Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I think this would be a great addition to the kindergarten classroom! This would provide a great running record for math skills in a fun and creative way. It is also nice the kids are working independently and at their own level! I would use this as a part of my math center rotation daily.

Strengths: Love the picture log in and the different touch based games. Great for early childhood!

Suggestions for Improvement: The cost, lessons that might reach well over kinder aged curriculum for the kids who have mastered the kinder skills, and the ability to use it on touch screen computers.

Verdict: I would recommend this because it's an engaging and fun way to assess and practice the skills needed to master kindergarten skills. I especially like thy it is individualized and seems very user friendly.

Laura, Library. School Type: Elementary School, Blended Learning
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it as a center in the class

Strengths: This product has a lot of visual appeal for little kids. It is engaging and intrinsically motivating. It probably makes kids think that math is fun and not frightening. It solves the problem of low SES kids starting off behind in math.

Suggestions for Improvement: I don't have any idea. It is a problem that this is only an iPad based program and our campus only has a few iPads and these are old. I think the teachers would like to use it as a center. It seems really easy to set up and use.

Verdict: Well, this seems like a good product for low SES kids which is who it was designed for. It seems fun and engaging.

Jack, Teacher, Cic. School Type: Elementary School
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use the product to start my PK-1 grades on a strong basis

Strengths: This solves basic math awareness and number sense problems with lower level students. Students only need the product for 20 minutes per week.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Please keep adding grade levels. I'd LOVE to see this at a higher level.
2. PLease add other platforms so that we can use it on Chromebooks/PCs
3. I can't think of anything that needs to be improved. it looks like you guys really did your homework (pun intended)

Verdict: n/a

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: the presenter recommended using it twice a week, 10 minutes per student

Strengths: Strengths are research based results and focus on number sense. Easy to use and student friendly, based on their individual levels and progress.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think the price will be the biggest challenge, and having it available online as well as on android devices would be helpful.

Verdict: Number sense is SO important and I feel that it's often lacking due to heavy focus on state standards and schedules plus behavior management challenges in Younger grades. This product looks amazing and has research based proven results.

Veronica, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would love to have access to this website. My first grade class would love to use this app and it looks like they would learn lots. The district should definitely purchase this program.

Strengths: I really like the this program tracks students progress and moves them along as needded or takes them back to something they did not mastered.

Suggestions for Improvement: The price, the accessibility for our parents, and students.

Verdict: I would recommend this math program for the lower grades. It looks fun and exiting. If the district purchased the license students can use the app at school and home.

Ana, Instructional Specialist. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use use this tool to teach math in primary grades. It's a great app for centers and homework practice.

Strengths: It solves the shortage of primary grade level apps. It is very user friendly for our little ones with picture IDs and fun graphics.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great if there was a feature for small group intervention lessons with reports.

Verdict: I recommend this product because it starts with a placement test to make sure it's meeting the child's needs. It gives feedback and is very explicit. It shows the child the skill in multiple different ways.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, College Prep School
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: As a math center

Strengths: Its the best Pre-K math option I have found so far. Its ability to serve student's specific needs is unique to this market. The reports given about where the student stands is great for parent-teacher conferences to back up and supplement class information about student success.

Suggestions for Improvement: bilingual options

one time purchase option

way to follow students across grade levels

Verdict: Its a great resource because of its tailored lessons and ability to scaffold student lessons in a fun "just right" way

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to assess my students' math skills. I would use it increase my students' math skills.

Strengths: It is great at meeting students at their level. It also helps students practice a wide variety of skills.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think it is a great product and it very comprehensive. I do not know what I would change.

Verdict: I would recommend it, because it is a great tool for teaching math and meeting students at their level. Great differentiation tool.

patricia, Bilingual Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: to keep practicing and develop math skills.

Strengths: it will make students to love math.

Suggestions for Improvement: it is a great product as it is. very interactive and intuitive.

Verdict: kids friendly. great visual interfase.

Ron, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it for their number sense as well as use it to remediate my lower quartile students.

Strengths: It is easy to sign in and out using different teachers and students. It is research based. Requires only two 10 minutes sessions a week to reap the benefits.

Suggestions for Improvement: Math shelf is only ios; for me it's ok, but many parents do not have ios at home. This would be a great feature to be added for the future.

Verdict: It has over 500 games, it is easy to set up. i like the fact that it's mastery based and picture based.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up