Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Sarah, English Teacher. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product as part of each unit we teach in English. This product would allow us to seamlessly integrate sequential instruction and practice in the kind of interpersonal skills that are listed in our ELA TEKS, but which can be difficult to include as "stand-alone" assessments.

Strengths: The interactivity is really great! I liked that students could manipulate answer choices by clicking and dragging, and that wrong answers were explained straihtforwardly. Also great: the fact that the "lecture" sections were brief; knowing teenage attention spans, these were just long enough to explain the concept in an entertaining way, but not so long that students would zone out.
I also really enjoyed the pictures and allusions to pop culture! They helped keep the mood fairly lighthearted, which went a long way toward making learning a fairly abstract concept more fun.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be really helpful if there were a student side, so that students could keep track of their successes and reflect on what they struggled with.

Verdict: Our school doesn't have any formal curricula in place for teaching 21st-century skills. I think this product would allow teachers in pretty much any subject area to include those skills in their lessons in a stress-free way.

Steven, Technology Applications Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would totally use this with my science and math teachers. Great program to teach inquiry based learning. Would highly recommend it from the demo that I attended!

Strengths: Visually it looks amazing. Keep adding on, it looks really good and very engaging!

Suggestions for Improvement: To much text on one screen. Several of my ELL students would get frustrated with this. You need to reduce the amount that they are reading. Maybe more audible instructions.

Verdict: I like it, however I do see it being alot of reading for our students. So I would recommend it to a point. Their is only so much you can do when you include that much text on a screen.

Kitty, Educator. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: It sounds good, but as I listened to the person explain it, it seemed overwhelming and complicated.

Strengths: I love that the program is focusing on the important skills of project based learning, but the program is not available for the grade level I teach.

Suggestions for Improvement: I'll have to wait to see once they release the elementary version. It's difficult for me to see the usability of this program right now for my students and classroom. Once this program releases the elementary version, please feel free to send it to me.

Verdict: I'm not sure the average teacher could embrace this.

Rebecca, English Iv Teacher. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, College Prep School
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this for research projects in English IV class. I think it would also be good for social studies and science.

Strengths: It tracks data and explains sub skill sets on a continuum!

Suggestions for Improvement: If it were more user friendly. It seems it may take a bit of time to get familiar with it.

Verdict: It is interactive, it is college prep, and it has some great lessons on deconstructing arguments, and identifying fallacies, bias and credibility. This is something students desperately need in the technology age.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: i would use it to create cultural activities in or outside the classroom

Strengths: it would be great for studentd to become actively engaged into the creation aof a video game instead of just being passive participants.

Suggestions for Improvement: making sure it's affordable. also keeping it appropriate for each age level. making it very user friendly

Verdict: i think students nowaday really connect with activities envolving video games. They spend a lot of time on it and are very knowledgeable about it

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it in whole group and small group.

Strengths: The skills it teaches are very important for all students. They transfer into all subject areas and will students be more successful.

Suggestions for Improvement: Seem like the production quality of the videos is low.
It could be more visually appealing.
Needs more wow factor.

Verdict: I think the cognitive development that it teaches is needed for all classes. The skills learned easily transfer to all curriculum and courses.

Teacher/ Cic, School Type: High School, High ELL Population
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I think this would be a neat tool to use at the beginning of the school year to help my students better understand these 21st Century skills. I am transitioning to PBL in my classroom and these are important skills for my students.

Strengths: Great design and examples are fantastic. I think students would be very engaged when using this and they would also be receiving some valuable information.

Suggestions for Improvement: I just really don't understand how I could use this in the long run of the year.

Verdict: I think it is an awesome product but I don't see many teachers or myself being able to use this tool frequently.

French Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, 1:1 Devices, BYOD Devices
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: Interactive modules are interesting, teaching pacing and time management for students.

Strengths: Technology literacy readiness

Suggestions for Improvement: Have middle and elementary school programs developed. More PBL banks especially with other subjects.

Verdict: Not really enhancing the student experience, there are other products out there that are already developed. More oriented towards use of tech instead of content progression.

Mari, Manor High School. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: In order to use it, I would need to have at the minimum of an hour to do a pre-assessment. Unfortunately our classes are only 50 minutes and we don't have enough time for students to complete the assessment. Also, I teach CTE so although the information is useful for students to learn, most of the information is not related to my TEKS.

Strengths: The information that is taught is awesome. I love the idea of teaching 21st century skills to students. It is something that students definitely need. It was very entertaining and appealing. Graphics were really cool.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Make the pre-assessment able to be start and stop and not just in one sitting.
2. Align with TEKS
3. Shorter sessions

Verdict: The set up time is not feasible for our district. There is a time constraint and it would require we go into testing mode in order to do a pre-assessment.

Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, College Prep School
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would diffintely use this product for my regular and especially GT students to get their thinking skills going. Project based learning is really exceptional for GT students

Strengths: Project based learning is exceptional for students, but it is not suitable for Spec Ed kids...especially your lower level children.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Include something for lower level children

Verdict: Was told that this product is recommended for Spec Edu students.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up