Product Index
Educational Operations
Categories: Data Systems and Data Reporting
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Supervisor Of Technology, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to improve the data driven instruction process in my school district.

Strengths: Integrates data from a variety of sources - it sounds like it is very flexible in being able to gather data from many sources
Analytics are built into the software rather than through a separate product
Company sounds responsive to client needs.

Suggestions for Improvement: - Improve graphic interface - dashboard seems busy. Larger visual graphs would be less intimidating
- Work with school districts to identify most useful analysis points and build them into the base package
- Examine a free version to make it easier for school districts to experiment before committing.

Verdict: Data warehouse software can be very useful in collecting data and efficiently analyzing it for instruction.

Ian, Teacher. School Type: High School, BYOD Devices
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: Schoolzilla looks better

Strengths: If it's cheaper than schoolzilla then it could work.

Suggestions for Improvement: Better more visually appealing graphics. Easier user interface. It has to be painfully simple, otherwise we may as well use all our different data sources

Verdict: Schoolzilla appears to be the same but better.

Jessica, Principal. School Type: Elementary School, Project Based School, 1:1 Devices
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Data visualizatiion

Strengths: The examples provided of taking data in a wide variety of formats in real time. The reality that most SIS are not really ready to gather all of this data in a similar way.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would want to know if we could suggest how we want the data to be viewed. I am also curious about how we get the data to the system.

Verdict: I would recommend this tool to take all of our many pieces of data and bring it together to provide us with real time data visualization and glean where the deficits are.

Director Of Curriculum, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Higher Education, Project Based School, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Data management from various data streams.

Strengths: Someone else does all the data organization and processing.

Suggestions for Improvement: Support for teachers to understand the use of data to improve student achievement.

A better pitch for BOE and administration to understand.

Verdict: There is too much data that is being collected and not used to enhance student achievement. The is a cost to all data collection and when not used that is money lost.

Teacher, School Type: High School, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Quick access to comprehensive student data.

Strengths: Easy and quick access to important information about students in our schools.

Suggestions for Improvement: Don't have much in the way of improvement suggestions, sorry!

Verdict: Easier access to data about a variety of different factors in students' development.

Technology Integration Specialist, School Type: Elementary School
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I had a difficult time understanding what the product was capable of doing. I would like to have seen some examples and samples of how other schools are currently using it.

Strengths: I think the idea of this product is excellent. I would like to see more of what it could do. I like that the quantitative data could be a color or number.

Suggestions for Improvement: I am not sure. I would need to see more examples of the capabilities.

Verdict: I would recommend looking into the functions of the program more closely. I think that there is a great amount of potential, however the presenters were not very clear on the functions.

Chief Innovation Officer, School Type: High School
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I was interested, but need a but more information. I have set up another session for further clarity. The program does sound promising and could potentially meet my needs of analyzing various forms of data from many different data points.

Strengths: I was interested, but need a but more information. I have set up another session for further clarity.

Suggestions for Improvement: I was interested, but need a but more information. I have set up another session for further clarity.

Verdict: I was interested, but need a but more information. I have set up another session for further clarity.

Tech Integrator, School Type: High School, 1:1 Devices
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: to have better reporting for the vast amounts of data we have

Strengths: to have better reporting for the vast amounts of data we have, solving a lot of data crunching between systems and the lack of easy to use data we have now

Suggestions for Improvement: Integrate with Haiku LMS
Explain how you differ from competition
Provide list of systems you have already integrated with

Verdict: to have better reporting for the vast amounts of data we have, not sure how it integrates with all of our data systems

Technology Integrationist, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use this to bring all my silos of information together.

Strengths: I like the hands on approach to designing the recipes.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would make a dashboard view available to the general visitor to the site.

Verdict: Well, I am sure the price point is going to be high.

stacey, Coach. School Type: Elementary School
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: I really am still unclear as to what it actually does and how it would benefit my district.

Strengths: Possibly could correlate all student data and house it in one place?

Suggestions for Improvement: clearer introduction
examples from districts
explore more to really know a 3rd

Verdict: Need examples of how districts use it or why we need it.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up