Product Index
Everything Else
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Ashley, Special Education Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Implement in the classroom with special education students. Also main stream as you can work on gross motor and coordination techniques with thte students. Like how it can make lessons for you

Strengths: The floor mat feature is wonderful as it helps students with coordinator. Visuall appealing to students who enjoy technology

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) Add curriculum components to it
2) add more interactive educational or curriculum games that maybe ask questions throughout
3) Variety of games offered

Verdict: Recommend for the students benefits it has as well as the lessons for teachers. It is a great price and wonderful for educators

Rebecca, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, BYOD Devices
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to create diagnostic or review questions for my students in French language or math

Strengths: Ability to create my own questions for my students based on class content
The fun factor for students when reviewing material taught in class
The engagement of my students

Suggestions for Improvement: A pool of questions created by other teachers that I can add to and pull from
Slow down of the cart in the roller coaster game so students dont miss the questions

Verdict: The ease of use
The ability to create your own questions based on class content
Fun factor for students

Mike, Teacher. School Type: High School, College Prep School, BYOD Devices
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to reinforce lessons in my history and geography classes in a way that kids would find enjoyable as well as practical.

Strengths: Makes learning fun. Looks like a great tool for kids who might not be as academically inclined or who do not enjoy learning in traditional ways.

Suggestions for Improvement: Make the graphics better

French language compatibility

Seem less built for elementary kids - I mean have options that seem more designed for high school

Verdict: It seemed innovative and the fact that it adds a gaming aspect to the learning that occurs in the classroom is also something I feel kids today would gravitate to really easily. Anytime you can make learning feel like a game I think you have the recipe for a win-win scenario.

Occasional Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Perhaps as a pre-assessment tool in class in order to see how much a student remembers. This is also a fun way to check memorization.

Strengths: This solves the problem of making a lesson interesting. Additionally, if this could be assigned as homework the students would surely be motivated through the visuals and probably through competition.

Suggestions for Improvement: The pricing seems a bit steep since there are products like Prodigy which is free.
The game shown to us is mostly for fact checking so I am not sure how this would work for other areas like Thinking, Communicating and Application.

Verdict: It would be nice to have this paid for by the school since it is a fun assessment tool. I'm not sure about the price though ($40/class)

Nicole, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Teach a concept by posting short videos. Have students learn in context of playing video game.

Strengths: Action games would appeal to students. More appropriate for close end questions. I can see that it would work as drill and kill. I like the fact that it is not restricted to math. You can determine your own content.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like it to assess student levels instead of letting them select their level. I like the fact that students can create and post their own lessons.

Verdict: It will be motivational tool to get students to learn French vocabulary. Video game format will appeal to most students.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Most fit

Strengths: Makes learning tangible and fun for students by taking the format of a game, also embeds other platforms for differentiated presentation of learning.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. free trial version of platform for users to learn and navigate before purchasing
2. clear links to Ontario curriculum expectations
3. integrate with google schools if possible

Verdict: Our school has used online tracking and gamified platforms for mathematics, but not anything that has the ability to be cross curricular.

Alison, Digital Literacy Support Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I personally am not wowed by gaming. It feels like it would take more time to upload and create content, than the student value would merit.

Strengths: video game format appeals to many
teachers can customize quizzes
dancemat option is great for kinesthetic kids, or for a change of mode.

Suggestions for Improvement: when question pops up on screen, make font much bigger for the dancemat format. If too far from screen, leaning in to view or stepping closer makes you answer, even if you're not ready.

make an "oops/go back/try again" button for quick retry of incorrect questions.

Verdict: - for those whose classes are motivated by gaming to learn, this is a fun, interactive way to consolidate skills.

- teachers have to create the content to customize tasks. (not a bad thing, just more work)

- had trouble navigating question controls- it was not easy to back up and redo a question. If students have to log out/ log in each time they make a mistake, they will be disinterested very quickly. Add a "go back" or "try again" button.

French Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I'm a French tchr and have 200 ss . too expensive

Strengths: I love that students can create their own lessons, and that's great for teacher assessment of their knowledge.

Suggestions for Improvement: Make the pricing more appealing for itinerant teachers of french, music, health, etc. who might teach many classes. I'm not clear whether tchr can share and search for existing lessons already available -- it would save time

Verdict: Enjoyment for kids and facilitates for teacher who can reuse lesson in future

Kindergarten Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: I found it too complex and the presenter didn't explain the program very well.
I use Smart Exchange all the time and the lessons are ready and completely free.
There is no bank of lessons appropriate for my grade. Also the lessons are not for free.

Strengths: The dance mat caught my attention. My own children used the dance revolution game when they were younger. I loved that they were getting exercise while playing.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think the company needs to build a bigger bank of shared lessons and I also think the presentation needs to be improved. I did not leave confident that I could create a lesson using this program. I also think the price doesn't meet my needs.
I am not interested in creating lessons and selling them online. I always share lessons I create with colleagues free.

Verdict: I would advise against it because the company seemed very new. It seemed very complex to create a lesson and it cost money to purchase other teachers lessons.
I like Smart Exchange and use Free lessons all the time. I wouldn't pay for something that I could get for free.

Kindergarten Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: I found it too complex and the presenter didn't explain the program very well.
I use Smart Exchange all the time and the lessons are ready and completely free.
There is no bank of lessons appropriate for my grade. Also the lessons are not for free.

Strengths: The dance mat caught my attention. My own children used the dance revolution game when they were younger. I loved that they were getting exercise while playing.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think the company needs to build a bigger bank of shared lessons and I also think the presentation needs to be improved. I did not leave confident that I could create a lesson using this program. I also think the price doesn't meet my needs.
I am not interested in creating lessons and selling them online. I always share lessons I create with colleagues free.

Verdict: I would advise against it because the company seemed very new. It seemed very complex to create a lesson and it cost money to purchase other teachers lessons.
I like Smart Exchange and use Free lessons all the time. I wouldn't pay for something that I could get for free.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up