Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Rebecca, French Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, BYOD Devices
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I love this as an in-school program
I would love to be able to purchase many products to use regularly in the school, but not sure how feasible that is, cost wise!

Strengths: LOVE that the kids can do this BY THEMSELVES! Even little kindergarten students, as they primary version is done by pictures.
This looks VERY ENGAGING and I can see ALL students wanting to be involved in this learning
I love how they have directly linked it to the Ontario Curriculum so I don't have to!

Suggestions for Improvement: - Cost, it is not cost effective to purchase numerous robots for a school, however they have overcome this obstacle by offering workshops and summer camps
- Location, I would love to see satellite locations closer to home for day camps/summer camps (Waterloo Region)

Verdict: Collaboration of students
Ability to learn coding/technology/robotics to spur interest in subjects/careers that may never have been considered
Allows students to think outside the box and show their skills in different ways

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, BYOD Devices
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: it would be great to have them in to do some robotics workshops with the kids. We don't own enough kits to have all the students who are interested be a part of our robotics club, and Logics Academy would be a great opportunity to expose a greater number of students to robotics and programming even if it is just for the day.

Strengths: It offers an opportunity to get students being hands on with the hardware and programming.

Suggestions for Improvement: If there were a way to have the workshop come in, then keep the kits for an additional amount of time, like a rental, it would be a nice way to see if there is enough interest to purchase the kids for the school.

Verdict: As I mentioned, it would be a great way to bring in enough kits to get a larger number of kids involved with robotics and programming.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to supplement a science unit, especially to engage boys with the specific science strand for structures; how mechanisms work.

Strengths: The presenter comes in with all the necessary equipment, worksheets and each program has curriculum e periods already outlined for you.

Suggestions for Improvement: The grade eight program on "building robotic arm" was introduces. It sounded like an individual project. I am sure it includes team work and team building as well. Promote that aspect to your program, for some students that may be just as important as the learning curriculum part.

Verdict: Students get to complete a hands on activity with a competitive aspect. The programs sound engaging and educational. The cost of the program to fair in comparison to other programs.

Ashley, Special Education Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use in clubs as it is amazing the robotics and aerospace programs and interactive education space offered. I would have levelled groups and have varing levels of groups

Strengths: Great way to work with students on may different levels

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) More accomodiations and modifications for special education students
2) have diffefrent creative versions
3) make offered in all areas or programs

Verdict: I love this and have done it in the past but the technology and company we used was not as advanced as Logics. I think many students and educators can help students in various ways as it helps with executive functioning

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, BYOD Devices
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product as a Centre in my Kindergarten class. Not sure of all the possible capabilities though

Strengths: I think the product gives many students an entry point and is really engaging.

Suggestions for Improvement: I'm not sure of the cost but just wodering if the cost would be a barrier for some schools and some students. Wondering how to teach very young children how to self regulate and how to treat the technology.

Verdict: I think the problem offers real work problem solving and allows students a great hands on differentiated tool

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: as a half day workshop with my students

Strengths: i like that this workshop comes with everything that you need in order to present this topic to your students.

Suggestions for Improvement: i would try to work with the school board to book numerous workshops to be able to offer a mass discount to make it for affordable for lower income schools.

Verdict: this is a great hands on learning experience for my class. it seems cost effective. all students would be engaged.

Kindergarten Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I purchased the Bumblebee for my son as a birthday gift. I thought it was cool and a great engaging way to teach my son about electricity and also a way to get him away from his video games!
I would book a workshop with Logistics. I think it is great that they come to class and bring all the materials as I work in a school with very limited resources.

Strengths: I think the fact that they provided all the materials for the workshop is great. I also think that the robots would excite the kids. Bringing excitement and fun to the classroom is the best way to teach! I actually purchased the Bumblebee so that my grade 5 son could build it and learn about electricity.

Suggestions for Improvement: The workshop cost is a little expensive for the community I teach. I would be great if they could subsidize such communities. The cost varies depending on class size.
The kits to purchase are affordable. I need more time to look at the website to review and I look forward to building the Bumblebee with my son.

Verdict: I would recommend these workshops because they bring all the materials and my school is limited in technology and also they provide an instructor to help lead the workshops. It also saves the cost of busing kids on a field trip.

Brasilia, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it as a centre for 4-5 students. They could explore the basic functions on the tablet app and how to navigate the robot. In the centre it would be easy for them to collaborate with each other and compare their ideas of how to use the robot.

Strengths: It shows students a simplified way to code or manipulate the robot through technology. They can see that they have the power to manage and control the robot's functions my a push of a button. Computational skills are build upon and mastered at a young age.

Suggestions for Improvement: If the app was offered in French for French Immersion classrooms. If teachers could have a short in-service on how to use the product in their classroom to better help students.

Verdict: Technology is a very important component of the science curriculum in Ontario. The issue is that education is often slow to catch up to the 21st century and all it has to offer at its fast rate. Having this type of technology would help incorporate the curriculum and authentic tasks to the students.

Kristen, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Blended Learning
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to engage students in an extra curriculum activity. I would use it in leveled groups, with a mixture of levels that scaffold on each other.

Strengths: does an excellent job of incorporating technology into regular activities.
product is easy to use and easy to explain to students. It would be great to use as an introductory to some topics in science.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) more accessible to special needs students
2) should create different versions for multiple levels to allow for scaffolding knowledge
3) integrate the technology into real world problems...i.e. how could you use or build something to solve problem a.

Verdict: Build student interest in science and technology

Alison, Digital Literacy Support Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I love this as an introduction to programming and code for students. Coding becomes accessible and intuitive.

Strengths: - product is appealing to kids
- reduces intimidation when learning about coding
- promotes critical thinking and problem solving
- potential for cross-curricular integration

Suggestions for Improvement: not sure if applicable, but I would like the workshops to be available in French as well.
if ipad programming app is not available in French or other languages, that would be cool too. Extends appeal to French Immersion schools in SW Ontario, of which there are many.

Verdict: It is child-friendly.
The company offers kits and lessons, both inschool and for community programs.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up