Product Index
Educational Operations
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Jesse, Educator. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices, BYOD Devices
Jan 28, 2017

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this tool to help students achieve writing at or above the high school level and prepare those who are college bound. I would also use it to scaffold assignments when it gets challenging for students to get past writer's block and expectations. In addition, my school English department is collaborating with us Social Science to tackle the deficiency.

Strengths: - Teacher antidotes: I am not proficient to teach how to write. It takes care of things I don’t know as an English teacher. I am not perfect at writing myself.
- Scaffolding
- Writing assignments are posted
- Pre-write button. Gives a prompt on the assignment
- Box for organizer. Brain storming, notes follows throughout the entire draft.
- Mozi constructs a final draft with spell check, grammar
- Teacher critique. Highlight words then a menu appears for fast entry
- SBAC Rubric embedded
- Login with Google for one login name/password
- Auto save
- Historical progress of student mastery
- Multiple teacher ownership
- Student feedback contains open ended questions for correction.

Suggestions for Improvement: The three things I would change is to have a parent portal. This helps them with the assignment and cheer progress. Second, narrow to one login as students tend to forget passwords. Lastly, I would have a way for peer review. This helps the reviewer

Verdict: This program is user friendly. Teachers do not have to be "English majors" in order to teach how to write effectively. Also, the speed of thought to final draft is enhanced because of the compartmented paragraph blocks for students to fill in.

Monic, Teacher/Mentor. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Jan 28, 2017

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This product will be used in my classes to regularly develop my students writing skills. The organization and strategies utilized within the product reinforce ideals that already exist in my classroom daily procedures, color coding, structure, immediate feedback, etc. I have found these to be great tools to elicit student growth.

Strengths: Its a simple program that provides difficult student development.

Suggestions for Improvement: Sign in needs to be attached to Google or other venue.
Images should be added to support what the student needs to do at each stage for language barriers of instruction.
It's hard to think of a second improvement. They are a young company with a great idea. That's an improvement...they need to get a bit more time and experience behind them to refine and maximize their products potential for all levels as stated.

Verdict: Evidence based writing is a school wide goal and this product tool spot on supports ALL student types in expanding their voice and sharing it concisely in a written draft.

eric, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Blended Learning
Jan 28, 2017

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to help students build confidence in their writing ability. It breaks down the writing prompt into sections. The students See the prompt as color coded sections. The software puts the sections together to make the writing process less complicated.

Strengths: I really like the easy functionality of the product.

Suggestions for Improvement: Not real strong on the pedagogy on writing. It only helps the student chunk the prompt into sections that are easy to answer. There should be a software component which allows one prompt to be sent to different students but at different levels of difficulty.

Verdict: It make the teaching of writing an easier process for the students and the terachers.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, BYOD Devices
Jan 28, 2017

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: Being a math teacher, I find it hard to use much writing in my tasks and or activities that I would assign.

Strengths: I love how it gives students the ability to have students produce better writing samples.

Suggestions for Improvement: I concern would be on the product give students too much help. Students might take advantage of the program and write less because of all the help. I would try to incorporate more help.

Verdict: I would recommend it to teachers that are having a difficult time teaching students how to write. Often times, student complain that they do not know what to write. This tool allows them to better start on a topic and produce more work.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School
Jan 28, 2017

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use this to provide support in writing for my students.

Strengths: I like how it scaffolds the writing tasks for students.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would want this product to be cheaper. I would like this to be easier to log into so students do not need to use email. I would like a more explicit teaching for the writing lessons.

Verdict: I would suggest it for intervention purposes. I would not advise to se it because of the cost. It is very pricey to use school wide.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Jan 28, 2017

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would create essay topic questions for my students that guide them through the writing process.

Strengths: It helps the students connect the prompt to the writing process with the different color coding.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would make a common login. I would create more features for younger elementary school grades. I would have an app for the phone that students could use at home.

Verdict: There is no common login yet and different passwords can get confusing.

Sandra, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Blended Learning
Jan 28, 2017

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to help my third grade students understand how to express their learned content in multiple subjects. This would help them use language to give an understanding of what they have learned outside of literature and sentence structure.

Strengths: The color coding and user interface would not intimdate my third grade students and would help them undestand sentence structure visually.

My students would more understand how they needed to improve their work.

Suggestions for Improvement: There is nothing I would improve. It adaptable and easy to use on any device.

Verdict: I feel this is more accessible for students to understand what it is they need to write about. This gives students an easier mindset in starting their writing. It goes beyond simple and sometimes general paragraph guidelines. I also feel this would be most helpful in interacting with my students.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Jan 29, 2017

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to assign essays to my students. This product is very structures and with the population of students that i work with this tool would be very useful.

Strengths: the color coding of the writing prompt is great to help students see what is being asked of them. the whole lay out of the sight is user friendly. The students can simply fill out the prompt by typing in the box and when they are done with one box they move on. This way of writing an essay i feel is great because it is broken down and the students do not need to feel overwhelmed with the word essay..

Suggestions for Improvement: I do not have any improvements seeing how i was just introduced to this product and i have not been able to use it in the classroom.

Verdict: Reasons I would give to recommend this product would be the amount of structure that is provided is very beneficial to the students. This product not only provides structure for the students it also provides the teacher with structure when creating the writing prompts for the students.

Andrew, Staff Development Specialist. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Other, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Jan 28, 2017

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: This would be an excellent tool for RSP teachers and content area teachers who are supporting writing.

Strengths: The product would be a great tool to assist students to break down the writing tasks. It would assist teachers in providing the guided support in content writing assignments.

Suggestions for Improvement: Add some suggested instructional routines or lessons to support the writing, such as how to elaborate in writing.

Verdict: This would be a teaching tool for specialists who must assist students in writing across multiple subjects.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, 1:1 Devices
Jan 28, 2017

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I am looking to incorporate more writing into my lessons and my students are struggling on what to do with a writing promt.

Strengths: Helps teachers that are not trained in teaching students the ability to help students in academic writing.

Suggestions for Improvement: This is hard to answer at this point. I would need to try it out first. Cost and ease of setup are important.

Verdict: It helps teachers that are not use to teaching writing help students to write well structured and written responses to a writing prompt

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up