Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Teresa, Librarian. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Dec 3, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: IXL is one of the content partners of Kiddom, it is their only paid subscription content partners, but my district happens to have a subscription for my 2nd grade students. So far, I am assigning Math skills in IXL that align with the learning target objectives of my curriculum during any given unit. I am trying to reinforce and motivate student learning by calling out the students who master a given skill on IXL, but there is a missing data component and ability to assign skills or reteach content based on IXL performance. I am still figuring out IXL's own analytics dashboard, but I'm thinking that I can use Kiddom to get more useful data to inform my math instruction based on my student's IXL performance. And, I can align performance levels on IXL skills to our district standards-based grading scale, and use it as another data point there.

Strengths: It solves problems ranging from the time it takes to enter grades, to assessing SEL, and grouping students based on strenghts and needs in specific subject area standards. It is also flexible enough that individual teachers can enter specific areas where they want to assess students, along assigning their own learning content that they have created, but then get useful data on the user-friendly Kiddom customized dashboard.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) It would be great if I could connect more online learning content providers like Lexia, DIBELS assessment tools, NoRedInk, etc, to this platform.

2)

Verdict: I come from a standards-based district with a simple grading scale aligned to a solid curriculur and assessment regime, yet our online gradebook, Skyward, is an awful user experience and cannot automatically capture data on our number of online student learning tools, nor cannot it produce user-friendly reports easily.
I would definitely recommend Kiddom to replace Skyward.

6th Grade Science Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use Kiddom has my learning management system. I like how it integrates the TEKS and other standards (like NGSS) and I can build my assignments and assessments around them.

Strengths: It integrates standards and allows me to use them to inform my instruction. What it does well is showing me how my classes and individual students are performing with respect to each standard, which in turns helps me know what I need to focus on for reteaching. It solves the problem of organizing the vast differentiation in student needs according to standards and provides me with actionable data.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. It would be great if it integrated other platforms as "add ons", like Kahoot or Scribe Sense, or what kids are already using, like Instagram/Snapchat/Bitmoji

2. It would be great if students could log in through the AISD cloud, or with a one-click Google sign-in

3. More customization is also always better.

Verdict: I would recommend it because it provides a nice interface for teachers, administrators, parents, and even students to view their data, see which particular standards they excel in, and where they need improvement. As an IR campus, my school is very data driven and it would be great to move away from handwritten sheets.

Tejkumari, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this as a central gradebook to manage all the online programs that my students go into. I would use this as a gradebook to capture my students performance on activities I schedule across several different websites. This will make collecting data quicker and easier.

Strengths: Major strength is the amount of time this will save me. Having to log into and print reports from several different online programs sucks. This program will help me to combine this information into one place.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would love if I could align this to data. The information that I can put into this is great but I would still need to go back to the original website in order to disaggregate the data into the different standards. Additionally I don't like that I have to assign the activity through the website. There should be a way for me to pull the information even though I have previously assigned it in another application.

Verdict: I would recommend this because there is no other application out there that captures the student scores over several different application. As a teacher I have to log into Newsela, Socrative and I Ready every time I need to pull reports. With this program I would not have to do this.

Latoshia, 5th Grade Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Nov 14, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to assess and assign daily assignments to my students. This would help me to keep track of all of their work and to keep a consistent portfolio with all assignments graded. It is nice to have a tool that already integrates with Google drive and that will allow me to value all assignments completed by students. Sometimes it gets overwhelming and some assignments end up ungraded. That is lost data! It will also help me to keep all of my pullout kids in the loop and accountable because they know where to find their work and they know when it must be completed. I will also ensure the resource teachers have access because they know what their kiddos need to complete.

Strengths: 1. grading
2. assessment
3. student accountability
4. Teacher accountability (grades current)
5. Excellent feedback for parents

Suggestions for Improvement: From the pitch, it sounds like everything has been thoroughly thought out and included. I do use common curriculum as a lesson plan tool. Maybe a way to incorporate and plug my lesson links in?? Or maybe not. I haven't used it yet but that's an initial thought.

Verdict: There is every reason to NOT advise against it. It's a FREE, awesome tool!

Yolanda, Speech/ Language Pathologist. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Nov 14, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this program to manage data and associated tools. In my classroom data drives everything. As a special educator I have to have data at my fingertips to make informed student decisions and this is a great tool for organized student data. This will allow me to share data more creatively and effectively.

