Product Index
Educational Operations
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use this product to create a portfolio of students' learning and work samples. This product is fantastic because it allows teachers to capture student learning through pictures and captions. Hands on learning that was previously difficult to document is now as easy as taking s photo. It also keeps each student's work together to create a digital portfolio that can travel from grade to grade.

Strengths: This product solves the problem of overflowing file folders storing student work and clipboards full of unorganized notes attempting to capture hands-on learning. Instead, you can snap a picture, add a caption and effectively capture learning and growth. It's also a great tool because their portfolios can be sent home to be shared with parents or travel to the next grade providing the new teacher with a wealth of knowledge about the student's abilities and strengths.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) While it is an amazing product, the price is often unaffordable for schools. Our trial is expiring and may not be renewed due to the costly price. 2) It would also be great if parents could have a larger role other than viewing student work. Maybe some kind of blog feature for parents so they can encourage their child in the classroom? 3) It would also be nice if the product could work on iPhones since it is easier to carry around a small phone that fits in your pocket instead of always having your iPad available to document learning and snap pictures.

Verdict: I would recommend it because it is a successful way to document student learning and growth. It is unique because you can upload pictures of students engaged in hands-on learning to show mastery of a skill. This is particularly useful for math and science when students are actively engaged using tools. It's also great because all images and work samples can be easily shared with parents to keep them up to date on what their child is doing in school.

shawn, 1st Grade Lead Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I am in the process of using a blog to keep track of how I'm teaching and what I'm teaching...what's working, what's not, etc. However, it's daunting and time consuming and I don't find myself doing it as much as I'd like too. This tool would help with this as it would be quick pictures with tags and quick blurbs about it. When I find my students doing amazing things, I could quickly take a picture, tag the lesson/field trip, tag the student, say what they're doing and move on. Instant feedback on my day and on what my students are doing.

Strengths: The program is simple and what it does is simple. It looks like it's easy to use and very quick.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Come up with pricing. Currently, there is no pricing and I would totally buy this program (or use it for free).

2. Have it work on more then just apple devices.

3. Be able to send actual jpeg files, not just emails of the pictures.

Verdict: I would recommend this product as it gives instant teacher and student feedback. Baltimore City schools is moving to a new teacher performance rating scale, and this would help with that. I could use picture evidence to prove what and how I'm teaching and align it all to common core. I also teach a large group of ESOL and special education students and this instant picture feedback would be helpful for student/parent meetings, IEP meetings, parent/teacher conferences, etc.

Sasha, Clarksville Middle. School Type: Middle School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it for documentation for teacher evaluation. I would also use it for data collection in students' progress as well as parent-teacher communication to show celebrations and progress in content.

Strengths: These would be great for documentation of what the teacher covered in class and how a student is doing. Often parents ask their children what they did in school and the children will not answer or will be taciturn in their answers. It would be great to use for AltMSA documentation as teachers need to provide 2 video artifacts. Students also are very selfabsorbed and want to see videos of themselves. It would also make it easy to share lessons with other teachers. Often, as teachers, we do not have the time to coplan or share how we covered a topic.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Have an online consent form for videos to be taken

2. Set up perimeters that this can not be used against a teacher but rather as a tool for communication

3. Make a scholarship program for nonaffluent families

Verdict: Huge possibility of the wrong video being sent to the wrong individual or a parent using it as documentation against a teacher to prove that they are incompetent or that they are to "properly" teaching their son/daughter. Some parents may not have access to the technology to see the videos

Art Teacher, School Type: High School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: If I were to use this product, I would use it to document student artwork and organize portfolios in my Art classroom.

Strengths: It stores your images in a space that does not take up room on your personal device. Images are easily accessible, and solves the hassle of storing data on external devices, which can sometimes be lost/stolen.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. I would make this turnkey service available on different devices. Limiting the product availability to the iPad makes it difficult or impossible for people who don't have access to an iPad/can't afford to purchase the product.

2. The service might work better/be more efficient if it had a higher level of organization for images.

3. I would make it optional to save images to your device.

Verdict: I think this product is very easy to use, and simple to understand. Once you use your iPad to photograph/document activities or student work, you can easily upload the data to a space that is easily accessible. None of the images actually take up space on your device because it is stored online, however, you can still have access to it by simply clicking on the image.

