Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Sheryl, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this as a way to promote a blended learning environment or to move towards a flipped classroom. I like that it can be used as a way to guide students to use different tools for their learning, but to also take more ownership in guiding their learning. I like that it can organize all the different things I need to access throughout a lesson in one place.

Strengths: I like that you can layer different tools onto one task. For example, if I want students to watch a YouTube video, I can write/annotate on it as a note for students to pay attention to. I also like that you're able to lock a student's screen if you need them to pay attention. I also love the feature of being able to monitor student activity.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. While I like that I can put everything (all tasks) onto one canvas (note), I would create a way to be able to place labels onto the canvas. For example, if I create 10 different tasks in one note, then I want to be able to put all the mini tasks into one area of the canvas (note) & put a label next to a group of notes (I.e. Presentation, student interactives, student notes)

Verdict: I would recommend it because it makes curriculum planning and writing easier for teachers. I LOVE that it also gives teachers the ability to "push" content towards students so it shows up on their screens. Because my 6th graders have a hard time understanding how to jump between apps and programs, this allows me to easily push that content towards them without wasting instructional time.

Samuel, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use LoiLoNote to share materials with students in real time such as questions, pictures, videos, presentations, etc. It is also wonderful that students can share those things with me as well.

Strengths: LoiLoNote's sharing abilities is great. All the information is kept on the cloud, so there's no reason to delete anything until the end of the school year. I love the ability to lock students' screens. I also like the ability to create and share presentations, which everyone can view at the same time.

Suggestions for Improvement: There is no Android app. Also, right now, Word Documents and PowerPoints cannot be shared, so all materials must be created within LoiLoNote.

Verdict: No more problems with students saying "I can't see all the way in the back of the room." with LoiLoNote, everyone can see the same thing right in front of them. It is easy to keep kids on task because I can expect students to send me a response which I can get immediately, and I can lock their screens when I want them to focus on what I am saying or doing.

Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this tool to teach Mandarin Chinese. I can use for presentation, add text and make note. I can have students complete their assignment on their device and share the best one with everyone. I can project students work on the projector as a good examples of what to do and not to do.

Strengths: This product is exactly what I want to teach Chinese. I solve the problem of using traditional little white board. Not only it would be easier to check, share and correct students' work, there will not be any losing eraser, lack of ink markers anymore.

Suggestions for Improvement: I can't think of anything at this moment

Verdict: I would recommended this tool, because it would save a lot of time to walk around checking students work. It would also be much easier to share students work with this tool.

Leticia, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: As a parent I was looking for a graphic organizer that would help my child with various learning disabilities. I found Loilo Note to be easy for him to use. Most importantly it helped him show what he new without the struggles of writing. It allowed him to import images, record .

Strengths: It's great for those students who have learning disabilities. It's another tool that helps us teachers bridge them from disconnect to connected learners.

Suggestions for Improvement: The note sometimes will transfer over too small. I would love the note to transfer over a little larger.

Verdict: We want students to share what they know. Loilo Note is that platform, especially for our Ell population. They have an opportunity to collaborate with others if they are still not able to speak English. They can create and others can record for them.

David, Physical Edcucator. School Type: High School, Low Income Population, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I create a daily agenda using Blogspot. I use Calendar to plan out important dates for myself and students. Classroom for handing out and collecting work. I use a Google Chromebook as my teacher device.

Strengths: It keeps track of what students are doing (lock screen, student list). The tunneling of information back and forth between teacher-student and student-student is and interesting feature.

Suggestions for Improvement: Being able to visually see what students are doing on their devices. Lower cost More graphics

Verdict: It takes multiple features from various other apps and puts them together in one place. No more switching between different applications .

Terry, Teacher. School Type: Middle School
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it as an intro to PowerPoint. Or, if my school gets the 1-1i-pads it would be great for collaboration between groups of students. One project could be a virtual vacation to another country, using an itenarary from a travel company.

Strengths: Easy to learn. Creating a product that the students can share. Use of multiple media forms.

Suggestions for Improvement: More detailed drawing and painting tools. More control of flow. A more advanced version for older students.

Verdict: Student collaboration is possible via the web / cloud. Requires research and organization depending on the assignment.

Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use LolioNote School with my students when I ask them to collaborate on a Project/Presentation for my class. I like how LolioNote School is similar to Popplet and allows my students to create a presentation together with their peers.

Strengths: This does a great job asking students to collaborate on a Project/Presentation for my class. I like how LolioNote School is similar to Popplet and allows my students to create a presentation together with their peers. This solves the problem of students not being able to see each other on the weekends to collaborate and allows them to access the project/presentation at the same time online and combine their work.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would change the visual appeal of the product. I would also change how the information is presented. I would change how teachers see the work, it seems overwhelming once students share their work back with the teacher, you see so many "assignments" it looks overwhelming on the teacher hub under that particular assignment.

Verdict: I would recommend this as it enhances collaboration in the classroom in a different way. This product allows for students to present their work and also "write" from a tablet with their cursor and "draw" on the presentation.

Coach, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: So many other presentation apps and websites are easier to use and allow for more student creativity, plus they are free

Strengths: The finished product looks nice and seems easy for students to create

Suggestions for Improvement: The cost of the more flexible versions and limitations of basic versions should be re-thought. Students should have more options in the older grades so they can be true creators.

Verdict: It costs money and seems difficult to set up, especially when compared to the free presentation options students already have access to

Learning Director, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Mainly student presentations especially w my high needs students n students with dissabilityies.

Strengths: The simple format to manipulate the content makes it accessible for both, teachers n students. The integration of different ways for students to express their learning makes it very appropriate for students with learning disabilities that may struggle with writing. For English learners the microphone supports language production very well.

Suggestions for Improvement: Not sure, new product for me, maybe that its accessible on other platforms

Verdict: Allows to manipulate content using productive and receptive skills.

Kerrin, Wasc Coordinator. School Type: High School, Low Income Population
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: To help with our 1:1 program.

Strengths: The cost for each student account is affordable student accounts. One of the benefits is you have instant feedback too see if they are really completing the annotation assignments.

Suggestions for Improvement: Improve on the social studies books and documents. I use a lot of annotation on these types of documents and it helps to build a cross curriculum programs at a school.

Verdict: Will be an easier tool to get books on for all students.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up