Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, 1:1 Devices
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I have used Lymboo Math, for which I have a free subscription during the school year. I would definitely switch because MyBlee better matches my Singapore curriculum. I like the virtual manipulatives and other pictorial representations of math problems that better support conceptual understanding.

Strengths: It provides good pictorial models of math problems. Great for increasing conceptual understanding. Model use is an area of weakness with our students so it would provide more opportunities for students to work with models in an engaging way.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would have to work with this in order to see what drawbacks may present. In my brief overview, I really liked it. The weaknesses of my other site were not evident in MyBlee.

Verdict: I could use the fact that it matches our curriculum and both parents and students can track performance.

Teacher, School Type: High School, Low Income Population
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: As a high school teacher, I often run into students who have big gaps in their mathematical understanding. I don't always have time in class to review problem areas like fractions. Being able to send a student to do 10 minutes of self practice with real time feedback is a great way for them to review and for me to see their growth and areas of misunderstanding.

Strengths: The product breaks down the steps of the problem into little chucks and is able to correct common misconceptions.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would love if the product would eventually add material for middle level mathematics.

Verdict: I would recommend this tool because it allows us to meet students where ever they are and help bridge the gap. It is also a low risk environment and shows the student immediate growth feedback.

Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this as a parent for enrichment learning. Or as a teacher during independent practice to allow students to learn at their own pace. It's like having a teacher there all the time looking over their shoulder.

Strengths: I really like that the program edits the student as he/she goes along, and shows the correction in a way that students understand. Also, I like that the program goes back and reviews previous concepts.

Suggestions for Improvement: Usable on multiple devices.

Verdict: I love the real time corrections that student receive if they are doing the method incorrectly. It makes me feel confident that the student can learn in the best way, even when I am not there to moniter their learning.

Tech, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: It seems like a great product, but is only available on iPads. I'll check back when there is a computer app!

Strengths: I love the time and attention the developers took to creating this program. It is obvious they spent a lot of time making it user-friendly, and no details went unnoticed. This stands out among the millions of apps out there! It solves the problem of giving students a user-friendly and fun way to extend their learning in math.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Not yet available using a computer- such a bummer! As a school who only has computers and no iPads, this makes this awesome technology unaccessible. 2. I would love to learn more about how you can look at a whole class to assess learning 3. More publicity- this program has some incredible, detailed graphics and would be incredible to get the word out. Well done!

Verdict: I would love to have a program like this in my school. I love how easy it is for students to access their skills, and access tools for when they make a mistake. In math, learning from your mistakes is key! This app has it down- and has great auditory explanations to support students' learning.

Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: I would use this as supplementary math material to reinforce concepts I have taught in class. Other than that, I won't use it because this is a K-6 product and I teach at a high school. I could only use this in a computer lab or if I could get a class set of devices in my room at a time.

Strengths: It provides some nice practice for learned concepts and then provides data to teachers on that. I do also like the math that students can go through and the fact that they can earn awards for certain types of completion (100%, etc).

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) Provide more problems for older students. 2) Allow the data to be exported to excel. 3) Make the product easier to use and less finicky for elementary school students.

Verdict: It's K-6 and I'm at a high school. I think that the product is too fickle in some places. For example, the demo had me placing a protractor over an angle. I had a very difficult time getting the digital protractor lined up and them to measure the correct angle. Some of the programming needs work particularly if this is supposed to be used by Elementary School kids.

Brian, 5th Grade Teacher And Tech Liasion. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: The math interactive games are very useful to teach math with, I just need to convince my district to invest in Ipods. they would use them to learn in a classroom setting with the tablets, and be working on the skills we are working on.

Strengths: Wow this is amazing, It has color, deep skill practice, it is interactive and aligned to common core. The product is inviting and full of hands on tools and games.

Suggestions for Improvement: more allignment to common core port it to the pc and not just the ipad bring it to anroid as well.

Verdict: It is colorful, skills based, interactive and would keep the students interested in the math topics. It would allow the students to work towards a goal.

Esl, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this for the students to improve their math skills on their own pace and keep track of the students progress as a class data to reteach some concepts that do not show progress.

Strengths: Students will have many different methods to understand the concepts until they master the levels before moving on.

Suggestions for Improvement: I wish it had definition for the math terms for ELL students. I wish there were free trial before purchasing the product for individual student to access to it. I wish it has some pre-assessment sections.

Verdict: Students will have more fun doing math with many different strategies to use to master the concepts.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use MyBlee Math with my students both in class and at home to practice skills we are studying in class.

Strengths: I like that Singapore Math was referenced in the presentation as that is the curriculum my school is using. The organization of student data and the interactive aspects are excellent. It show the kids where they have made an error.

Suggestions for Improvement: I didn't see/hear about parent tools or communication. I am sure it is there, but want to know more.

Verdict: Myblee Math keeps track of student progress, work time, errors, etc. It will help me know which students have missed which skills without hours of combing through the paper/pencil data that I currently slog through.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: During centers while I'm teaching guided math

Strengths: I think this looks to address the needs of our kids. I like that it is divided by specific genres. I can choose specific areas related to the learning targets for the day or week. My students will be motivated by the reward system. I think the graphics are engaging.

Suggestions for Improvement: It's pricey think you need to think about making a single educator price more within the range of our teachers abilities. We don't have budgets for technology unfortunately

Verdict: I think it focuses well on the math practices of common core

Sped, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, Low Income Population
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to teach common core skills

Strengths: I really like the use of the virtual manipulative a. And how detailed the reports are. I also really like where you can tell if the student has passed or failed a skill and you can tell where to reteach. The ability to differentiate for different students will make it engaging for everyone

Suggestions for Improvement: Add ELA objectives. Add in science material

Verdict: The way you can use the virtual manipulative a is very engaging

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up