Product Index
Curriculum Products
Categories: Social Studies and Science
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
AJ, Social Studies Teacher. School Type: Middle School, Blended Learning
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use the product to help students better understand our content and find articles that would be good for them to review and understand at their level.

Strengths: I like that you can change the reading ability of students so that they can better follow along with content.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. I think it would be great to have questions at the end of the article to check for understanding.
2. Allowing students to create their own username and password is not great, they could forget.
3. Allow students to JOIN a teachers class with codes and that would leave them logged in and can continuously check on content that is added... in turn they can complete assignments and teachers can see how students are doing based on their reading comprehension.

Verdict: I think it is hard to find social studies related articles and this site would allow teachers to easily search and find articles based on their content.

Technology Coordinator, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: It doesn't fill a need we currently have. We already have other online systems with access to reading material.

Strengths: I like that the reading material can be presented in three different reading levels.

Suggestions for Improvement: Students have to log in to read. Depending on how the material is delivered to students, they'll have to log into their computers, then into Edmodo or Google Classroom, then into this. It's another step.

There seems to be limited functionality in addition to the reading passages. Not many questions or assessments.

Verdict: It doesn't fill a need we have. I didn't see a tremendous amount of new or innovative content.

Casey, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this as a science/social studies text and to supplement current resources in those subjects. I would also use it for non-fiction text in our ELA program.

Strengths: I think that the integration is great and I love the way that topics are interrelated. I also like the active engagement within articles. I think that the vocabulary and teacher guide piece is also very valuable.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would add content.
I would make assessments variable to ability/grade level as well.

Verdict: It is a cost effective way to supplement science and social studies resrouces. It is easily adaptable to individual students based on interest and ability level. It can be used as a safe research resource in classrooms without worrying about what students will find on the web.
I love the way that it integrates science and social studies topics.

Patrice, Tecaher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this online tool for students to read non-fiction science and social studies articles. Students can use it for research as well as a forum for group discussion. Students can easily locate an article assigned to them by using the Classroom tool to locate their assignment. I would like to see more digital resources, such as video clips attached to the articles as well as assessment.

Strengths: It gives students the ability to easily and safely locate online articles on specific curriculum related topics

Suggestions for Improvement: I would add a student monitoring component, assessment, and more digital video clips attached to an article.

Verdict: I would recommend it for students to utilize as a resource for science and social studies lessons to read articles on topics.

Ela 5th 6th, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: During reading, writing and science classes

Strengths: excellent for all reading levels; works well with supplemental reading and connecting social studies and science texts; the visual connection will help students all grade levels as well

Suggestions for Improvement: no improvements necessary; they are making the necessary improvements needed. I think adding the standards to the website will definitely help

Verdict: It is cost effective and great for all grade levels in the school district.

4th Grade Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, 1:1 Devices
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use the articles to support my Social Studies and Health lessons.

Strengths: Provides nonfiction text on grade level. Provides access to quality information that is reliable.

Suggestions for Improvement: Questions and assignments that relate to the articles would be helpful

Verdict: The articles can be adjusted to accomodate reading levels. There seems to be a lot of articles that are relevant to the subjects that I teach.

Superintendent, School Type: Other, College Prep School
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Classroom instruction
Curriculum building

Strengths: Science & history integration

Suggestions for Improvement: Use exemplar visual artifacts from museums etc. within content

Verdict: Online content - visuals -

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to help my students reading on grade level,
I would also us this as part of my after school program, to help students get engaged into science.
I love the visual representation on how everything is flowing, very student friendly.

Strengths: different reading levels
love the way the intergration of the products with the visual reprenstation

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. more videos
2. Different languages
3. science standard alignement

Verdict: to have more video and Spanish articles for ELL.
What about if some the videos were in Spanish to help those who are not native English speakers

Technology, School Type: Elementary School
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Use the lesson planning tools to meet the new science standards. I can set up a classroom similar to google classroom.

Strengths: Great images
Has a free tier option (20% of library)
Nicely priced $4-$6/student for year
Can be used at home
Web based
Search my standards

Suggestions for Improvement: New program (6 months) add more options:
More assessment
Audio pronunciation

Verdict: I like the fact that you can select reading levels for the articles. This can address cross-curriculum subjects. I also like the interactive buttons.

Supervisor, School Type: Middle School
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this for the social studies class since our resources are outdated and we need new supporting materials and articles.

Strengths: I am not sure...I would need a demonstration by someone in the company to show me more of the benefits of the product. .

Suggestions for Improvement: Easier to find topics. Clearer directions, and math included.

Verdict: We are in need of updated material and articles for social studies. We are using books that are 15 years old, and in need of new materials.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up