Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Principal, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I'd use it as part of the lesson planning process. It can also be used directly to teach the students.

Strengths: can be used for flipped learning.

teachers can modify the slides.

free for teachers and students.

when district purchases, can be customized for district initiatives.

Aligns with Common Core

Suggestions for Improvement: needs PARCC information

Verdict: Has great ideas for lessons that directly align to the Common Core.

Emeralde, Visual Arts Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would love to use it during reading intervention or in our after school program. I like how there are step to step guides and videos. In teaching, differentiation is important and this site really hits the nail on the head. There are common core cues and questioning to bring about rigorous conversations as well as excitement to our students' learning.

Strengths: Differentiation. This site looks at the student as a whole....it considers every learner. There is a lot of insight put into this website. Especially since all of the teachers are hand picked each year and put through a rigorous summer of planning to bring the very best to our children.

Suggestions for Improvement: Add more subjects besides just math and reading. What about Science, art, technology, engineering? STEAM based perhaps? But at the same time...sometimes websites can get a bit overwhelming with information, so maybe. Just sticking to two subjects works in their favor...especially since it is so time consuming for teachers to write and create all of the videos.

Smart board/promethean board compatible?

Verdict: Scaffolding. This site does a great job of taking the students through a lesson. There are even videos that reiterate students lingering questions. In essence this site looks at the whole child, and does not just cater to one aspect.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use it to look for lesson resources for a specific topic that i need to differentiate.

Strengths: It is based on common core standards, which is very important. It has vidoes for each lesson which can be used for teaching anew concept. It also has teacher notes which can be a reference for lesson planning. And finally it has worksheets or student activities. The biggest challenge for teachers is to look for strategies to deliver a lesson to students with different ways of learning and performance level. Other students may get the lessons quicker than the rest of the class. With learzillion, there are different ways to show the lesson because they have differentiation.

Suggestions for Improvement: For each lesson, have a compilation of different strategies or videos collected so teachers can choose which one will fit their group of students. They can also add more student activity sheets for students to do so teachers can check understnading if the lesson.

Verdict: I would recommend it to teachers because it has a lot in it. It is based on common core standards, which is very important. It has vidoes for each lesson which can be used for teaching anew concept. It also has teacher notes which can be a reference for lesson planning. And finally it has worksheets or student activities.

Math Teacher, School Type: Middle School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use the lesson videos. They are great and save me a lot of time creating videos. I can utilized my planning time touring, grading papers, looking at my data, etc.

Strengths: Lesson videos are great and are easy for students to follow.

I really like how you can choose a CCSS domain and find lessons already created instead of Googling lesson plans. Very easy to use!

Suggestions for Improvement: Lessons videos need to be a little longer.

It would be nice to have some hands on activities to use with students either before a lesson or after the lesson.

I teach at a community college and it would be nice to use these videos. If there is a way to create lessons not based on CCSS domains but objectives. For example, I teach PreCalc. If I had a video to reiterate theTrig Functions to help those students who need a visual representation that would be awesome! We all know that students do not all learn at the same pace, and there are some students who are visual learner and some that are not. I love these videos and it would be great to utilize them at a higher education setting.

Verdict: I like how teachers are chosen and go through training and work with expects to create lessons aligned to CCSS.

Darrell, Computer Technology / Intervention Developer. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it for beginning the day. It would be my min-lesson plan or the lesson plan for the day. I could then based on the assessment extend, modify, or reteach.

The intro.

The video

The practice.

The quiz.

Reflection

Question and answers

Reteach, modify, differentiate, or move on to the next level.

Strengths: Strengths:

It provides video that allows the students to visual process information. Then the student can review at their own speed.

The teacher can focus more on where students have difficulty.

The assessment provides immediate feedback.

Weaknesses:

Limited lessons with assessments.

No pre assessments and then final assessments for effective RTI.

ELL limited lessons. Spanish is a big deal.

Translator programs.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Pre and post test evaluation.

2. Teacher editing to the lesson plan

3. Student name integration for IEP,504, and ELL and RTI

4. Translator to any language.

Verdict: It provides and opportunity for the teacher to have all of the documentation and data. Therefore, the teacher can spend more time with accommodations and ipersonalized instruction.

