Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Teacher, School Type: High School, Low Income Population, Project Based School, College Prep School, BYOD Devices
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to either set up project groups so students can self-track group responsibilities or to set up individualized lessons so that students complete certain activities based on need/ability.

Strengths: The ability to not approve submission of an assignment/activity solves the problem of students rushing to finish without being mindful of whether they are actually learning the content. The movement of images across the screen is a tactile tracking tool so students can begin self-management skills.

Suggestions for Improvement: The input area is currently only a spreadsheet and it would be nicer if it was more visually polished. The student interface is rather bland. Does it work on a non-touch device as well???

Verdict: It is a great method for groups to keep track of individual work within a project. The teacher can monitor and check it with students who are not keeping up with their responsibilities and provide chat/feedback to groups throughout the learning process. In addition, a teacher could not approve a lesson that a student marked as completed and then follow-up with comments on that student of how to improve their areas of weakness.

Instructional Specialist, School Type: High School
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I like the task or checklist feel and the ability to check points, talk in groups or with the teacher. It's working independently but with group or teacher support. I would use this as a center!

Strengths: It offers multiple options for activities and choice for students. You can color code tasks and require certain ones while making others optional. I like that you can use google docs to link and don't have to reload it to kanban.

Suggestions for Improvement: Its still in beta. I wish there was a way to give a requirement for a certain number of points and let students earn them in any way they like. They're almost there but not quite.

Verdict: I like that you can make the tasks TEK specific. You can have them read, watch a video, play a game... really makes the learning more engaging and gives students the ability to explore at a time frame that works for them. Individual learning styles and accommodations are easier for teachers by allowing so much variety in options.

Connie, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I can see myself using it as a independent work station, homework, substitute teacher plans, or an alternative to Google Classroom.

Strengths: I think it does a great job of organizing a lot of different resources into a easily accessible place. The students would be able to navigate through it with the benefits of a touch-screen device. The teacher also has a quick visual reference to see which student have turned in what assignments.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think there needs to be a cleaner interface within Google Drive so the files don't get too cluttered. There needs to be a publishing feature (delayed publishing time). There could be a deadline function so students are required to submit by a certain time and the teacher would be notified when the assignment is submitted late.

Verdict: I think it depends on the pricing. Leanlearn is not much newer, but it is an easier interface. It's currently in beta, so it'll be interesting to see what they will do with it and how they can adapt to make it a competitor.
The current interface may seem too difficult to use for some users, however for those familiar with the GoogleDrive realm, it may seem great.

Jessica, Teacher And Mentor. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I can use this in my self-pace mastery learning classroom to set goals and deadlines. Students can get real-time feedback from peers and teachers.

Strengths: Solves the problem of progress monitoring only during district assessments. Teachers can see where each student is in mastery at a glance on any given day.

Suggestions for Improvement: I do not like the chat feature because my students would abuse it by putting bad language, unrelated content, or publishing answers. It would be a pain to search through each chat in each task to delete these things.
Tasks could potentially be hard to manage as the year goes on in Google Drive if you teach more than one subject/course.
Wish there was a feature to create a report /download a class of students and how they are progressing in tasks long-term.

Verdict: A good basic LMS that connect with a google Drive. I like that the system uses columns to stay organized with what students are working on. My district does not have tablets or chrome books to drag and drop tasks easily into columns.

French Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, 1:1 Devices, BYOD Devices
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: Depending on context probably only for sub plans

Strengths: Simple interface, connects with Google, easy to track task progression.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Have banks of <

Verdict: Already similar tools on the market (Canvas). Would benefit for a reorientation towards simpler tasks and more options to upload documents.

Cathleen, Lubrarian. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: It robust enough yet for high school.

Strengths: Love the assignment blocks and ability if students to chat with the whfor le classs or group asssigned the block and with the teacher

Suggestions for Improvement: Add calendar and time line ability for each group, add ability to asssign five different projects to five different teams instead of one assignment for whole class

Verdict: Not yet able to handle 150 students, six classes, multi groups per class.....but I believe it will get there! If I were teaching elementary I would be more interested in using this!

Marlene, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: I don't see the benefits to the students.

Strengths: None.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. I would create a way for teacher to get more results and not just the chat.

3. Student should he able to see their own data not just your done yay.

Verdict: I wouldn't not recommend it because I don't see a benefit for student learning.

Emma, Esl Teacher &Amp; Coordinator. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, BYOD Devices
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This product, though in it's pilot phase, seems to be ready to explode with growth! I would use it to organize work for my visual and kinesthetic learners. Some students don't "see" scheduling in the traditional calendar sort of fashion--I can see this working with my out of the box learners, as they begin to find responsibility in their own educational efforts and time management!! It could also help parents from other cultural back grounds, to understand their child's progress and learning speed!!!

Strengths: It's organized in a non-linear way! Linear organization stresses some learners/educators out.

It's colorful but not too busy.
Streamlined.

It's easy to organize assignments in any fashion you prefer, due date, hierarchy of learning, color coded, proficiency level, by day or grading period....

Easy to monitor student progress real time, AND give live feedback and help to struggling students!

Suggestions for Improvement: I'm not 100% sure yet--I would need to play with it more to find some suggestions for improvements and bug fixes.

It looks like a great product!

Verdict: I would reccomend getleanlearn.com because it reaches more students in every range of learning and gives them the autonomy we all crave in our lives, but applies that autonomy to their education!!!

Love it. Already signed-up as a pilot teacher....

Candelaria, 5th Grade Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Students in cooperative groups at the beginning of the week.
The students would be able to see their assignments, projects or ability to discuss on line with their teacher and/or peers.

Other- Teachers on my campus the teachers can also know what is upcoming, discuss, seek clarification, so we don't have to check our emails from each other or by our administrators. We can see our deadlines, upcoming projects to turn in as a campus or discussion on general campus questions.

Strengths: Lean Learn is very user friendly, and doesn't take much to get used to the user interface.
The teacher/presenter is another story-- the Excel spreadsheet process looked a bit overwhelming.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Teacher Excel spreadsheet more friendly.
2. Teacher online help

Verdict: Lean Learn is used by google and is friendly with the laptops we adopted last year.
It is a great way to help students that are afraid to speak up in class to participate. It also helps them focus into what is important to ask.

Ron, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I am not exactly sure if I would use it with Math or Science and not exactly how to go about it. Thinking of maybe using it as a PBL.

Strengths: Since it's a beta version it is free. Gives ownership to the students. They pick and choose. Ultamately the teacher will give the approval. Very visual and easy to use.

Suggestions for Improvement: It's base on a shared spreadsheet. Maybe there can be a more intuiative way of uploading the program.

Verdict: Truly very visual, well organized. It's name means bllboard (Kanban). Sort of sticky notes to keep on top of your progress. And the last item has to be teacher approved

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up