Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Special Ed Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to teach skills in small group an whole group instruction. This is also beneficial for one-on-one instruction. My students respond with multimodal approach. This tool will benefit them in various ways.

Strengths: The product is really appealing especially for me as a special education teacher .The digital portfolio drives my interest the most. I usually keep a copy of my students' sample work and create a binder to present during my IEPs. I also use media (youtube ) in enriching and/or reinforcing my lessons. This product will save me a lot of time . The available resources that this product provide will help me reinforce my teaching.

Suggestions for Improvement: The poor internet connection did not allow me to see and explore the total beauty of the product . However, what I realized was that I need to have adequate skills in technology to be able to access all.

Verdict: As we are moving to technology, this product will replace the hard copy of students' work sample but instead will be transformed in digital copy. As a special education teacher, this will be helpful in presenting the evidence of students' work during IEP meetings.

raymond, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: To assign projects to students- project-based learning with the ability to share videos and other content for students to review. Monitor student project progress-.

Strengths: This product helps students stay organized. It solves the problem of students losing their work. It helps students collaborate outside of school. It helps teachers monitor student progress. It helps students monitor their own progress and allows parents to easily see the expectations of each project assigned.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) It would be nice to see an area where all students can bank video and other virtual material into a common library for all students to draw from allowing the school to build a virtual reference library.
2) It would be nice to have the rubric set up in a Madeline Hunter kind of way- where students evaluate themselves and their scores and comments are next to the teachers per each bullet point affording them the practice of self-evaluation.
3) It would very helpful to allow teachers the ability to mass email or email to groups instantly suggestions as the project progresses along.

Verdict: I would recommend this because it would be an easy way to track the progress of student work as well as a way to keep students organized- a challenge for elementary students. It would also afford me the ability to share video and other supportive background information for students to spring board from. I also like the ability for students to work virtually in groups from home- as many do not have the ability to get together with other students outside of school.

Technology Instructional Specialist, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Other, High ELL Population
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I work with teachers and students to implement technology. I would introduce this to school sites as a portfolio and assessment tool. I feel as a district we could use this to see the progress of our students have made from kindergarten to graduation. Teachers could use this to manage a paperless classroom, as well as grade assignments based on a CCSS rubric.

Strengths: It is great as a portfolio option. It would show how students have progress over a long period of time. I haven't seen any tool available like this yet. It seems user friendly and helps students own take ownership of their work.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think the interface is too similar to other items available, like Edmodo and Google Classroom. It would have a better feel as a portfolio if it was more "professional" looking, especially since our goal is to make students college and career ready. Other than that, I think it is great!

Verdict: I would recommend it because our district is looking for a digital portfolio system. I believe the CCSS aligned rubrics are great. Teachers can assign, collect and grade items paperlessly. Students would have unlimited storage, which will allow them to collect all their work from kinder to 12th grade.

Alma, Special Education/Autism Sdc Moderate To Severe. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, Blended Learning
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to help me track student's academic progress as well as during IEP meetings and parent conferences.

Strengths: Technology is what's keeping teacher's job easier these days. It also makes it easier for teachers to connect with parents who are specially tech savvy. Portfolio making is a taking job and requires us teachers investing a lot of work. This tool will help ease that job. Project making will also come handy as the product has a lot of suggested projects that teachers can use. As a teacher of students with severe autism, this tool is really great because it also has ready-made rubrics that one can use. The good news about it, is that you can edit it or modify it according to your needs.

Suggestions for Improvement: The product itself is great.

Verdict: I would recommend that special education teachers and other related services in our school use this tool to help us tract student's progress as well as aide us during IEP meetings and parent conferences by showing evidences of student's work.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use Troove to assign and collect assignments and then have students collect their best work to showcase later in a digital portfolio.

Strengths: This product tracks the student's progress and allows you to grade and give feedback. The student can then save that work in a portfolio. In an assignment students can upload videos, pictures, documents, etc.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like to see collaborative assignments, so multiple names on one assignment like you would have on a paper lab assignment. Also, it would be nice to see how long each student spent on each assignment. A class summary page might be nice too, it would allow you to see where each student was at a certain point in time.

Verdict: I would recommend Troove because there is unlimited storage on the students part and it can follow them through their entire school career so they're capable of tracking their progress and then sharing with future schools or employers.

Special Ed Teacher, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: This product is great for keeping student portfolio's of their work in all subject areas.
Teachers are able to assign assignments and projects with various forms of attachments to supplement the task.

Strengths: The product allows you to pull from their data base to make your common core rubrics. You can also grade using the rubrics by simply checking them off.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like to see tests/quizzes be available to generate from the main dashboard.
Adding a gradebook would be great

Verdict: This product would be a great source of collaboration for teachers. A great tool for parent conferences and for parents overall as they can see in real-time what their children are working on and understand the expectations by viewing the rubrics themselves.

Shiron, Teacher. School Type: High School, Project Based School
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Students could create their own portfolios and keep track of their assignments

Strengths: Portfolios help teachers keep student work without keeping all of that paper! This keeps teachers from spending a lot of time keeping student work folders

Suggestions for Improvement: If this product provided a way for teachers to mass scan papers like tests and class work and the program could put the work in thru proper student folder. This is more student driven but I would like the option to scan in a lot of work and have it go to the student. This would especially help in special education meetings

Verdict: This portfolio management system puts the responsibility on the students to keep up with their work and to turn into their work on thru computer

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Students can create portfolios of work. Assign projects for students to complete and turn in.

Strengths: Allows students to pick best works. A great way to organize assignments. Easy to use. An easy way to grade. Less paperwork.

Suggestions for Improvement: Options to change layout. A way to print out assignments in order to post on bulletin boards. Attach to grade book.

Verdict: This is a great tool for students to create a portfolio. Allows teachers to make assignments for students to complete and allows teachers to grade easily.

1st Grade Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: As a first grade teacher I would not use this product in my classroom. This is a online portfolio that teachers can create and students submit their work to it. My students do not have a need to collect their work onto an online portfolio.

Strengths: This product does offer many different tools that a teachers can use to assess their students. For the younger graders their is the tool to record your voice and use it to tell what your favorite character in the story is. This product is interactive and allows for students to comment on each others work.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great if this product was free. An online portfolio is something extra that students are not required to create. An account needs to be created in order for students to have an online portfolio. Another way in which this product would be better would be if it allowed for students to blog and write without being graded. It could show an area of creativity.

Verdict: I would recommend it to our school site coordinator to use for the upper grades in our elementary school. This would be a good tool for 5th or 6th graders to use to create their profile for when they move to their next school. This also gives parents a way to be better connected in their students work and grades.

Kahlil, Teacher. School Type: High School, Project Based School
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: While I like the project-based aspect, I think it is for younger students.

Strengths: The fact that this is a timeline of learning is highly impressive. It is also pretty cool from grade to grade to see that same history of learning over time. The fact that the student can choose which works to put into their "showcase" is also a strong point. Finally, a product where the student can upload their photo and see it immediately in their profile.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think this product's personal page should be more directed. I know they provide a space for students to upload things as they want about themselves, their families, etc., but think this should be more of a static profile that is them as they are (more like Facebook). So a little more direction there. I wanted to layout overall to look and feel more dynamic for the teacher.

Verdict: This product would be suitable for tracking a history of student learning. The personal aspects should be more guided.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up