Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Director Of Talent, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population, College Prep School
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: We use Kickboard across our entire school to track behavior and academics. We also use it to generate weekly "paychecks", which are behavioral and academic progress reports.

Strengths: It allows us to set high expectations and universally enforce those expectations across all classes and teachers. We create demerits and merits which teachers can easily assign to students using a mobile device or tablet. Then, we produce weekly reports (paychecks) which we send home with students to be signed by parents.

We were doing this before Kickboard, so the tool saves us a ton of time.

Suggestions for Improvement: There isn't a native iOS/mobile app (though one is apparently in development). As a teacher, I found it challenging to enter demerits and merits via Kickboard's mobile website while teaching. The gradecam tool could use a student-facing view so that students can grade their own work.

Verdict: It allows us to consistently enforce school culture and structures. It also saves us a significant amount of time.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: BrainPop is usee

Strengths: The program is easy to use and easy to interpret. Information about progress could easily be shared with both students and families. It also allows you to see not just how a student is doing in a broad subject such as math, but more specifically how a student is doing in a certain aspect of math. It provides color coding to help you determine which students have the highest level of need.

Suggestions for Improvement: Create options for administering tests within the platform. Integrate common core standards into the single teacher version. Allow students to set goals and monitor progress in a student section.

Verdict: I would recommend this program because it gives teachers a very easy way to determine the exact needs of every student. You can see exactly which concepts students are struggling with so that time in the classroom can be used more successfully.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Grading and behavior tracking

Strengths: Can track whole class easily. Standards based grading. Like the full picture of a student.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. For younger students it would be nice to have a ore kid friendly look.
2. It would be nice if students could access it and track their own grades and progress.
3. Could be complicated to keep track of all data when you are changing classes and subjects.

Verdict: Great for grading and behavior tracking. Really like how it is connected to standards.

Principal, School Type: Middle School
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use this product for behavior and academic management. I enter all merits and demerits that my students receive into KB to keep track of their behavior, and also enter every single assessment for their grades.

Strengths: Graphics are great

Suggestions for Improvement: Gradecam component needs more development, but is very new

Verdict: I love that behavior and academics is in one place

Ela Teacher, School Type: Middle School, BYOD Devices
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: In our 6-8 grade middle school to track behavior.

Strengths: Integrates invite PowerSchool purchased with sis option.

Implementation coach assigned to your school.

Suggestions for Improvement: Cost and no iPad app.

Verdict: We desperately need a school-wide behavior tracking system.

Lauren, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would like to see this used across my entire school k-12 so every teacher is tracking data under the same system so that we can really see the progress that each students makes academically and with behavior.

Strengths: All in one program .

Suggestions for Improvement: Would like to see something more kid friendly appearance for younger students (like class dojo- for behavior) and something similar for grades

Hard for teachers to have "down time" to document data all the time.

Teacher training to use it

Verdict: Same system for all the keep data for grades

Tech Coord, School Type: Middle School
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to manage school wide behavior. We need a positive behavior intervention plan.

Strengths: This program shows student behavior across classrooms. Program can also show weaknesses within the classrooms. Can import database from PowerSchool. Implementation coaches for each school.

Suggestions for Improvement: None

Verdict: We could purchase just the behavior plan. Plan can be modified as needed. We could focus on positive and negative behavior.

Principal, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to track student academic and behavioral data.

Strengths: It works very well to track academic and behavioral performance.

Suggestions for Improvement: Develop more seamless integration with SIS.

Verdict: It is robust and provides aesthetically appealing and meaningful elements.

Stem Instructional Designer, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population, Project Based School
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: The social emotional learning aspect of teaching today is crucial. This tool would allow for growth in that area.

Strengths: It works well to expose the "whole" child.

Suggestions for Improvement: Cost effectiveness

Verdict: Again, the social emotional learning component make it enticing.

Tech Consultant, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: As a way to use data to drive their instruction.

Strengths: Allow teachers to collect, analyze, and share data. Monitor student progress. Identify strengths/weaknesses.

Suggestions for Improvement: None at this time.

Verdict: Appears to be easy to use.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up