Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Jessie, Teacher. School Type: High School, Low Income Population
Nov 14, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to track students' behaviors and to plan interventions to improve those behaviors. This product would give us so much information about where and how a student is exhibiting problem behaviors, so we can do rapid, targeted responses to improve problem behaviors. It would also help us reduce missed classtime due to leaving the classroom on a pass.

Strengths: This product solves the problem of behavior tracking taking so long that any interventions are slow to implement, and would help solve the problem that all interventions are done in a vaccuum. Teachers would be able to see what is and isn't working quickly, and all focus on the same intervention method or focus.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would create a system to identify who would administrate the program, so that building admins don't just get more added to their plate and so the technologically-inclined would be able to help a lot. I would also want there to be some student view to empower students to track their own behaviors. Maybe also some way to transfer records between schools.

Verdict: I would recommend we use it to track the number of times daily a student asks for a pass, as well as how often students are misbehaving and where. This tool would let us create individual action plans more easily and track whether those plans are effective. We could also more easily find out which classes students struggle in or do well in (in terms of behavior) and seek help from our colleagues accordingly.

Marcia, Pk 12 Librarian. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Low Income Population
Nov 15, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to share with the other MS teachers what behavior trends I see in my class. I would also share the information with my administrator.

I would also use this to evaluate why my students are exhibiting certain behaviors and what I can do to change those behaviors.

Strengths: This program will help solve the problem of communication among teachers when it comes to managing student behavior and tracking it to share with other teachers/administrators. I think this will also help the Spec. Ed department when she is working on IEPs and RTi intervention with other teachers.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like to suggest being able to save the information into a PDF drive if is not already available. This will make it easier to share with stakeholders in our school is they do not access to Google Docs.

Verdict: This would help all teachers manage student behavior and have the support of other teachers who can track what behavior needs to be addressed in real time. I could see my Administrator use this program to help the Spec. Ed. Process Coordinator plan IEP goals. Teachers could use this for RTI interventions where they can plan with other teachers on the best course of to change the behaviors.

Daniel, Systems Administrator. School Type: High School, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this software to contribute useful behavioural information about my students to the entire school. This software seems like a very easy way to share this information with Counselors, Teachers, and Administrators regarding students that may be having a problem in my classroom so action can be taken to help the students.

Strengths: The product provides a simple and easy-to-use interface for teachers to report this information. It solves the issue of counselors not having an overview of a students performance without first being contacted by a teacher, or contacting a teacher. Doug's beard is wonderful.

Suggestions for Improvement: Since the system is still new, it will be nice to have their integration support more Systems.

Developing more authentication system support (Single Sign-on, etc)

Verdict: I would recommend this because our school currently has a very clunky system in place that doesn't collect any specific data about our students behaviour and performance. It's intuitive and the developers are very attentive and receptive to ideas about improving their software.

Pre Service Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Nov 14, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I am interning at a local school where I will perform a case study on a specific student. This product would be so helpful to see actual data on the student I am working with. I will not be with this student for enough time to see all the progress they have made/will make so it will be difficult to get the information I need to perform my case study to the best of my abilities.

Strengths: The collaboration that becomes available while using this product will help students succeed. By observing the data shared by peers teachers are able to find the ways that work the best for helping an individual student.

Suggestions for Improvement: Make only certain pages available for parents/others to few. This would allow teachers to share the data collected with parents who would be overwhelmed by seeing every detail made available by the product.

Verdict: I spent 30 minutes in a IEP intervention meeting that could have been avoided if this product was being used. We could be supporting our students by collaborating with teachers to find the best ways to help them succeed by using this product.

Sped Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: If I had the Mr. Elmer's product, it would definitely help me better manage my time and track my student behavior in the classroom. This product would also help me and my IEP students keep track of our goals and how they are being attained across different subjects.

Strengths: I really like the idea of an easy daily report that teachers can collaborate on. As teachers, we are very strapped on time and this product helps keep a consistent record that is both collaborative and helpful in real time.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think creating an interface that syncs up well with our district attendance system would be great. I would also like to see parent functions and possibly reports from home that they can provide. Furthermore, I would like to be able to use some recommended assessments that are embedded in the system.

Verdict: I would recommend this product because it can cater to many different types of tech literate people. It can be as simple as clicking a button through email or more complex with assessment reports. I would highly recommend this product to my SPED department.

Tracy, Technology Integration. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Low Income Population, Project Based School, 1:1 Devices, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Could be used as daily drill or weekly review or conversation starter to bring literacy into any class

Strengths: Valuable literacy tool, and very well thought out as far as what it can be used for. The students and teachers would benefit from having the resource for days when the teacher is out to keep on task, as well as use it as a tool for early finishers.

Suggestions for Improvement: Would be great to be able to share the output between teachers on the same team so they could discuss strategies to be used with a student needing accommodations

Run a WAVE ADA scan on the site to aid students with disabilities.

Be able to share lessons among teachers or school wide, let students from other classes see what other students are working on.

Have a way for parents to see what is produced,

Verdict: It is easy to use, questions can be adapted to work collaboratively

General Ed Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I'd use it to track student behavior and my corresponding actions.

Strengths: This product would allow me to collaborate with coworkers to help students in more purposeful ways, and would help me communicate what is going on to parents.

Suggestions for Improvement: The pricing seems a little unaffordable. It'd be hard to convince my school to implement this based on that point.

It'd be nice to have a parent collaboration aspect, so parents can also track behavior at home. This makes them part of the team, which they certainly are

There should also be a student interactive feature, so students can log what is going on around behavior incidents. I feel this data would also be helpful.

Verdict: Meaningful features allow you to notice trends in behavior and show how your actions as a teacher affect student behavior in different ways.

Nia, 1st Grade/Technology Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This would be a user friendly data gathering and behavior management tool to prepare for RTI.

Strengths: This helps solve the issue of data gathering to initiate the RTI process. It's visually appealing and can digitally share with all important members of the team.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be nice for the behaviors to automatically tie an intervention to it instead of having to look up in the library.

It would be nice to have the choice of visual charts (pie, bar ect).

Also if comments can be color coordinated like counselor comments in 1 color, or interventions in another color.

Verdict: It's user friendly. It's great for gaining intervention ideas in the online "library" and for sharing out to promote continuity.

Ian, Sped Teacher. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to monitor student behavior in collaboration with a student's teaching team.

Strengths: It replaces the unfriendly behavior contract with a digital response that students may embrace.

Suggestions for Improvement: They are in the process of exploring behavior in more detailed terms.

Clarify antecedent behaviors
Provide additional strategies from those provided on IEP
All for student self monitoring

Verdict: It addresses the problem in terms of the student. The student would understand and respond to a digital evaluation of behavior that is student friendly and not full of invective and hostility. It takes out the emotional response and replaces it with a collaborative approach to improving student behavior.

Music/Behavioral Therapist, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to record behavior and share things like IEP between administrators and other related staff.

Strengths: This product does really well at showing measurable data and results. It gives you comparable results and graphs that demonstrate what is an effective versus ineffective tool for behavior intervention.

Suggestions for Improvement: I have no advice for improvement at this time. I am thoroughly impressed by your product and look to advertise it in several schools and to as many educators.

Verdict: I like how you could provide online data for behavior. You could also tailor it to accommodate different staff and view their responses to interventions to see the most effective method for behavior intervention.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up