Product Index
Everything Else
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Tech Integration Specialist, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: There are multiple ways to use it: music, counseling, special ed, language arts to tell a story, social studies/history to recreate an event, etc.

Strengths: The product is visually appealing and you want to immediately play with it. It would help with students work on their social and emotional development. Also, the product is versatile.

Suggestions for Improvement: First, I assume there is an instruction manual that comes with the product and online? Second, are there short tutorial clips? Lastly, is there a discount for a bulk order?

Verdict: I would definitely recommend this product because there are so many applications for it. I can see how many teachers would find it appealing especially since the little robot can be customized in different ways.

Tsa, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to start having students understand if and then concepts. I would also talk about basic electronics.

Strengths: It is small for little hands but not too childish so it will not turn off older students. It hopefully will solve a affordable way to introduce CS in a progression from block based to writing out code.

Suggestions for Improvement: I like the way it looks but I would like for it to look more expensive than it really is. I know that might bring the price up. I hope they will come up with different looking robots and expand the line.

Verdict: I like that it is not expensive and it is broad enough for student to go as far as they want. I like that you can use them on Chrome books.

Tech Coordinator/Robot Club, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this as part of the computer science class as apart of the robotics / programming into to the course

Strengths: 3D printing is not accessible to a lot is schools and this is would help the student and teacher.

Students being able to create objects through programming.

Suggestions for Improvement: The turn around time for printing seems a little long, students may loose interest due to wait time.

Having enough projects to have all the students be engaged

Verdict: It would make teaching CS 3D printing accessible to more students and teachers.

venkat raman, Speech Therapist. School Type: High School, Higher Education
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: To show them stories to work on story retelling, answering questions.

Strengths: It is very good to create interactive stories.

Suggestions for Improvement: How it is different than the farbie bird toys in market other than being cheap. It should allow speech output, real speech. Customization of the robots in terms of size, height etc should be easy.

Verdict: Its a great tool. It works very well as it provides visual feedback and interactive. It is very good as we can manipulate and make more variations.

Teacher, School Type: High School
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Since I teach special education, behavior management is a core need. I can totally see us using this in the classroom (circle time etc) or for general behavior management. Students can use it to express and build upon their communication skills, so students and myself can work on learning, while overcoming behavioral challenges.

Strengths: I can see my students benefit from this, using it a s agood and handy communication tool.

Suggestions for Improvement: Make buttons more intuitive and user friendly for individuals with motor issues.

Verdict: Behavior management.
Attracts students.
Builds on expressive communication.
Simple and intuitive.

Counselor, School Type: Middle School
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: introduction to coding and engineering. tangible representation of real-world applications that kids can relate to almost immediately.

Strengths: introduces kids to very basic coding so they can easily understand real-world applicability with toys and possessions they currently enjoy.

Suggestions for Improvement: more tutorial on the actual coding side of things. could provide more explanation of coding structure. offline availability

Verdict: provides hands-on application of coding and programming for real-world applications. creating and customizing personalized robots.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Students would be able to use their little robot friend to go ahead and learn more about coding and programming.

Strengths: The robots can be programmed in many different ways. They can be customized as well. They offer a low cost entry point into programming and coding.

Suggestions for Improvement: One: I would look to offer other types of robots
Two: I would increase the volume on the speaker

Verdict: Little robot friends can be used in multiple ways with students. They are affordable.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use it to teach programming and coding in my computer elective class. It would be good to use with my 6th graders, but the 7th and 8th graders may not take the product seriously.

Strengths: It seems like it would be very easy to use, if nothing else. It is also interactive and hands-on practice with immediate results that students can see.

Suggestions for Improvement: I don't really like how the robots look. I understand that it's the base of the robot, but the shapes they come in are also not the greatest.

Verdict: I would recommend it because it's a easy and simple way to be introduced to programming and coding. However, older grades may see it as being too juvenile and may not want to do it. Younger grades, such as 6th grade, may like it and enjoy the arts and crafts activity of customizing it with costumes.

Teacher On Special Assignment, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: You can code little robots and it promotes students learning about different emotions

Strengths: This looks like a great product to use, and something that is engaging for students. It makes it interactive and students are excited for students to use

Suggestions for Improvement: None

Verdict: They are very easy to use with many different grade levels. They can use block coding or html coding and it promotes learning about different emotions

David, Learning Through Interest Coordinator. School Type: High School, Project Based School, 1:1 Devices, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: This would be a good 1st step for some of our younger high school students to begin to engage with hardware and programming.

Strengths: Great design to encourage learning of soldering. Also great for the basic level coding chrome software as well as the ability to use Arduino SDK to upload more creative workflows.

Suggestions for Improvement: My only issue is that they are pretty expensive per unit.

Verdict: Our school is project based and has a larger maker space. This might be a good support for kids who are interested in technology but are noobs so need a good first step.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up