Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
1st Grade Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product as center in my classroom. My students love using technology in the classroom and I could incorporate these games into their center time to help them practice their math skills.

Strengths: This product is great. It gives students the opportunity to make mistakes and learn from them. At the end it also allows for teachers to help students go over the questions that they have missed the answers to. It keeps them engaged and allows for them to go back and check their answers if they get it wrong.

Suggestions for Improvement: One thing that I would change about this product to make it work better for me is to make it free. It is difficult to find programs that engage students that are free. Another way that I would make this product better is to create it to work with different devices. It is hard when some classrooms only have Ipad and others have none.

Verdict: I would recommend this product because it is an online math approach that helps students learn to love math. It also allows for students to have fun while they are learning. There is also a gradebook that will help monitor students progress.

Dennis, Teacher. School Type: High School, College Prep School
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Have students review concepts using components of the game.

Strengths: Interactive and challenges students to get to the next level and complete goals while learning the concepts presented in the lesson.

Suggestions for Improvement: -Have the "share" function for social media. Students can brag about their scores.
-Have a function where parents can see what students have learned.
-perhaps a low cost version for low-income schools.

Verdict: This game is very interactive and engaging. Students love playing games on their phones so this will really interest them!

7 Th Grade, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Fun interactive math games for students in k-10th grade that are aligned with common core standards. The teacher picks what content standard is being taught in class so students can play games that are connected to the content standard the teacher pickecd.

Strengths: I really like that the teacher can set up specific content being used in the game. This helps both students and parents if they are using the program at home.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would change anything about the product. I think it's great that a lot of geometry is added to the game because I normally don't get to the geometry lesson during the school year.

Verdict: Many parents ask what extra activities their child can do to enhance math concepts at home. I would recommend this program and set it up according to content standards being taught in class.

Norma, Literacy Coach. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to give our students choice on what they want to work on. They can select different topics that the teacher has recommended or that the Sensai has also provided.

Strengths: I like the progress chart that students can follow. The color coding also shows their level of mastery. Great feedback.

Suggestions for Improvement: I am pushing to see more and more products that allow students as many opportunities to take owenership of their learning. I want students to have voice and choice based on what they know about themselves as learners.

Verdict: I would recommend it because it looks appealling to the students. it is in game format and that alone is motivation in itself.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, College Prep School, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product as a supplement. I would use in the computer lab on a regular basis. I would also use it to engaged the students and motivational tool.

Strengths: The easy of use. The ability for students to work at their pace. That I can assign specific lessons or let the sen sai assign. That there is data to track progress. That it is adaptive for students. That it has the CCSS built in.

Suggestions for Improvement: Nothing at this time

Verdict: There are so many features that are in this product. I believe that all levels of my schools students would benefit from it. I think that Math scores would increase and students would enjoy learning math.

Joshua, Instructional Technology Specialist. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, BYOD Devices
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: This is a great platform for Game-based learning. It work great with a flipped environment, in which students come to class after having played games and then ready to discuss concepts

Strengths: 1. Smartly designed, fun games 2. Visualization of student data is great for teachers to make judgements about student progress at a glance

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Price is a little high
2. SIS integration could be better
3. Alignment with existing curriculum

Verdict: Engagement of the students would be the number one reason. Secondly, the solid, targeted math is also key, as it is not just throwing things at the wall to see what sticks.

4th Grade Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use it as an independent work time choice. Students can go on Mangahigh to work on different Math standards when they're done with their classwork.

Strengths: I like the games that this product has. Students would be very engaged with them. I think they are engaging and allow students to work on higher critical thinking skills in Math. I like that the teacher can pick the games the students can play and the quizzes as well.

Suggestions for Improvement: - I would like to see some free response questions in Math
- I would like a section to add immediate teacher feedback that students can see
- I would like to be able to choose quiz questions to match our school curriculum pacing plan

Verdict: I would recommend it because my students would love the product. The games are engaging and they can play against each other.

Lab Teacher, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Sep 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use this product to help teach students math concepts in a fun and engaging way through the online games.

Strengths: Some strengths of this product is that it has a large selection of games.

Suggestions for Improvement: Some improvements that I would suggest to improve the game is having it more adventure based, so students can familiarize themselves with a particular character, goals, and mission. It would help them have more buy into the game. Also, if students could challenge each other that would be great for classroom competitiveness.

Verdict: I would recommend the program, because it offers tons of options when it comes to game selection. With that being said, that may hinder the tool because it may be too many options to assign and handle in a classroom setting.

Sara, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use this as an after-lesson activity for fast finishers. It turns assessment into a game and it is adaptive. It also has quizzes along with the games.

Strengths: This product turns assessment into a game and allows students to compete against each other and against classes across the world. It is adaptive and teachers can assign particular games based on skills.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think the interface feels a little outdated. I also think it would be better if there were more options for lessons before students play the games (or when they "fail" a level).

Verdict: I think students would have a lot of fun using this tool, but I wouldn't pay the price that they are asking because it doesn't seem to be useful as a teaching tool, just an assessment tool.

Admin, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, Blended Learning
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: during intervention and after shool.

Strengths: I like the individual students have targeted data, but it seems like it was adapted to fit the common core curriculum and not built specifically for them,

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. relook at standards,
2. easier to navigate.
3. did it have a lesson movie for instruction?

Verdict: I think there is a better programaligned to common core,

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up