Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
raymond, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This would be a great tool to differentiate learning for students as it tracks success areas as well as trouble areas. Build fluency and number sense.

Strengths: The problem this product solves first and foremost is differentiation. Specific skills can be turned on and off by the teacher to target areas where students need most practice. This product is engaging and I am certain students would look forward to learning with this product.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) Have skills on the turn on and off screen also tied in with the common core standards as teachers are required to support all teaching approaches and strategies as they relate to the common core.
2) Have a goal setting screen with auto graphing of student progress for students, teachers, and parents to see.
3) Give students the ability to win prizes- for their characters in the game as further incentive to keep going with the practice.

Verdict: Students are easily engaged with game formats and the wonderful graphics. Also- it easily allows teachers to customize the games and the skill sets needed for each individual student to practice- differentiation- which is the greatest challenge for most teachers. Tracks progress.

Connie, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I loved the idea of having the students play MonsterMath with their other grade-level peers. It would be a fun way to assign some math "homework" and also a great center to include for fast-finishers or a math center in general.

Strengths: I love the differentiation -- not only are the different skills provided, but the speed of the monster moving is adapted to the difficulty level to keep the game fair! The graphics are appealing to kids and the company seems genuine and friendly.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think the game may be difficult to play on a smaller screen, they may need to modify the number of "floors" the monster needs to hop around to in order to make visibility of the math questions clearer. For schools without 1-1 devices, I like that it can support remembering 10 user ids -- however it may be confusing for teachers who share devices. Possible generic grade-level device usernames that come standard profile may be good?

Verdict: The company amazingly enough provides their game free of charge!!! There is differentiation and reports for each student's profile. Students can play the same game but different difficulty levels at the same time.

Head Of School, School Type: Elementary School, Project Based School
Sep 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would provide it as an option for our students to do during Core Skills time.

Strengths: The highlight of this project is that's it's actually fun to play. It's a "legit" game. It solves the problem of engagement. Currently we use a lot of khan academy and flash cards for math and the problem is that they find Khan boring. They go through the problems because they want the points, but they don't enjoy it.
With flash cards the problem is that tracking what you're doing is very time consuming - (currently they write down each problem they do on a piece of paper or not at all.)

Suggestions for Improvement: The 3 things I would improve would be:

1. Make it available on web.
2. Allow students to play against other kids on different devises.
3. Allow students to set their own difficulty level and goals.

Verdict: I would recommend we get this product because our student LOVE gaming. It will keep them very engaged in practicing their math skills without the need for external motivation. Out of all math products I would advise we get this because it is built by gamers and game designers that know how to make fun games.

Cristina, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: THis would be a great center. I can tell that a lot of effort went in to making it attractive for students. It looks like a game students would play on nintendo or x box.

Strengths: I love that it looks like you are playing mario brothers. It makes me want to play this game myself. It will definitely draw the students into their learning.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like to see it in english and spanish. I want to make sure the students have access on chrome and ipad. The data is useful, how about keeping track of class progress as a whole.

Verdict: CHildren are drawn to the complex games. They are learning while having fun. There is a great need to keep students engaged with the competition between boring school games and fun technology they get access to at home.

Bradford, Innovative Specialist. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, Low Income Population, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This would be used in the math classes in small groups to assess their levels weekly. It can also be used in RTI classes as well.

Strengths: It really engages the students. I see the addiction to it and students will be really excited about math. Kids love games and they can see connections.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would love to see this in the upper grades as well and it would be easier to see TEKS that are aligned and it would be great for students and teachers to create their own games.

Verdict: Sometimes math teachers think that it is difficult to blend tech integration in the classroom. Students love games and this is a fun way to have students be engaged individually or as group at any level.

Jack, Teacher, Cic. School Type: Elementary School
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: we currently use a math gaming program that our students love, but it is very expensive. This seems like a similar game which is gifted to schools, freeing up valuable resources.

Strengths: Free, different, engaging, leveled, solves the problem of students who think they dont like math. Students who are unengaged can play simple games to solidify basic strengths.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. provide more available options of game design and "look"
2. unlockable features/hidden/secret finds for points, level up, etc
3. the ability to play vs friends/family

Verdict: none

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Would use it as a center or as an intervention activity.

Strengths: The format and appeal to students, multiple levels, student data, ease of use

Suggestions for Improvement: More material for lower levels
Student friendly passwords/ accounts/ log in for classrooms with limited technology and for use at home.

Also would be great to have as a website resource.

Verdict: Number sense is so important and is often neglected due to the focus on state standards. this product would help continue to develop number sense in a fun way.

Instructional & Technology Specialist, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Sep 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: To have students practice math skills daily.

Strengths: Students practice math skills in an engaging way; parental/ teacher reporting; helps to get reluctant learners engaged in practicing and learning

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like this product to align to standards, not just skills; align to popular curriculums; cloud based log in to carry across devices. Eliminate the British spelling of words for American English learners

Verdict: To have students practice math skills; student centered; fun; inexpensive

Yeyn, Teacher / Website Developer. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: This product is used as part of my math centers. The students are very engaged when it comes to following the story line and when it comes to dealing with Graphics that are high quality. Especially when it deals with little monsters. I make sure that whatever it is that they are learning for the day is customized in the settings for that day.

Strengths: My students are very hesitant when it comes to them having to practice their math facts. This product keeps my students entertained and at the same time helps them to practice their math facts. It also gives me instant feedback on their progress.

Suggestions for Improvement: If it was possible I would allow for more options to practice that would go aligned to the TEKS for my grade level. I would also allow for customization of avatars for students. Lastly I would also provide incentives and special quests available that would be created by the teacher.

Verdict: Students will only get better if they practice, practice, practice. This product gives students a fun way for them to practice, practice, practice. It also allows teachers to fully customize they're learning. I really enjoy how it allows for differentiation from the students are behind comedy students that are more advanced.

Principal, School Type: Elementary School
Sep 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Small groups
Homework enrichment

Strengths: I would use this product for Individual and small groups.
The product is Engaging for students.
I would also advise my parents to use this product at home for enrichment and remediation.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would benefit us if we could use it on Use on iOS devices. Our school does not have iPads.
The cost may be a problem for us because we are a high poverty school.

Verdict: Recommend-great product-engaging

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up