Strengths: The features of CCSS, integrating assignments, rubrics, and answering student questions are amazing.

Suggestions for Improvement: Sync with Special Education Tools (IEP's and Progress Reports). Especially Speech and Language. Special Educators are adopting Standards Based IEP's. I see this as a powerful collaborative tool that takes the guess work out of the connection with Special Education and the State Standards.

Verdict: Data is something that you understand immediately or something you hate because you have not yet mastered a way to collect it that works for you. I would recommend this because it make data collection user and teacher friendly. This is definitely a go to tool for all educators. From school wide data teams, care teams, focused intervention groups, and more--Kiddom is it!

Teacher, School Type: Middle School
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to assign assignments and to provide students with feedback on their work. I would also use it to keep track/monitor progress towards mastery of standards.

Strengths: I really like the rubric and feedback systems. I also like that it assigns each assignment to the standard. I think it will really help students keep track of their data and their progress, and what needs to be done.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Being able to separate out student data into three different classes, yet have the set up (assignments and rubrics) be the same across all three classes
2. Having students be able to complete the rubric as a self-assessment first
3. Having the students be able to revise the assignment and see the changes

Verdict: I think it would be helpful to have everything in one place and to have the dashboard that gives you all of the student data. I think it is a more comprehensive way to monitor student progress. I also really like the rubric aspect to it and that I can create standard rubrics I always use as well as specific for that assignment.

Math Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Nov 14, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it for everything! I could post lesson videos, worksheets, grade homework, and communicate with parents using this tool.

Strengths: Eventually when it interfaces with the gradebook system that my school uses, it solves the problem of having data in multiple places.

Suggestions for Improvement: I haven't had a chance to navigate it myself, but the interface was not familiar. Other sites like Schoology or Edmodo have a recognizable user interface. Also, I did not see a gradebook in the traditional spreadsheet format, which most teachers have become accustomed to reading over the years. Otherwise, loved the product and can't wait to get home and play with it!

Verdict: For starters it's free, which is amazing! I also like that they're working to collaborate with major grading systems that already exist, so it would eventually encompass all classroom management in one tool. It would also be great for a traditional or blended classroom.

Jenna, Ed Tech/Steam Specialist. School Type: Other
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would like to use the product as what the product intended, to be a community based product for all users: students, teachers, and parents. I would like to have an administrator account and see low performing students as a way to reach out to families and support teachers.

Strengths: I appreciate how the product is free for users. I am excited to hear about the Academy features coming up.

Suggestions for Improvement: + I can't wait for the product to be shared with parents.
+ I can't wait for the product to launch the Academy version.
+ Can paraeducators and instructional support teachers have access as well?

Verdict: I love that this is a product created to build effective assessments and feedback of progress. I appreciate the appeal of the product, the easily to navigate functions, the ability for teachers to see a comprehensive performance level for all students.

Emma, Esl Teacher &Amp; Coordinator. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, BYOD Devices
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to teach my students with a standard based progression through my content area--I like that I could use other standards from other content areas to teach my ESL kids. I am responsible for making them cross-curricular-ly prepared, so I could pull TEKS from all over the pre-loaded standards!! This helps me give the students the extra remediation, augmentation, and response to interventions at the appropriate level, (with remaining data for necessary reports)

Strengths: Has all pre-loaded standards!
Streamlined.
Easy to give feedback to students.
Can assign specially assigned activities for struggling or for advanced students!!

Suggestions for Improvement: I am not sure that I have had enough time to critique this product!!!
I am sure with time there are some suggestions I could make for improvement...but none as of yet!!

Verdict: None!

Doloumar, Teacher. School Type: High School, College Prep School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use dwarp to help my students become better readers and to help them with specific learning skills such as beginning, middle and end sounds. My students will really like the lively pictures and games also assessments.

Strengths: This program solves the problem of having to find games and spreadsheets about certain learning targets and skills, my students may really enjoy this!

Suggestions for Improvement: I would love to use this based on my students reading levels and skills. I would like for them not to move on until they pass a certain skill or level, I think my students may be challenged and engaged.

Verdict: I think its extremely cool and engaging. It is very age and grade level appropriate, I like everything about this program and I can't wait to start using it in my classroom. I've heard a lot of great things about it.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up