Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Barbara, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, Project Based School
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This is a great lesson planning tool. It engaged me Dom the start.

Strengths: It has a lot of information that can be accessed over a great number of topics. It can be narrowed to specific topics. It looks like it gives great ideas.

Suggestions for Improvement: Cost is a lot at 16/student. Is ther individual pricing?
How can it get around the district internet filters for videos and information.

Can you archive lessons & develop your own?

These questions would need to be answered.

Verdict: I can't think of any

stephanie, Teachee. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, Blended Learning
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would supplement my lessons with it, so that students on various levels can understand.

Strengths: This is useful for classrooms with so many different reading/comprehension levels. Every student can get something from the lesson.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would put in "tips" for teachers so that they can use it more effectively. I would also like to see videos categorized by different learning styles and videos for just teachers to explain certain lessons.

Verdict: Some classrooms at our school have 30 or more students. It is difficult to reach each and every student, so this differentiation tool would help all students understand their daily obkectives.

Teacher Of English/Technology Mentor, School Type: High School, 1:1 Devices
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: It's a clean website and it seems like a novel idea, but I didn't see the reason to pay for a service like LearningBird when teachers with a good LMS could curate their own lessons and post them. I could see if this were a free service or very, very inexpensive, using it as an enrichment tool, possibly.

Strengths: There is a very clean interface, and it seems very easy to use. It doesn't really solve a problem; I see LearningBird more as an enrichment tool. This is something I could see having students do if they finished a main assignment early and had some time to kill.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would make it cheaper or free--there doesn't seem to be enough that is unique to the product to warrant paying for it.

If there was an interactive element to LearningBird, where students actually did something, it'd be much better.

I wish I knew how vetted the lessons on LearningBird were.

Verdict: Again, for schools that do not have LMS systems or have limited technology, maybe it would be worth looking at However, there are so many free resources on the internet that teachers could use that would mostly replicate LearninBird's features.

Adm, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Higher Education, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I haven't used it yet in my online school yet, all though do have future need for this tech. We have students around the world that use our system,

Strengths: I haven't used it yet in my online school yet, all though do have future need for this tech. We have students around the world that use our system,

Suggestions for Improvement: I feel the tech ed field should develop standard for navigation and use of student data across all the app's used by class. It i hard to determine the usefulness, if there is no standardized charting. If I had some matrix to use to see the usefulness of this product. I would also like to see app’s be inserted into LMS’s like Moodle, Blackboard, ect.

Verdict: I would suggest the administration a test run to see if it meets our wide breadth of user profiles

Math Team Leader, School Type: High School
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use the videos to help differentiate instruction for not only students who are struggling but also for students who want further excelled instruction.

Strengths: It helps teachers differentiate and help students find the teaching method that works best for them.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would improve the quizzes so you can have the great videos and quizzes all in one platform rather than students having to log on to Learning Bird for videos to watch but then be assessed at a high level on a different platform.

Verdict: It helps differentiate instruction when teachers want to but it can just take too much time.

Nick, Teacher. School Type: High School
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use this to provide students with videos to reinforce what is taught in class.

Strengths: I like the data that it provides teachers with.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like to have the ability to import my own questions. As an Advanced Placement United States History teacher, it would be very beneficial to be able to type old AP questions into the platform.

Verdict: I think it is a useful tool for certain teachers, specifically middle school ones.

Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: To build lessons and give assessments

Strengths: Good video lessons.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) technology assisted questions in the assessment portion
2) more teacher options to enable collaboration and sharing of lessons.
3) cheaper price???

Verdict: It has a "related content" feature that seems interesting.

Response from Learning Bird: Teacher can collaborate and share lessons within their own school, their own district or can post them for broad usage across all users. Teachers can also favorite lessons they like and can build and can build playlists of their favourite lessons.

Curriculum Coordinator, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, 1:1 Devices
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: We are already using a similar product.

Strengths: The question bank is nice. The ability to upload your own resources is also a terrific feature, as is the data that teachers can get on each student who takes the assessment.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would add open-ended questions, multiple answer questions, and other types of questions. Just having multiple choice seems limiting, and doesn't give teachers as much information.

Verdict: There are other products that are out there that are similar to this.

Lynda, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, Project Based School
Apr 23, 2016

full starno starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: Have the app to help students with lessons within history

Strengths: I like how the product differentiates the lessons for various student levels.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would need more time looking at the product to better answer this question. I do feel that it's expensive. $16 per student is pricey when each teacher has 200 students. I don't see the administration paying that much for each teacher. It doesn't seem affordable.

Verdict: I like how it incorporates videos to each lesson and how it differentiates the lessons

Luis, Tsa. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Higher Education, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, College Prep School, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: At my district we have been approved for an online school. Working with a program such as learning bird we might be able to integrate that into our curriculum and support the current content that is being taught by the teacher.

Strengths: Providing the teacher with the ability to select and assign content to students that is based off current publishers, but most importantly providing the students with support in the classroom.

Suggestions for Improvement: I wont know until we begin playing with it and see the application.

Verdict: Its a supportive leaning tool for students that will enhance current curriculum, the content is created by teachers, and most important that its aligned with California state standards.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up