Product Index
Curriculum Products
Categories: Math and Language Arts
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Tejkumari, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to teach Math. They have an ELA component but the Math really mimic what I would like to see in the classroom. I would use this as a review and online practice for the FSA. Probably in more of a remediation and FSA preparation session.

Strengths: I love the highlighting tool. As I said before this is not something that is available to the students currently in many places. Another major strength is the journal writing. It is really difficult to get the students to write about math. This gives them an opportunity to write about Math and if this starts at the beginning of the school year the students will be experts by the time they are ready to test.

Suggestions for Improvement: I don't like that the product recommends the use of manipulatives but there are no templates or manipulatives provided with the program. Additionally I do not like the fact that there is not multiple standard focus. Teaching to just one standard at a time could be counterproductive. There should be spiral review imbedded within the product. Finally they have literature imbedded into all the lessons but they do not provide the books. Providing the books digitally would be great for the user!

Verdict: I would recommend this because our school does not have a program that effectively mimics the FSA type questions. This product will get the students into the habit of highlighting the keys words from early in the school year. We need a program that allows the students to tackle questions that are presented to them online in this type of format. Also the questions are aligned well to the standards.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
May 8, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it our curriculum to enrich student learning as well as to keep track of there progress.

Strengths: The data representation seems to be very easy to read. It will make teachers data requirements that much easier. I have not seen anything like this in any other product. In addition the questioning and answers seem very similar to the FSA test. what great practice.

Suggestions for Improvement: I don,t think I know enough about it to determine what I would change. I hope it is also in Spanish that would be the only thing I would change if it currently did not have. Also I would hope that the package comes with both ELA and math.

Verdict: I would recommend based on content. It appears to be directly aligned with our testing. Also it provides with an easy way to monitor the progress, and keep track of standard mastery.

Sara, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to monitor student data and challenge my students with rigorous content. I would also use it to drive my instruction based on data for each standard.

Strengths: The color-coded approach of presenting and organizing data would solve the problem of having to organize student progress on my own. Also, it would help me hold students accountable for their progress for each standard.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great if this product incorporated Florida standards. Also, it would be nice if the assessments included multiple-select questions. In addition, having matching questions and drag and drop on assessments, similar to FSA, would be helpful.

Verdict: I would recommend this product because our school does not have a systematic approach to tracking student data in an organized manner.

Tracey, Ese Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, 1:1 Devices
May 8, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this as progress monitoring for my students in my ESE classes.

Strengths: I love the children's literature connection, even with math. Having books about math is huge!
It is driven by the common core standards and they are broken down within each lesson.
FSA format is huge for exposure throughout the year.
DOK levels are right there.
Intervention activities are right there created for you already.

Suggestions for Improvement: Cost. I am an ESE teacher and do not have that many students and it seems high for $15 a student.
Interface is a little boring, too much like an actual standardized test.

Verdict: I feel we need to all be on the same page for progress monitoring and this program seems to have everything covered. It also correlates to how the FSA tests are given so the students are exposed to this throughout the year.

Susan, Math Coach, 4th Grade Teacher, Team Leader. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I can use the book and the online tools to enrich or remediate students in math or reading.

Strengths: The reading passages are rigorous and have questions that mirror state standards and have question stems that are similar to the state guidelines.

Suggestions for Improvement: The cost should be lower so schools could afford the program. The materials should be bundled so schools could afford to use the program.

Verdict: I like that the books are aligned to standards and have questions that are rigorous and that mirror the questions that they will be tested on the state tests.

Cristina, Math Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to monitor independent practice.

Strengths: Perfectly illustrated mathematical models. The Data is very detailed and you have many reports to choose from.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be awesome if the students had a goal or reward to work towards.

Verdict: The questions are directly aligned with areas assessed and the data insures me that they are giving full effort. I know who needs reteaching and on exactly what skills.

Instructional Specialist, School Type: High School
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Great product. Offer informative articles and activities. Help students to stay focused and motivated.

Strengths: Will help to reengage students who feel bored. Will help to improve classroom management. Will help to increase student acheivement.

Suggestions for Improvement: Add more articles and activities. Continue developing the product to make it more align to the standards and more rigorous.

Verdict: The choice of articles and activities is appropriate and stimulates students curiosity. Perfect to engage students who are unmotivated.

Media Specialist, School Type: Elementary School
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Reading and math support with specific students

Strengths: I like that there are practice assessments. It is motivating for students. It reinforces students test taking strategies. I like that there are interventions, too. Also extentions for students to be challenged.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like to see the workbook be different problems, same skills though.

Verdict: I would recommend this product because it has a digital and paper based platform.

Jordanna, Secing Grade Team Leader. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: There are so many courses available, I can use it in most subjects!

Strengths: I see that it works, it helps our students think critically which is so important these days. I also like that it offers so many different courses.

Suggestions for Improvement: I need to try it first.

Verdict: I could already tell that there is a very high level of customer service and some major thought into this product which has been around for a long time, I also like that it can be purchased with title one funding,

Pam, 4th Grade. School Type: Elementary School, Blended Learning
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would discuss with our curriculum specialist the fact that this would be a great product to use in our "FSA Camp" to reinforce the skills needed for students that are in need of double dosing and extra help.

Strengths: Updated question stems and ways to teach standards.

Suggestions for Improvement: Examples given to school to show to administrators.

Verdict: Aligned with the standards and up-to-date question types.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up