Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Melissa, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would like to use this to create and plan lessons, and have them the following year to refer back to and use again. It would be nice to have a pinterest-like platform for lesson plans that are open source.

Strengths: I really appreciate the way that teachers can create boards called "collections" in order to group different activities and resources together for the same lesson. It is wonderful that you can search by so many different categories of high quality resources in categories like: subject, standard(s), resource type, instructional strategies, and topics. That makes it easier to be very specific and find exactly what you desire to include in your lesson. I also appreciate the fact that you can add links, images, websites, and documents of your own, and even like other people's collections.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think that picture tiles as the cover of the collections, including in the curriculum manager. I would, in general, like a more visually appealing site.

They should allow member ratings, rather than just ratings by their own staff members.

I would like to be able to quickly and easily collaborate with my colleagues.

Verdict: I think this tool would be useful to help teachers find and retain information and resources that they use for lessons and units. It is a place to keep all of your different links, videos, documents, and other resources all in one digital location. That is a very appealing concept.

Rsp, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to supplement the lessons I am planning for my students.

Strengths: I am frequently searching the web for materials to supplement the materials I am providing my students. This product would save me a tremendous amount of time and the cost is very appealing.

Suggestions for Improvement: At this point I can not suggest improvements. Perhaps once I have used it for a longer period of time I will be able to make those suggestions. Thank you.

Verdict: I would recommend the product because the resources have been vetted by educators. It creates a list of sources that may or may not be used as a supplement for a particular lesson. It is easy to use and the interface is very attractive.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: As a project based learning school, there are several components to creating units/projects. I will use this product to look for standard aligned lessons and activities for projects. Also transitional kindergarten is pretty new like the idea of having both kindergarten and preK lesson available to me to find that happy middle ground to find appropriate lessons.

Strengths: I appreciate that the work has be done for me by teachers. I spent many hours looking for good resources. This product saves me that time by only finding resources teachers deemed valuable making my job easier by picking which I want to use. I appreciate that I can be specific about what I am looking for by grade, topic or standards. Another great feature is that not only will I be able to compile lessons already available but I can upload my own and add any that I find online as well, All in ONE place! how great is that.

Suggestions for Improvement: I am not sure how many resources would be available ready to use for a dual immersion classroom. It would be even more time saving if I did not have to translate material. Pictures would also help the visual appeal to site (pinterest style).

Verdict: The product seems great in theory, however I would like to have more hands on experience for it to see if it would be valuable for our site. Our school is different in that we are dual immersion and a PBL school.

Christiane, Curriculum And Technology Integrator. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Blended Learning
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use this product to find lesson plans and units to enhance my teaching. It is comprehensive and allows me to collect my favorite topics and lessons into packages that I can share with others.

Strengths: Once again, it gives me detailed lesson plans that I can add to my core lessons and use them anytime.

Suggestions for Improvement: I can't think of anything to change about this product right now.

Verdict: I recommend it not only because it is useful, but also because it is a very low cost tool for teachers at all grade levels.

Resource Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, College Prep School
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I teach K- 8 Special Needs, so I have very little time between student groups and content. I like that Lesson Planet houses a wide range of lessons, worksheets, Ap reviews and there is a way to file all of the resources. I can see myself planning weekly instead of daily.

Strengths: This product allows me to read Ap reviews before I spend money downloading an Ap for student use. There is a wide variety of grade level content available, which is what I need for my Resource program, and classroom teachers need to differentiate within their classrooms.

Suggestions for Improvement: I can't think of anything. The reps asked me the same question. I'd have to buy it and use it for a while.

Verdict: Teachers have a wide variety of resources to choose from, so it would really help with gathering (and organizing) resources for differentiation in instruction.

Teacher, School Type: High School, Low Income Population, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to get ideas on lesson planning. There seems to be a lot of resources for teachers.

Strengths: The website looks very friendly and easy to navigate. There also seems to be a lot of useful information in there for teachers to aid them in lesson planning.

Suggestions for Improvement: As of now, I don't see any issues. It looks very useful for me.

Verdict: I would recommend it because of it's usefulness for lesson planning and to help engage students. It's also not very expensive and they have lots of educators signed up already.

Tech Coordinator, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would like to share this product with teachers as a tool for them to use it their lesson activities and make them easy for them.

Strengths: The tool offers different levels and help teachers create interactive lesson plans which is indeed catering to their needs.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would recommend it to my staff and then wait for real feedback to make the changes.

Verdict: The convenient tools are what teachers are looking for to make learning meaningful and easy so this will help them for sure.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: i am currently creating NGSS science units and can see this as a great tool for curating resources for each lesson

Strengths: curate filesof on line resources
can keep files private or make them public
can find resources for any grade level and subject area

Suggestions for Improvement: make file page less wordy

Verdict: it is free for educators

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage:

Learning centers

Strengths: It is aligned to the common core standards

Suggestions for Improvement: None

Verdict: User friendly
lesson plans developed by teachers

Computer Lab Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to look for reviews of products. It is a great resource for teachers.

Strengths: This product is visually appealing and provides valuable information. It saves teachers time.

Suggestions for Improvement: Haven't used enough to suggest improvements.

Verdict: I would recommend this because it is easy to use, visually appealing, and provides valuable information for teachers.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up