this product is designed well and could meet some cirriculum objectives. I am happy that they market themselves to young at risk students. I am also happy that they are viable option for those who are considering dropping out.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would improve the functionality of their product and of their design. I would also consider to tell them that they need to better manuals to allow teacher to research training modules and learning activities. They might also want to advocate some enhanced adverstising suggestions which would reach their user base.

Verdict: I would suggest it because it is student centered. It doesn't rely on pretension, or older basics of learning. It places a value on differntiated learning and individual tailored approaches.

Occasional Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I think I could use this in many courses that I teach i middle schools - social sciences and language arts. Great way to bring in pop culture and link it to the curriculum to engage students.

Strengths: - Love the types of articles in Nubook; links the curriculum to what the students see and read in their everyday life
- love that new lesson plans are uploaded every week and that they're current
- saves me lots of time racking my brain about how to make my lessons more fun and engaging
- Love that I can save lesson plans to my teacher portfolio to use for the future
- love that I can link the lessons to my students to Google classroom

Suggestions for Improvement: - of the lesson plans I previewed, they were very text heavy (a LOT to read); preferable if there were more video links or more hands-on activities for students

Verdict: I work in a school that is low poverty and high ELL. They love hip hop culture, social media and I think that the lesson plans that you provide will really interest them and engage them. I was really impressed with the few articles that I read, as it had topics that I never thought about that would really interest students (i.e. how to get an American Express Black Card).

Andrew, Teacher. School Type: High School, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to engage harder to reach students that are often disengaged with learning and use the pop culture stimulus to Segway into curriculum material.

Strengths: The downloadables could be more powerful that a quiz. A fuller set of assessment instruments could include extension work, or material that cater to developmentally challenges or aboriginal students.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) increase downloadable material to allow for greater differentiation.

2) have a printable generic letter that teacher would send home to parents complete with links and explanation of who you are, what you do and why it's relevant.

3) connectivity.
A platform that allows parent feedback or classroom doacussion.

Verdict: To engage and excite students. There are kids that feel disconnected with learning and now they can use their own language practices, social understanding as a vehicle to learning and thus feel successful.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to teach various concepts from various subjects, especially Language, Media Literacy, History, and Geography.

Strengths: This product integrates lesson plans and current media literacy topics really well. From urban stories to comic books, there are a variety of options/lesson plans to choose from.

Suggestions for Improvement: At this point, I was really impressed with the product. The only suggestion I have with this product is the integration with Google Apps for Education. If this product can be integrated with one of the Google Apps, specifically Google Classroom, it would be great!

Verdict: I would recommend this product because it saves a lot of time with regards to searching for material on the web.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use it in my Media Literacy strand to lesson plan for the year. I love the amount of ideas on there.

Strengths: It solves the problem of coming up with cool and relavant ideas to engage student. I don't always follow the coolest trend. It's a time saver and I love how it easier covers media literacy.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Lesson plans needs to be detail and have accomodation.
2. Need to expand for primary students.
3. The website can be more appealing. Lots of scrolling right now.

Verdict: I would definitely check it out to get new ideas for hooks and application to real life. The lesson plans might not be that useful as the quality and standard of the lesson vary. It also doesn't apply to elementary school students.

Teacher, School Type: High School, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: Although the rep assured us that American pop culture is in fact based off of international talent (e.g. Canadian rappers and Aussie film stars), I have a responsibility to ensure that the content that I used is lensed through a Canadian perspective.

Strengths: I think that the idea would be fantastic for an educator who feels out of touch with pop culture. This would be ideal for American educators. Sorry to be so fixated with that factor but it is important to me.

Suggestions for Improvement: It is a good product from what I have seen. Would be interesting to see if it could look at issues that are global but have a stronger impact on Canada. For example, to look at the tar sands from our side of the border.

Verdict: Not likely to recommend because my own education philosophy is to ensure that students are reading as much Canadian content as possible.

Mirella, Business Teacher. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Absolutely I would use this in my business's class to keep up with current events. As well, it would teach them about what possibilities there are in the world. It seems adaptable to all areas of my curriculum

Strengths: Easily adaptable. For a small cost you have great benefit. You stay current and the ideas are easily relatable to the students. Excellent time saving devise. I don't worry and search for lessons. Interesting spin on education.

Suggestions for Improvement: Narrow down the focus by subject area. I teach business and relate the current events to my program and curriculum. Only.

Verdict: It seems to be a minimal cost to stay current. A teacher doesn't have to put much effort in it and be very current with educating them. Students can easily relate.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to teach current events and messages through media

Strengths: Strengths are its current and it's meets the needs of the students and it keeps your interest because it is all things that they are surrounded by.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be a little bit better if the subscription cost was less however I still think it's a great price. Hopefully administration will as well

Verdict: Is the cost of the cost seems like it's fair for the usage and since it has to be updated on a daily basis a subscription would be necessary

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up