Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Gifted Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Project Based School, 1:1 Devices, BYOD Devices
Nov 14, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I am a gifted teacher, so unfortunately based on my grade-level topic, I could not use it in my classroom. However, I may be able to use this product when I visit other elementary schools and work with the students there when I work with my students regarding math.

Strengths: This product is fantastic at helping students with their math in real-time. It gives them hints as well as other resources to make sure that they understand their work. It would give a struggling student the confidence to persevere through the problems that they find as difficult.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great to see some word problems. Perhaps, I did not see this when I met with our representative, but if Mathspace does not have examples of word problems, they should!

Verdict: This would be PERFECT for our regular classroom students in our district. The ability for them to see exactly what their strategies were to solve a problem is fantastic. It is so helpful that MathSpace allows students to go back and review their work in real-time when they find that their work is wrong.

Teresa, High School Sped Teacher. School Type: High School, Low Income Population
Nov 14, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Use in my special education math class to promote student engagement in the area of math. Get the kids interested and using technology that they like.

Strengths: This tool appears to be an answer to prayers in my high school special education math class. Students can get immediate feedback and individualized instruction on their level of math! I always said that I need to clone myself to help make a one to one environment in my class. Often my kids love computers but need an easy program to use with little complication. Eliminates grading time!

Suggestions for Improvement: Perhaps the cost will be difficult to convince administration about funding. Especially for a small amount of students to offset cost. Getting access for individual Students ..one to one.....

Verdict: This product uses technology to its fullest. It allows for individualized instructions and differentiated instruction. It appears to be easy to use for students, especially special education students.

It, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School
Nov 14, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I teach an intervention course for kids that are struggling in algebra because they have gaps from earlier years. The adaptive nature of mathspace coupled with the differentiated goals of my students would be a great fit!

Strengths: connected understanding of skills and subskills is great for finding the "next step" for students. It also solves the problem of wanting to give kids feedback at each step of the problem, but not wanting them to wait for me all the time to move forward

Suggestions for Improvement: math problem solving process is important for open-ended questions - wanting to grow THOSE skills as well, I don't think I could use this ALL the time.

looking forward to future gamification efforts

can i export the data to my SIS - that wasn't shown...

Verdict: getting feedback at EACH STEP (at not being multiple choice) would be huge for scaffolding students that need more support and encouraging growth of PROCESS, not just "i got the right answer"

Makerspace Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population, Project Based School, 1:1 Devices
Nov 14, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would introduce this program to the school's Math Instructional Coach for use with students who are in need of targeted instruction.

Strengths: The immediate feedback aspect of this program is great! It lets me follow along with students to make sure they are engaged and learning.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like to have notifications sent to the teacher each time a student uses the help features, that way a teacher knows immediately which students are in need. That way if multiple students need help with the same problem at the same time, the teacher can intervene and reteach that aspect of the lesson.

Verdict: Our school needs a way for teachers to easily track student progress in mathematics. This program shows each student's progress through each problem. This gives the teacher immediate feedback and allows them to address those students who need help the most.

Ashley, Teacher. School Type: Middle School
Nov 14, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I am not actually a math teacher but looking at the demonstrations I want to suggest it to our math dept as a program to help them track student progress, differentiate learning, and fill those gaps that kids always come with because they had different teachers or different schools or experiences. I would think this would be a great tool for in the classroom practice and and at home.

Strengths: The gaps in student knowledge, the individual progress tracking and differentiation.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) Seems to work best with a tablet, we don't have 1:1 in our school. Otherwise I can't think of what else would make it better. Could we have something like this for other subject areas? :)

Verdict: The issue of gaps in student knowledge is constant across curricular areas. Having a way to individually address that would be great for kids and teachers.

sierhah, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Nov 14, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it as my independent practice. During that time the students will have the opportunity to work and receive immediate feedback on their mastery of the skill.

Strengths: Everything. I love that is is so aligned with the building blocks of the learning. I also like that as a non-common core or general standard school I can still use the program because it recognizes that on a general level certain skills are necessary as you move up in math.

Suggestions for Improvement: I cannot think of any immediate changes, I am just worried that since my school has laptops and not tablets I think it would lose some of the experience of writing and solving.

Verdict: It caters to so many different ranges of learners and keeps the fidelity with the learning. It is not just input and output. It gives genuine feedback that will be useful and used by students.

Occasional Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: - use it for diagnostic and daily homework
- use it in the classroom to teach strands of math, especially the step-by-step video

Strengths: Impressed with the step-by-step video guide and the visual cues it gives students as they complete the questions and pause them if they make a mistake

Suggestions for Improvement: - adapt it to the Ontario curriculum (which, I'm sure you will soon!)
- more word problem questions to the bank
- somehow, a quicker turnaround rate for when teachers submit questions to be added to the bank.

Verdict: - I love that it gives step-by-step feedback, so that students will stop at a step and will be given tips on what mistake they made and what the correct step should be.
- It collects data from students and you can see how individual students or how a class is doing

Math Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Nov 14, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it for homework assignments as well as differentiation for both gifted and remedial students.

Strengths: It gives students feedback at each step of the solving process and provides tools for when students are stuck. A great feature is how the hints progess in the amount of help they provide each time one is used.

Suggestions for Improvement: I did not like that students could submit an answer without providing any work. It would be nice if the site or the teacher could set the minimum number of steps a student needs to show when arriving at their solution.

Verdict: It is great that it offers immediate feedback to the students at each step of solving a math problem and shows the teacher details about how each student is progressing.

Evie, Computer Teacher/Tech Coordinator. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, 1:1 Devices
Sep 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would tell our Math classes regular and resource about this. The teachers would use it to show student work. I hope it would replace Aleks.

Strengths: The help button is great! The ability for teachers to see each step a child does instead of just an answer is fabulous.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be nice if you could purchase the program without the textbook feature to bring the cost down. Or can it be streamlined in a way to get a lower cost alternative, but keep the step part.

Verdict: The showing of student work at each step instead of just the final answer is huge. Also that students get help along the way if they need it.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, College Prep School
Sep 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Help students with math skills

Strengths: The ability to scaffold a specific plan for each student. The students are given hints, videos to watch and the next step for problem presented to the students. I love the instant feedback for the teacher and studetns

Suggestions for Improvement: I can't think of anything that would make it better. The product offers a teacher the ability to see in real time how students perform on specific skills

Verdict: It gives an individualized prescription for each student based upon the students successfully accomplishing the math problem

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up