Product Index
Everything Else
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Edwin, Educator. School Type: Middle School, High School, College Prep School
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Chapter review games
Explore lesson before lecture
Homework

Strengths: GAMES! Kids love games. Mathbreakers is also a great alternative to using worksheets or textbooks (boring).

Suggestions for Improvement: Make it so advanced math classes can also play. Different game modes. Use the same math games in the game to fight off monsters or something (more of a story mode feel to the game).

Verdict: Mathbreakers offers a great alternative to doing worksheets in class or at home. It has a very Minecraft feel to it which MANY kids love.

Jill, Second Grade Team Leader. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices
Sep 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I have only had the experience of watching people play it at Ed-Surge. This platform of gaming is awesome!!!! I can just imagine how motivating it would be in a flipped classroom setting to shore up skills in math.

Strengths: It motivates students, holds their attention, and hopefully helps their learning brains thrive!

Suggestions for Improvement: It is more of a question, would it run on older devices? What is the minimum system requirements? I would want a game that would pinpoint the standards covered in a math topic, i.e. addition concepts, and have students demonstrate their understanding in multiple ways.

Verdict: for once I feel that the gaming world is successfully coupled with common core world. I think it would work great at our low income school where English is often the second language, games can break through these barriers.

Math Department Chair, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: students would use this to supplement the current curr. They would use this to gain a solid foundation in fundamentals. Talk about FUNdamentals!! Kids would LOVE this.

Strengths: This product helps stu with fundamentals in math. It would help my students to fill gaps in learning as well.

Suggestions for Improvement: - diagnostic coming in dec - app coming in dec - i wish i would have left this with a license

Verdict: This would increase student understanding of fundamentals in math k-5. These games could help students with invention in 6-8 as well. This product is a def win with students.

Steve, Director Of Ed Tech.. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Sep 14, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Building math fluency among K-6 students.

Strengths: Makes math FUN!! Leverages the skills and problem-solving abilities that kids learn playing video games.

Suggestions for Improvement: Create dashboards/reports that enable teachers/admins to drill into student data.

Verdict: I would recommend it because it make's math fun for kids. It differs from ST Math (in heavy use at our schools) due to the 3D environment and the fact that it supports a language component (have students describe what they did to complete a challenge). Teacher dashboard is simple to use.

Stephen, Teacher. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: As a high school math teacher of advanced math, I wouldn't use it it my classroom, but it would be a great program to have installed on elementary school computer labs for students to play/learn when they have lab time.

I would also recommend to any parents of K-5 kids wanting to develop number sense

Strengths: Excellent tool for building number sense. Really fun for kids learning principles of multiplication and division.

Suggestions for Improvement: Obviously, I would love to see some higher level math. That fraction chopping bugginess needs to be fixed. Perhaps the missions on each level could be better defined with a set goal in mind or series of goals

Verdict: Excellent for developing number sense for kids aged 5-11. The minecraft inspired classroom is fun. It seems more like a sandbox for kids to play in than a comprehensive teaching tool, but that could be improved.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Sep 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I currently teach second grade. The product is designed for older students who have knowledge of integers and fractions.

Strengths: The animations are great. They make it seem like you are playing a game as opposed to just learning math. There are a lot of different graphics that students would really like.

Suggestions for Improvement: First of all, I would make it so that the math skills were adaptable for the primary grades of elementary school. Include simple addition and subtraction facts without fractions and integers. The cost is to high for only a few grade levels to purchase.

Verdict: This particular product is designed for older students. I teach second grade and the mathematical concepts are above my students needs.

Edwina, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Higher Education, High ELL Population
Sep 14, 2014

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: Too commercial, trendy appearance too non-academic.

Strengths: Highly individualized, can quicly assess and assign appropriately / great scaffolding

Suggestions for Improvement: Dont give in to copying social media and non-academic videos and movies distacts from academics because it makes students unengaged in less playful types of apps students get too hyper and focsed more on visuals and sound verses metacognition with academic material

Verdict: Mimics social play. visual sesitive nature close to violence like swords, little distictin between academic and social appearance

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: Its not in my content area

Strengths: This product was very well made and it is very helpful in getting student inviolved in the class it is challenging and fun

Suggestions for Improvement: make it for high school students and keep them engaged for a long time i would recommend this tool for school that want to use games in learning

Verdict: Its very useful in the classroom it save the teacher time and you are able to create creative lessons for kids and keep them engeged

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up