Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
1st Grade Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I can use this product during my Mathematics lesson with as a whole-class instruction, small groups and with my struggling students. Using this fantastic tool with struggling students will truly help them understand difficult math concepts especially at the elementary level. There are students who are behind grade level and they need hands-on activities to help them.

Strengths: This product has so many hands-on, tactile activities that help students with a variety of learning styles learn difficult math concepts. I love the fact that the curriculum is common core aligned and that kids will be very engaged in the activities.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. I would love it to be Free because all classes should have it regardless of budget. Often, the most needy students are in classes that do not have the budget to support their learning with such tools.

2. I would like it to use more verbal representations to also integrate it with Language Arts.

3. I would like to see more features added in the future

Verdict: This tool will help me as a teacher review math concepts with my students such as number sense and other common core aligned areas. This can also be used as a small-group activity and I will be able to help my struggling students as well.

Educator, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This would be a great supplemental tool to use with my students with disabilities!

Strengths: This tool is highly geared toward students with disabilities. It includes a wide range of activities. It can bee student specific for Progress Monitoring. It well serve as a good additional informal assessment.

Suggestions for Improvement: All of the games and activities look like they have the same visual layout/format. I would maybe include a more diverse format. Also some math themes are more weighted than others on this site. It seems very lower elementary friendly. Perhaps including icons& visuals more interesting for upper elementary may be beneficial.

Verdict: The current curriculum we use does not have a good variety of activities to support specific IEP goals. These interactive games and activities are very kids friendly!

Product Manager, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Higher Education, Other
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I'd use this to get my son hooked on math/ logical reasoning practice.

Strengths: As I said, TODO has found the secret sauce of blending beautiful, engaging gameplay with meaningful mathematics assessment. Using this application was a Eureka moment for me. This is the stealth assessment game to beat, IMHO.

Suggestions for Improvement: I'd expand the scope to include higher-level math concepts, and I'd work to iteratively improve reporting. Finally, if there were a way for teachers to create their own mix of tasks in a new "level", I'd probably die of happiness.

Verdict: Stealth assessment is a hard egg to crack, but TODO has done it. Their UX is beautiful, and the integration of their task models is seamless.

Technology Integration Specialist, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to reinforce math skills for the primary grades. It would be a great activity during universal access/station/center time.

Strengths: This product provides students with a hands-on opportunity to put their learning into action. It aligns with Common Core standards and integrates a fun animal/nature/monster theme that students will love. It gives students the options to progress through the levels in mission mode or select specific 'free choice' activities. This solves the problem of differentiating instructions for different learning levels and styles.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) Better teacher dashboard accessible through the iPad. The dashboard seems well-developed through the web, but it would be a nice additional convenience to be able to access the full functionality of the dashboard through the iOS app.
2) 'Todo.' How do you pronounce this? What does it mean? The name is a little confusing. I thought it was 'todo,' Spanish for 'all,' then I thought it was 'to do' as in 'I like to do math.' But the way the developers spoke of it sounded like a combination of the two pronunciations.
3) Teacher password to enter into teacher mode. Having to long-press a number to enter into teacher mode is cumbersome. It's time-consuming that the number also changes every time -- those few extra seconds that it takes to read and process the new code are precious in a real-time classroom. This also doesn't keep students out of teacher mode; students will figure out how to read this and follow the directions to access teacher mode. I'd rather have a 4-digit pin.

Verdict: This app was clearly developed with educators' input. The tasks and and lessons are aligned to standards and appropriately suited for students' fine motor skills. There are built-in accommodations (e.g. left-handed, dyslexic) to cater to students' learning circumstances. There is also a number tracing feature which requires students to use the correct strokes to form numbers. Students can respond to questions in a variety of ways (touch-feedback, 'write' the number with your finger, touch numbers on a screen).

1st Grade Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product as an early finisher program for my students. This product offers a variety of games that can reach the level and ability of a wide range of learners. Students that have extra time or have completed an assignment early can use this product to help their math skills.

