Product Index
Everything Else
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, 1:1 Devices
Sep 11, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I am a fifth grade teacher at a school that has a 3D printer. I would use this product as a way to introduce 3D printing tools to my students. I would use this product about one a month to help students learn teamwork and build real-world skills.

Strengths: Engaging girls in tech is important to me!

Projects start out by modifying existing models. This helps build skills in TinkerCad and develops confidence.

Suggestions for Improvement: I need to easily monitor my students' progress.

I need to set up teams of students to work together.

I need more gender neutral projects for my whole class to use.

Verdict: Although this product is geared toward engaging girls, it can be used for whole class instruction. I like the simple to follow video instructions.

Tech, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, Low Income Population
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Great tool to get students started on the principles of 3D printing. Teachers could use it to allow students to learn about coding, technology, and design using the latest technological advances.

Strengths: Gives the students tangible results on the work they are doing. They can actually see the end product of their work. Will give them a great feeling of accomplishment when they finish a project.

Suggestions for Improvement: Don't have enough knowledge about the software, but being that the 3D printer is a little cost prohibitive, it would be nice to have this accessible to low income students/districts.

Verdict: Great way for students to be immersed in the latest technology. Will give the students a feeling that they are getting in on the newest thing at a very early stage.

Mr, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Sep 11, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Anything that promotes girls, and kids for that matter, into design thinking and creating, is an awesome product.

Strengths: Free to have students sign up. Easy for student use and is geared towards creative minds and troubleshooting.

Suggestions for Improvement: None that I can foresee. Perhaps the upload and print cost could become expensive if one does not have a 3D printer.

Verdict: Getting students engaged and walked through the process of 3D printing, is where everyone should be headed. Getting started could be daunting, but having a program that walks you through and then gives you the option to upload design and have them print it is amazing.

Librarian, School Type: Middle School, High School
Sep 11, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to teach design. We could use it with the art classes. The students could use it to perfect their scluptures.

Strengths: This product allows all students access to 3D printing. This would open up 3D printing for students that normally wouldn't come in contact with 3D printing.

Suggestions for Improvement: Allow a bigger 3-D print, maybe up to 5 inches or have the students make the parts to attach to each other later.

Verdict: I would recommend this product because it allows all students access to 3-D printing, not just the art students or students enrolled in a specific class.

venkat raman, Speech Therapist. School Type: High School, Higher Education
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I will motivate students to create things using imagination.

Strengths: Its a great tool. It works very well as it provides visual feedback and interactive.

Suggestions for Improvement: Free delivery for special ed students. buy models from special ed students. sharing models and imporvization ideas.

Verdict: Its a great tool. It works very well as it provides visual feedback and interactive. Great motivations.

Tech, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Sep 11, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would like to use this in an after school program.

Strengths: Way cool for students and teachers. Self motivate to learn new skill.

Suggestions for Improvement: Needs to offer grants to purchase 3D printers, maybe matching grants.

Verdict: To engage students in coding through creativity and reward via 3D printouts.

Lisa, Teacher/It Administrator. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Project Based School, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: For our Junior High STEAM students and younger MASTERs who are interested mastering 3D design.

Strengths: Love the focus on GIRLS - hooray!

Suggestions for Improvement: Teacher Interface
Curriculum Guides
Teacher (and possibly students too) Collaborative space

Verdict: They are GIRL centered!

Counselor, School Type: Middle School
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would create a weekly activity that students would break out into groups for. The activity would incorporate incorporating creativity, teamwork, critical thinking, and presentation skills to create the most efficient devices, items, etc

Strengths: Gives kids amd teachers a chance to tangibly see the product of their imagination.

Suggestions for Improvement: Cheaper price, offline availability, expandibilty for personal designs

Verdict: This tool would allow students to work on a number of skills that would be critical in their or success as they get older.

Teacher On Special Assignment, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Sep 11, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Ideally I would like to create a lunch club or after school programs for girls to be part of designingand coding. Because they can see their projected printed as a 3D item it would be very rewarding and exciting for them to use.

Strengths: The fact that we don't have a 3D printer was discouraging until we found out that they will mail us our students final project. This is a really great program and something I will advocate for.

Suggestions for Improvement: None

Verdict: I would advocate for this since many of our girls are interested in co punters and it will take it to another level. This will help promote computer science and they are able to see real life applications.

Teacher And Tech Lead, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Sep 11, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it with Maker club activities. It could also fit into math and science units.

Strengths: It is very easy for the students to follow the directions. It is also great that the teachers are young women, so that young female students have role models in the field of technology.

Suggestions for Improvement: I can't think of any. It is a great product.

Verdict: It engages students, especially young women, in STEAM activities.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up