Staff Development Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, BYOD Devices
Feb 27, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: As a Staff Development Teacher I have used LearnZillion as a way to clarify mathematics content for teachers. During planning meetings with teachers, we planned and implemented the use of LearnZillion as online independent learning for students.

Strengths: LearnZillion.com is free and offers resources for grades 2-12 that are directly from the Common Core State Standards. LearnZillion enables schools and districts to accelerate the successful implementation of the Common Core, augment the efficacy of their coaches, create classtime capacity to address differentiation needs, and build teacher leaders.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would add resources for prekindergarten through first grade students and teachers.

Verdict: LearnZillion.com is free and offers resources for grades 2-12 that are directly from the Common Core State Standards. LearnZillion enables schools and districts to accelerate the successful implementation of the Common Core, augment the efficacy of their coaches, create classtime capacity to address differentiation needs, and build teacher leaders.

Misty, 3rd Grade Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population, Project Based School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would like to use it as an introduction to a lesson or as clarification during a lesson in regards to math. It seems like a great addition to the lesson plan.

Reading is even more exciting to use, our school doesn't have a large selection of books and this allows the class to have a common text that the class can use. It also allows for differentiation.

Finally the ability to offer students access at home too adds another level of learning.

Strengths: I really like the visuals and the lack of teacher/students. It shows the information you need and keeps it simple. It also has the power point option that you can then adapt to your lesson.

Suggestions for Improvement: Even though I teach third grade I have students who are behind so I would like to have add ion al resources for K2.

Verdict: It will help focus the learning towards common core and gives teachers a direction to focus their lessons. Each class will be able to follow out lesson map and still differentiate. It works in both math and reading following common core.

Literacy Specialist, School Type: Elementary School
Feb 20, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: As an elementary literacy specialist, I have introduced Learn Zillion to many teachers in the elementary grades. The resources from Learn Zillion are used to support the implementation of the Common Core State Standards. The modeled lessons and tutorials for students are excellent.

Strengths: Learn Zillion lessons are directly aligned to the CCSS.

Experienced teachers from around the country were selected to write these lessons, creating a highquality resource.

Teachers are able to deliver effective instruction while utilizing technology.

Suggestions for Improvement: Keep creating more lessons!

Expand the range of text types used.

Verdict: The resources provided by Learn Zillion directly align with the Common Core State Standards, which have been adopted in Maryland. When teachers must implement new curriculum, they begin to search for related resources. The lessons and materials created by Learn Zillion keep the learning activities focused on mastery of standards, which leads to standards- based instruction.

Baltimore City College, School Type: High School, Low Income Population, College Prep School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This is an excellent product for teacher professional development, introducing them to the Common Core Standards and how they would apply in one's classroom. I plan to use these to develop my own craft as well as share them with colleagues I believe could benefit from them.

As well they may be used to assist students to further understand core concepts, such as identifying the main of idea of a passage by finding evidence from the text.

Strengths: It uses video tutorials to instruct teachers and students about the Core Standards in a clear and logical progression.

We have very little knowledge of or exposure to Core Standards; this product augments that.

Suggestions for Improvement: Needs to have Android support. An overwhelming majority of inner city students use this platform over iOS and even PC's.

More ELA content for high school!

More PARCClike questions

Verdict: It's free! It has an intuitive interface. It is available for nearly every platform i.e. PC and mobile.

Brittiny-Rae, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this program to help enhance the lessons that I already teach. This program would allow me to see how other teachers teach the same content that I am teaching. Additionally I would allow students to review the lessons for personal learning.

Strengths: It provides a vast amount of resources for teachers to use in their daily lessons. It is engaging for students and caters to a variety of learning styles. Lessons have been created by expert teachers to ensure the quality of the lessons. The quiz features allow you to look at real data to gauge student understanding.

Suggestions for Improvement: Add K-1 lessons. Add the opportunity to include audio questions to make quizzes accessible to students who can not yet read. Make platform easy for young users.

Verdict: The program seems incredibly easy to use and has a strong common core alignment. It seems to be deeply rooted in best practices for teaching. It has very strong elements in place for personalized learning.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up