Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use Matific to reinforce lessons and provide a reteach for my students who need it. I would also use Matific to provide lots of differentiated instruction, even in small groups of students.

Strengths: It is great that the product can be tailored per student as well as CCSS and textbooks the school chooses to use. Its a great benefit to have lesson plans along with the amount of time that should be spent on each section of the lesson. This is a great tool for new teachers.

Suggestions for Improvement: I saw lots of worksheets that are attached to the lessons, but I didn't see any actual assessments (maybe its me) Im wondering if I missed it. It would be great to have assessments for the end of each unit or topic

Verdict: FREE!!!! This product seems very comprehensive and it is free! Its great that parents could get reports and view the lessons even though they did not pay for the program. I really like that the program shows a wide range of data graphs and information.

Chau, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This would be assigned as a daily intervention or enrichment activity. They can also use it at home.

Strengths: It's amazing the database of languages available that's translated into the program. So often we have transfer students that do not speak English.

It's free and an online webpage as well as an app through google play and apple

Love the ease of uploading class rosters and usernames and passwords

Suggestions for Improvement: It's such a great product, finding three improvements is difficult.

1) students who do not have Internet access or any device cannot access this.

2) is there a printable option for the worksheets and can they be linked to edmodo or Google classroom?

3) I would have them redo the logo because I at first glance mistaken them for math.com (unless they are affiliated!?!?)

Verdict: It's free!!! What more can I say???? They also have multiple languages supported.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This is a great tool to preteach a math lesson that is coming up. It is also excellent as an extension of a lesson as extra practice for all students.

Strengths: The progress monitoring is a great tool in this system. Also the fact that you can communicate this progress with parents for them to be able to keep track and help their child at home. A lot of times parents don't have time to come to school to see how their child is doing. Now with this tool they don't have to. All they have to do is check their email.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would be great if this product was also available for free at home for them to continue with their activities as an extension of what they learned in school.

Verdict: I would definitely recommend this tool cause its a great way for students to get extra practice on those math concepts they are still lacking. It is also a great way to keep track of their progress.

Brasilia, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: On tablets, students can explore the activities I chose for the unit or curriculum expectation after a mini lesson. To explain concepts I could project it onto the Smart Board and encourage children to come up and play the game.

Strengths: I like the graphics, the variety of activities that are curriculum based, the languages, gives me students data for assessment and evaluation.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great if the audio playback was offered in French for French Immersion classes. I like that is free for teachers and classroom use, parents might be hesitant to subscribe with payment at home. Perhaps incorporating more characters of diverse background that could represent the students who are playing the games.

Verdict: It matches the Ontario curriculum from K-6. Offered in several languages which suits the needs of the students, teachers, and parents.

Tk Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would love to use matific especially because it is free and it is an excellent tool for my classroom to use. I like everything about it, I wold definitely use this everyday, I'm very excited! I would use it as a whole class instruction lesson.

Strengths: This product would solve the problem of students being uninterested and not engaged. I'm hearing a lot of great things about this program and I can't wait to use it in my classroom.

Suggestions for Improvement: I wouldn't change nothing about it I will tell all my coworkers about this program and I will try and get my administrator to enforce this program at our school. I think everyone will love it.

Verdict: I would love it because its extremely engaging, easy and age appropriate. i think my students would love it, its got great tools and assessments. Also, worksheets, games and assessments.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this tool as a fun way to get students to practice and develop their math skills. As suggested, I would get students to work with a partner to encourage mathematical discussion and working together to problem solve.

Strengths: It is appealing visually. It offers a variety of games to keep the students engaged. It is a fun way to practice their skills.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) Include the ability to control which skills students are practicing.
2) Offer help when the student is struggling with a concept (video, hints, etc.)
3) Include content from Nelson Math.

Verdict: Although we are currently using another math game, I think this game has more appeal in its appearence, and it seems easy to use. I also like that it has a variety of games as opposed to the same style of game over and over.

Esl, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this for students to reinforce the math skills that I teach in class.

Strengths: It is fun to work on math problems through interactive games so that students are not intimidated by math. Learning from mistake is good. Easy access to it for anyone and anywhere and anytime via any digital device is handy.

Suggestions for Improvement: I wish it is free at all times if this offers free access to anyone and anywhere. Most of time teachers and students will work on this after school hours as a reinforced activities for math.

Verdict: I would recommend this to any teachers or IAs to support students to strengthen and reinforce their math skills they learn and improve their foundational math skills It is easy to access for anyone and anywhere through any digital device.

Anne-Marie, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it daily during math, for homework, parent communication, and during intervention.

Strengths: I love this product! It's completely free for teachers! I love how each child can go at their own pace. You can monitor their progress. They can do assignments online or printed out. They can take it home and do it there. Parents can help them because they have it in different languages. I love it!

Suggestions for Improvement: This product is close to perfect. I would make some concepts able to be chosen by the student and in the order they want though regarding some concepts. I think they have to go through steps to get to the end.

Verdict: This product helps students learn math at their own pace and in a fun and engaging way. It's free too!

Tracy, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I'd use this for homework assignments. I'd also use it to differentiate for my accelerated learners, as well as my students who struggle.

Strengths: This is really great for matching standards with activities. The reports generated show exact areas students need work in. This will help more of our parents that don't speak English to help their students at home.

Suggestions for Improvement: I'd like more language choices, but I think you said they are coming soon. I can't think of anything else to add. I love that parents can access the activity through the report.

Verdict: Program translates to Spanish and will soon do 9 languages. Parents can then support students at home. You can choose activities by standard.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Sep 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this in many ways, as a introduction to a new skill, as a review of an older skill or in small group instruction for both new and review skills.

Strengths: I like the low cost to the parents to use at home with student and I also like that the parents who don't want to purchase the product, their children will still have access to the product at school.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like to see an assessment component for this. I don't have any other comments at this time, but as I use the product I will offer more feedback

Verdict: It's free, first of all. It is prescriptive to each student and it's free. I like that you can track the student progress and see what they are struggling with.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up