Images can be emailed/shared through a very simple process.

Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to communicate on a weekly basis with parents of the students in my classroom. I teach 6 different sections of different levels of math, and I feel like parents sometimes have difficulty knowing when to expect things and how to help their children. I love that this goes straight to their email inboxes and they don't have to sign up to receive class information like they do with other systems like EdModo.

Strengths: I love that this product gives me the opportunity to communicate seamlessly with parents. Sometimes it is so hard to make that connection, and this gives me a quick way to communicate with them.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) I would love it if the program allowed for me to create separate sections for my classes 2) I would like it if I had the option to see who is viewing the announcements or assignments...I'm not sure if this is a capability 3) I would like it if I could include students in their own group. Can I do this in a separate section?

Verdict: As I said on the previous questions, I really love the fact that parents don't have to sign up for it, and there is little commitment from them, other than opening the email that is sent their way from the system.

Janel, Teacher And Parent And Community Engagement. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would you use this product to increase our parent engagement and participation. Our school has high transient population as a result we may not always shine the brightest light on all our students and their experience is lost. With the use of this new tool, parents can holdfast to memories and even share the child's learning with the new teacher.

Strengths: As I heard from Stephanie, a blogger and active user of Kaymbu, that it increase parent engagement and enthusiasm as they experience their child learning, growing socially and having the opportunity to get a snapshot of classroom interaction and engagement.

Suggestions for Improvement: I can not expand on this now because I have not used it personally.

Verdict: I would recommend it to help boost our parent partnership and engagement. As the parent liaison, it my passion to increase parent participation and share the good things happening at our school and with our school community.

Director Of Technology And Sustainability, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would see using this with our teachers in Toddler (18 months to age 3), primary (3-6 year olds) and lower elementary (grades 1-3) to document student learning and share images and other information with parents.

Strengths: Solves the problem of teachers feeling like documentation and communication are hurdles.

Suggestions for Improvement: The improvements I'm interested in seem to be in progress

ease of important and updating student and family info

previewing and triggering the weekly mailing

text based components so that what goes out can be a more fully featured newsletter

(I'd suggest that in addition to the "important" and general text notes, you have a date based note as well, which would just show up in date order like the photos).

Verdict: Ease of use.

Tagging by student names.

Great parent communication.

Kristl, Tk Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Nov 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use Kaymbu to record what my TK students are doing every day in my transitional kindergarten class. I love how easy it is to take pictures and video and then I can either send it to myself for record keeping or to the parents so that they can see what their child is/how doing.

Strengths: My parents love getting pictures and videos from kaymbu. I love that I can capture all kinds of moments that will ultimately help me when report card time comes around.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think the hardest part of my Kaymbu is actually on my end...getting connected to wifi is an definitely important part of the Kaymbu experience.

Verdict: It's a fabulous tool to use for evaluation...I am able to video tape my students explaining their thinking. It's easier to get to all my students in one day vs. transcribing by hand.

Deborah, English/Language Arts Teacher. School Type: High School, Low Income Population, College Prep School
Feb 21, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This is perfect for my magnet arts school; all kinds of wonderful student centered activities to post to showcase the talents and engagement of our high school students.

As we explore the use of iPads in the next academic year this is something to set us apart from other schools and to create community within our unique school.

Strengths: It's perfect for iPad and iPad seems like the flavor of the month.

What could be better than an effective and enjoyable way to connect all the stakeholders?

Suggestions for Improvement: None

Verdict: It's a way to involve students, their families, and the school in promoting our magnet arts culture.

Karla, English Teacher. School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Kaymbu is a program that allows early education classes to create and share presentations, and has features similar to instagram. It also simplifies teacher documentation.

Strengths: Welcoming parents into the classroom via Kaymbu is a wonderful opportunity for exchange of ideas and allowing parents to give feedback.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would make this program accessible to school networks instead of just ipads. I love how this company provides an ipad for each classroom with the subscription plan!!!

Verdict: The aspect of sharing projects with the families at home, is very interesting!!! A window into the classroom....

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up