Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Teacher, School Type: Middle School
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: During homeroom, this would be an excellent activity based on social/emotional learning. This program is viewed and completed by individual students. It focuses on empathy, ethics, morals, and employabilty; important life skills all students must have.

Strengths: This program helps students with life skills they need for thnow and the future.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think the one thing neede to make this easier on the teacher is to have a url for students to log into their classroom and sign up individually, rather than having the teacher mannually log in every studen't email.

Verdict: This program is short, 7-10 minutes, self-directed, and based on non-academic skills. Students are encouraged to look at what skills they have or need to develop in order to become a responsible adult. The units show students skills and qualities that can help them succeed in life now and, in the future, set them apart from others in the eyes of future employers.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it during advisory to help students achieve these types of soft skills without the academic connection or pressure from their content teacher.

Strengths: Solves the problem of creating curriculum like this that might vary per teacher.

Suggestions for Improvement: Look... the look was a little dull for middle school application. Better presenter... I was confused during the presentation when they asked for questions first instead of presenting and then asking questions.

Verdict: I would recommend it due to the increased need for a curriculum for these types of skills. Some of the teachers may not know how to implement these so providing this would be beneficial.

Student, School Type: High School, Project Based School
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: To learn new skills to use in the real world

Strengths: This would be very helpful for kids that struggle in different real world situations and even adults could use this tool. Also the people who work here are very friendly and know what they are talking about.

Suggestions for Improvement: (1) Easier access to the program (2) too simple not enough content (3) the program and people too entusiatstic

Verdict: It is a one of a kind thing and would love if our school used it.

Student, School Type: High School, Project Based School
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: To learn new skills to use in the real world

Strengths: This would be very helpful for kids that struggle in different real world situations and even adults could use this tool. Also the people who work here are very friendly and know what they are talking about.

Suggestions for Improvement: (1) Easier access to the program (2) too simple not enough content (3) the program and people too entusiatstic

Verdict: It is a one of a kind thing and would love if our school used it.

Sped Teacher, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would possibly use this during our social engagement time. This could help students develop a greater self awareness of their actions within a group environment.

Strengths: I beleive it can work great it getting students to dig deeper in the why of their actions.
Also the ability to get student to critically assess their decisions will help them assimilate into any environment.

Suggestions for Improvement: Perhaps have more culturally relevant topics to cover. This would help to engage a more diverse population.

Verdict: Many of the students i work with throughout the week, struggle to gain a bigger perspective outside of their personal reality. This can help them to increase their interpersonal skills.

Dlc, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: To provide instruction and get feedback on SEL. This program would really help engage students and create a blended learning environment.

Strengths: It seems like a lot of other similar products already exist that our district is using. I is very similar to atomic learning, but it is a bit more visually appealing.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be nice if they expanded their program in an environment suitable for k-3

Verdict: It seems like a lot of other similar products already exist that our district is using. I is very similar to atomic learning, but it is a bit more visually appealing.

Arun Chennuru, Student. School Type: High School, Project Based School
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to foster my learning to kickstart my projects.

Strengths: The program is cool and it would help me learn a lot of subjects that I wouldn't otherwise use it.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would change the user interface.

Verdict: I would recommend it because it would help me learn about different topics. It has a lot of potential.

Chris, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: For social learning

Strengths: Good way to teach

Suggestions for Improvement: I haven't used it.

Verdict: Sounds good

Ell Specialist, School Type: Elementary School
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: Since I am a specialist my time with students is limited. Although this might be used as part of a character education program, library time, or with the school counselor.

Strengths: This program seems that it would benefit upper elementary students. Help students develop soft skills.

Suggestions for Improvement: I am looking at products for students K-4th grades.

Verdict: I would not advise against it, but this type of program meets higher grade levels.

Paraprofessional, School Type: Elementary School, Blended Learning
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would gain extra knowledge with in and share it with the whole school.

Strengths: It helps students engage their thoughts in their daily schedule.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would not change anything.

Verdict: There is always room for higher learning.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up