Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Teacher/ Tech Support, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: To support in class science activities.

Strengths: I think the choices of lessons seem Kid appropriate and developmentally appropriate for Kindergartners. I wonder what it would be like for upper grades. It is interactive with students following along with the program, that I like.

Suggestions for Improvement: High light key facts for kindergartners. I wonder what it would be like to do a spiral activity. Like if the student can get this right, they go here. And build on what they have learned and understood, not a way to show what they have learned. Need a assessment process in the app. I wish it were just an app and not web based, it seems hard for the little guys to type in the web, especially since they are learning to identify their letters still! Takes them forever to find a letter on a keyboard.

Verdict: I would recommend for Kindergarten teachers, it is a great interactive site. It is a bit simple graphics for upper grades. I wonder if I could use this app as a way to have the book buddies help their partners.

Tricia, Library, Media, Science, Technology, Ged. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this program to integrate the NGSS information into my already hectic prep period.

Strengths: I would like to use the interactive platform that is student driven learning. This is most helpful for students to learn at their own pace, as well as have students that are ELLs be able to access the information more than once for their multiple reads.

Suggestions for Improvement: I'm a little disappointed that the program isn't developed above 3rd grade at this time. I would like multiple teachers to be able to access the students data.

Verdict: I recommend this program because its a platform that can be easily accessed from any internet based technology.

Tech Coach, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, High ELL Population, Blended Learning
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to introduce science concepts in early elementary, particularly on days when the weather does not permit outdoor adventures / learning experiences.

Strengths: I really like how easy the interface is - easy for both kids and non-techy teachers to use. It's also aesthetically pleasing, which makes science look more fun. I also really appreciate that it's not just a standalone application, but lesson plans and worksheets are included.

Suggestions for Improvement: Worksheets look great, but are not usable when printed out in black and white.
The teacher dashboard looks like it might get a bit overcrowded once more students are in the system.
I wonder if there's a parent side of things... Parents of early elementary students might like to build on what is covered at school.

Verdict: Good graphics that are pleasant for kids and teachers alike, seems well thought out and not too complicated, accessible outside of the US.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would employ it in my regular curriculum as a supplement to our book. It would also possibly make a good enrichment program for some.

Strengths: It engages the students really well. It gives me a much more exciting and visual manner of introducing, teaching, practicing, and assessing the topic than just the textbook. It could also give me ideas for possible science experiments.

Suggestions for Improvement: Add the standards more frequently to the screen so teachers, students and parents can see.

Have a way to gauge how the child is performing compared to other children in the same grade.

Itemized reports that are printable and easy to read.

Verdict: It is so engaging! The graphics are great. The lessons are interactive and interesting and they appear to be on target with the NGSS standards.

Shaina, Computer Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this tool in the full class, I would utilize the tool using Apple TV for the whole class, I would utilize this tool in the lab, for individual students, I would send home the newly developed hand outs for parental involvement and full participation.

Strengths: Easy to use for all children entering Kindergarten with ability to utilize the audio for English language.

Suggestions for Improvement: Sign-on use needs to be by student, not by grade, for the sequential years of use in any school, to avoid time consuming sign-on, and to allow for data to be collected over the years of a student's tenure at a single school.

Verdict: The tool has been only developed for kindergarten at this time, so I would be interested in seeing the fully developed Elementary tool.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I could use this program as either a small group intervention, whole group or individual program. I like the idea that I can print out handouts for the younger students to work on at home if need be.

Strengths: The versitility of the grade levels in the younger grades is ideal.

Suggestions for Improvement: While I like the program and the versitility of it, the older kids in 2nd and 3rd grade might find the animation a bit on the young side. They are funny about things they think are too babyish.

Verdict: The grade level K-3 can utilize this program for many varying groupings. This allows greater flexibility for the teacher and or the helpers in the classroom. I like the idea that I can send home to complete for the youngest grades.

Tech Coordinator, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it in a blended learning environment especially for kindergarten. I would set it up as a center with 4 to 6 ipads on a table and have them work on it.

Strengths: I like how it divides into several sections. It is very visually appealing and engaging. It teaches the concepts and it appears to be age appropriate.

Suggestions for Improvement: The one thing that I would like to see is more interactive content and less printable activities. As we are going to one to one devices, I want to be able to use the technology and thus the program.

Verdict: It is a very visually appealing website. I only checked out the kindergarten program, but I can see that it would be engaging.

Bilingual Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to teach the 5E Instructional Model (Science) because they are interactive lessons designed to improve key concepts. They can learn Science while having fun.

Strengths: It provides feedback and charts with the students' progress.
You can print worksheets and Teacher Plans with every topic.

Suggestions for Improvement: The price is a little bit expensive.
For lsome students in the lower grades may be a little repetitive as they recommend to repeat the same lesson several times.

Verdict: It is very easy to use, very visual and children learn key concepts while using it. It has been designed by Science teachers experts

1st Grade Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, Blended Learning
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Supplement Science PBL Curriculum

Strengths: Visually appealing, kid friendly. Science curriculum is scarce at my school, this would definitely help adding content and extra practice.

Suggestions for Improvement: Picture Password is too long for first grade (3 pictures max). Link product with Amazon/donorschoose to allow teachers to acquire it without paying out of pocket. Allow teachers to assign lessons or stop students from starting lessons that will be covered later.

Verdict: It is fully functional, no need to create assignments, research etc.

Technology Integration Specialist, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use this to reinforce understanding of science concepts.

Strengths: This provides an interactive, visually appealing platform for students to practice and demonstrate understanding of scientific concepts. It is browser-based.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) Trailer. I would like to see a package trailer to be able to get the gist of this product quickly.
2) Instructional recommendations. I would like testimonials or firsthand accounts of how Koantum can be easily integrated into existing instructional practices.
3) Free. Keep it free, always.

Verdict: This seems like it would appeal to teachers, especially with the current push for NGSS-aligned instruction.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up