Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Karla, Ela Teacher. School Type: Middle School, Project Based School, 1:1 Devices
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: We have students divided into teams by grade. We have STEM days at our school where they have to solve a real world challenge using Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math. This would be a program that would gear itself towards the appropriate levels of the students giving well thought out real world challenges to solve as a school quarterly to meet STEM goals.

Strengths: This program has a series of downloadable lesson that are geared towards K-12. The strength of these complete well thought out lessons are that they are Real World, Rigorous and Relevant. It would be interesting to middle school children, because they are current issues. It includes lessons that can increase in rigor, glossary, Finale, and Job application for even more Real World application. It also self guided and can be administered with facilitation, not heavy dependence from the instructor.

Suggestions for Improvement: In my assessment and review, I was not seeing a video game aspect that can reward the students when they have reached the next level. Please consider this as another motivation for students to increase their engagement level.

Verdict: A lot of our STEM activities are well though out, however the time attention to detail is overwhelming for the team leaders that have to plan things like field trips and team field activities.

Michelle, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, BYOD Devices
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to supplement the classroom curriculum and engage students in their learning with real life problem solving.

Strengths: The ability to use the performance task on topics that my students are engaged in and the fact that they are working with real data is appealing. I strive to provide my students with real life references to the work they are doing in class. This product allows me to do this at their interest level.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would make it more interactive. Currently many of the products require printing them out. I would prefer the option of having students working on the computer and being able to print out. This leads me to the next problem. I would prefer being able to access data on the performance task directly on the website. The third improvement would be to encourage students to use the same tools they will need to use on their state test.

Verdict: It is creatively based and provides differentiation in the instruction. It also has rigorous lessons that provide for high critical thinking skills. It is provided for all grade levels available at my school site.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This program looks wonderful! It has real-word problems that students can learn while reading their favorite book/author and learn math!

Strengths: I can see that this program provides students with the opportunity to take a favorite book/author and them apply a real- world situation that they would solve. It provides them with a look at the education that would be required to enter the career of their dreams. This would be an informal goal setting tool.

Suggestions for Improvement: One thing I would like to change about this product is to make it FREE!! This would allow Title 1 schools access to a program that students would benefit from in highly engaged, real world , and future goal setting experience.

Verdict: This program provides students with high interest reading resources and engages students in learning real-world connections with math. It provides students with the opportunity to explore careers that might be of interest to them and provides students with a look at what type of education that would be needed to be successful in that career.

Lisa, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Apr 26, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to extend a lesson in math or Language Arts inquiry on Neighborhood workers. We would interview a variety of workers and compare and contrast details of their work. In our unit on homes and animal habitats I would look for homes and habitats around the world.

Strengths: I like the way this product helps you reach out to the real world to motivate student interest as well as transfer an idea or concepts that seem abstract To students and turn them into more tangible real world scenarios.

Suggestions for Improvement: It's really hard to say since I haven't used this product yet. My main concern would be pricing and affordability for teachers and if they are able to save projects/results they have found for future use or share with colleagues.

Verdict: This is an incredible resource to achieve students transfer of learning. students could go from learning about a community in a book, build a make believe Never-Before-Seen City and then Explore real problems and challenges of managing a community in the real world.

Christina, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this tool in my everyday classroom teaching. This tool is a great way for teachers to incorporate project based learning and give us more freedom to incorporate additionals lessons.

Strengths: This tool gives really great lessons to the teachers and freeze up the teachers time it also kills two students and their interests.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great if the tool was free so that teachers could use it and test to see if they like it. Another improvement is an interactive face where students can collaborate with one another online versus it just being paper Paper. Finally another improvement could be tagging additional resources if students are not understand one of the problems or concepts .

Verdict: I would recommend it because it's a great way for teachers to do project-based lessons in the classroom and also give students a chance to do curriculum that interests them. This tool is also great because it is real life based and students get to practice every day problems.

Teacher/Innovation Coordinator, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use Nextlesson to to save to save time on creating Performance tasks for both math and ela! They editable which also allows you to personalize them and make them fit your specific needs.

Strengths: They create lessons and performance tasks and make them editable for you to change, add or use as is. They also offer online lessons where you can give feedback to students. They also offer project-based lessons online that students can work on piece by piece as the project unfolds.

Suggestions for Improvement: At this point I would not change a thing. They have so many lessons and online projects available I have not been able to find anything that I haven't liked. Plus everything is editable which means improvement is in your hands at all times!

Verdict: Saves time, it's online and it's common core aligned. With SBAC on our heels it's time consuming to create performance tasks to practice that aspect of the test with students. Next lessons makes this easy with their online lessons and performance tasks.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this with students to assign them articles to read and to give them projects to work on based on common core standards. This product has many options that are related to real life issues that students are interested in.

Strengths: These are assignments that fit perfectly with the new common core standards and they are based on topics that are extremely motivating to students. They were projects that made me exited to teach them or even complete them with students.

Suggestions for Improvement: Some of this is for advanced students, are you able to assign different students in your class different level assignments to meet their needs.
Are students able to work on assignments at home, and is this product going to be able to work with google classroom?

Verdict: I think that this is something that our students would be highly engaged in and create a lot of motivation. This product also allows for a lot of cross curriculum collaboration.

Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this as a small group project assignment as well as an end of unit formative solo assessment.

Strengths: I spend so much time putting together complex real world projects for my students. This gives me access to enough projects to fill the year in less time than it would take for me to put together one. It gives the students access to real data as opposed to things created just for a text and the material keeps up with real world events. The products come as pdfs and word files so I can edit to even better align with my class.

Suggestions for Improvement: It is hard as a high school teacher to pick a subscription when I teach all topics and often at lower levels as well.

Verdict: The lessons and projects are easy to use and understand while still providing standards based tasks. The projects are broken down so they are low risk entry but build to a bigger final product as well as tie the project to an actual post high school job.

Teacher, School Type: High School, Project Based School, BYOD Devices
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product as project because it has different task and it is related to the real life. It also helps them think about the career that they like to have in the future.

Strengths: Provides the students with real life problems and it makes it personal. For example, the problem that i saw was about the students finding out about the price for headphones in different countries. The students need to write about the reasons about why the price of the headphones in certain locations which is not only testing them in math, but also in writing.

Suggestions for Improvement: They should have problems or projects in different languages so other teachers can use them.

Verdict: This product gives the students a real life data that they can use and they care about. It is important that the students see why are they solving the problems and connect it to their life.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This is a great way to find resources and activities for all of my different subject matters-the activities, performance tasks, etc.

Strengths: The free lessons are awesome. The variety of activities and lessons for teachers to use is wonderful. I dont have to keep searching for activities through Google...this site has everything.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would make it easier to figure out pricing. It was unclear how the pricing works from the rep. I would ensure that students can be part of a classroom to take advantage of the hands on activities and have it graded in some way.

Verdict: It has a lot of resources for teachers to incorporate higher order and engaging activities. SOme of the resources are free.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up