Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Teacher, School Type: High School, College Prep School, BYOD Devices
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This would help our school keep our students on task, manage the many wifi enabled devices our students use, and help ensure that our students are using our resources effectively.

Strengths: Wifi restriction helps us deal with multiple devices/user issues and makes it much more difficult for our students to work around our in place restrictions.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think it would be helpful if apps were more readily blocked, rather than a backdoor workaround with the company. I would imagine that creating a list of sites visited for a couple days would allow teachers to curate a list of "ok" sites more easily than asking teachers to come up with "ok" sites, and would be a bit of a time saver while giving insight into student browsing behavior. I'm wondering from an ease of set up stand point linking to student emails would work in a way that an email group could be added quickly rather than relying on network/tech admins to populate class groups.

Verdict: I would recommend this because it solves a huge problem that our faculty is consistently concerned about.

Michael, Technology Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this as part of my classroom management in my technology class, as well as mention this for use by other teachers.

Strengths: The strength that I saw of this is that it does have a visual way of showing the student is using their device, and it offers a way to more maturely work with the student as far as complying with the cellphone policy in the school

Suggestions for Improvement: Although it would be difficult with different types of sulfones, being able to take a snapshot of an iOS device or an android device like a tablet would be useful. So would some form of date stamp logging for activity.

Verdict: I would recommend this as part of refining our self own policy in our building, and as an added classroom management measure.

Raymond, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Monitor student use of time on the computer and to control sites visited by students.

Strengths: This product would let me know in real time what students are doing as well as create reports describing student site navigation trends....the ability to customize internet access per student or per groups.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) the ability for teachers to sent messages to the computers students are working on
2) the ability for students to communicate privately ie ask questions for the teachers via their interface
3) drag and drop internet access icons to student names

Verdict: Easy to use interface...dashboard to quickly see which students are online and what sites they are on which would tie into classroom management.

Tracy, Tech Integration. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Low Income Population, Project Based School, Blended Learning
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: So important to be able to share stratefies worki g with out atudents with other teachers

Strengths: All of the strenghts are above, easy to use, saves teachers time, gives useful data. Why is there not anythi g else like this?

Suggestions for Improvement: Make web resources ADA

Run WAVE scan for accessibility

Publicize attach the product name to what it actually does so it can be found on aeb searches ie: NET REF your key to intervention communication. I want a bonus to be paid to me if you ise this catch phrase ;)

Verdict: In a special needs school it is imperative to have communication between parties servicing the student. It is fristrating when you go to an IEP meeting and hear one teacher's perception of a student, and you feel like they are not even talking about the same student. I had a student with serious behavior dizorders who, of all things was an awesome puzzle wiz?! Yes a puzzle wiz, he would take a brain break in my class doing puzzles. Communication between parties is key in education out students.

Teacher, School Type: High School, Low Income Population
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Be able to manage the devices of students be able to facilitate class wide cell phone conversations and student engagement and feedback in and on topic of the lesson

Strengths: Being able to control cells witout and app without an intrusive device and a way for them the students to get what they want and still use their phones as is allowed but we can control what they actually go to.

Suggestions for Improvement: Make it so an individual teacher could get an account
Have the startup page be automatic when a student opens the wifi at school

Verdict: We never get a chance to police the cell phones in our rooms now we can both give the power and communicative power and freedom to students and then be able to restrict it based. On thier compliance.

Becky, Peer Assistance And Review Consulting Teacher. School Type: Middle School, High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: There's an ease and applicability to this being a web-based application to support teacher management of students' tech use. I really appreciate the data that can be accessed about a student's tech habits.

Strengths: Web based application, data collection and elimination of teachers having to vet an app that is "ideal" for managing student tech use.

Suggestions for Improvement: It sounds like the product has been designed with teacher input in mind. I suppose I wonder if the group offers sample letters to parents and families that teach and support how it will be used, in particular with the BYOD feature. I would also wonder if parents can access the same data as teachers and act as co-monitors of the process.

Verdict: The data collected about student tech use. The management of iPad use in the class and the practicality of the BYOD feature.

Librarian, School Type: Other, High ELL Population, College Prep School, BYOD Devices
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: We are a 1:1 iPad school, and it would allow us to contain students to specific web sites during specific classes.

Strengths: Keeping students from being distracted by their devices is currently the greatest classroom management challenge facing teachers at our school, and this would allow them to see what students are doing on their devices in the classroom, and also allow teachers to restrict student access to specific websites - awesome!

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. I'm not sure if this device will work in a BYOD situation.

Verdict: It is very difficult to keep students from "wandering" on the Internet during classes, and this device would physically block access to website other than the ones chosen for the class period.

Media Specialist, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population, Blended Learning
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: For exercises and assignments, as well as blended learning assignments, I would use it with each kid in all of my classes everyday.

Strengths: I love that it keeps kids on track and you can let them know you know they aren't on task. I like being able to see what they are working on.

Suggestions for Improvement: It seems to cover everything. I'm okay with it at this point. I'd need to actually use it to give more detailed feedback.

Verdict: Keeping track of what the kids are doing is imperative. Keeping them on task instead of on Facebook, football and game sites, etc. would help all of the teachers in my school. I klwould especially be hapy to have them in the library to keep kids on task.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I think this would work with the upper children at my school. I teach pre-k. I know that the use lab tops and other mobile/tech devices. As a parent, I would love to use this for my kids.

Strengths: This is great for teachers to monitor students on the internet, I would even recommend this to my daughters school. This product helps eliminate students going to websites they should not be on.

Suggestions for Improvement: I'm not sure if this is an improvement. I'm wondering about the schools that already have firewalls. How would you convince your schools to participate?

Verdict: It seems to be a great product to use.

Intervention Specialist, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would recommend this product to teachers and principals for internet management

Strengths: I like how teachers can manage student Internet interactions Andy monitor their work online. This is helpful when using a blended learning or online classes in the classroom

Suggestions for Improvement: I feel like many classroom based applications provide this feature already however, I think this allows you more monitoring

Verdict: Internet filtering and management as students surf the web

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up