Strengths: I think that this product does a really good job at keeping students engaged and allowing them to have fun while they are learning. It also offers text-to-speech support. If a student is struggling it will help them by explaining what they can do.

Suggestions for Improvement: One thing that I would change could be to have this program be free. It offers a free trial but if I were to introduce it to my students and they love it, when the trial is up they would constantly ask to use the program. It is hard for teachers to find programs that are free and engaging for their students. Another thing that would make this product better would be to have it as an app. Students love to use Ipads and by making this product an app it would be easier to access for students.

Verdict: I would recommend this product because it allows for students to play games and keep them engaged in math instruction. The students think that they are playing games but they are really learning. It makes it very fun for them to learn.

Emily, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I like the program, but it is only available on iPad and my district uses Chromebooks.

Strengths: I like the games and missions and problem of the day. I like how they have to pass several lessons to get a monster (?).

I like that it has the kids count and write the number they counted. It looked very kinder friendly.

I like that it seems to be a reasonable price for parents. I wish they could give a discount for a class subscription or to a teacher with very little funds.

Suggestions for Improvement: 3rd, 4th and 5th grades in our district have Chromebooks. We have Chromebooks because the CAASP is completed on the computer and they cannot use an iPad for the test. I would strongly suggest that you work on that for the future if you are interested in going above grade 2.

If the teacher pays for a subscription, the kids should have access to it at home too. I think the accounts should be linked so the teacher can view the progress made at home. This will also prevent the kids from doubling up on the same lessons. This way they can use it at school and home.

Verdict: I just recommended it to another teacher that I am here with. She has a couple iPad's in her room and this program would be perfect or kinder.

Brianna, Classroom Support. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population, College Prep School
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: As an application for helping students build upon their foundational skills and as a time filler during transitions, possibly as an independent activity during group times.

Strengths: I really appreciate the data returned can be compared between in class work and at home work. It is one of the only products I have seen today that has an option for parents to buy the platform as well.

Suggestions for Improvement: First, I would like to see the sight be slightly more secure with a simple picture password so as to limit the possibility of data corruption, by a student logging into someone else's profile. Second, I would like to see the program be one where the data is then transferable from one school year to the next by student log in information only.

Verdict: This program is fabulous for foundational math building skills, additionally, it is really tuned into the needs of special education with functions for left handed and dyslexia.

Douglas, Computer Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Blended Learning
Jun 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: As an activity within a center within the classroom to have elementary school students practice thier math facts

Strengths: This product is visually impressive and gives quick access to learning that students will want to engage in and use. It offers multiple modes of representation to help solidify concepts.

Suggestions for Improvement: Enhance the level of analytics that the program is supporting to help teachers further monitor student progress. Limit the number of failed attempts and show proper steps to solve when a student fails a question. Show examples of new games or question types so students will not have to guess. Number tracing needs to be more sensitive to discourage random swiping.

Verdict: This product presents a visually engaging environment that students will quickly adapt to. Math facts are visually supported with animations and familiar manipulatives.

Muratorali, Administrator. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Blended Learning
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Would use in a classroom setting and also as a feed back for the teachers.

Strengths: This product will be helpful for the students. The idea of math be real fun and not laborious is highlighted here , this should be an incentive for girl students to think math in terms of being fun and also pretty cool.

Suggestions for Improvement: The change i would like to make , will be that it is available on Android devices as they are more cheaper than IOS devices a plus we could get better pricing of Android devices.

Verdict: At present we do not have a tool like this for the schools, hence forward it will be useful. The ease of usage and also the fundamental are very sound. It is a product that will improve math skills for the students at all levels

Shel, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this for math remediation and enrichment beyond the regular curriculum, free time/choice time

Strengths: I loved the low reading level needed due to high ell population, game/quest aspect seems engaging for younger ages

Suggestions for Improvement: Presenter was not very clear on users-price-devices-licenses which is very important to public schools. We share a six iPad roving lab so these details make or break if I would put money towards it

Verdict: It is good for extra practice, it is very accessible for non-English speakers and remedial students

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up