Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product possibly on a weekly basis with students in math class as an incentive. It could be used for quick practice. I might also use it as a reward at the end of the day for students that were focusing in class.

Strengths: This program engages students on a gaming level which is what a lot of drier programs lack. Of course with math I feel like this is easier to do. It has fun graphics and is reminiscent of the fun I remember from Mario teaches typing. I think having something interactive also wows students which gets them more engaged. VERY FEW activities in schools these days get students on their feet while requiring them to think quickly in math, which is what we see required in real life on the job. I think it solves the problem of the sometimes boring games we learn create such as around the world to do quick math review. It gives students time to both watch and play. Soon they hope to have 6 students working on it so this is helpful. I like how kids can rotate through quick games. This solves a problem of interactive games for parties that can keep students learning.

Suggestions for Improvement: Having an implement for students with disabilities such as something like a controller that can replace the jumping might be helpful (for students in wheelchairs or who would otherwise have trouble jumping). I'd also like to see curriculum up to 5th grade since most schools go up to 5th grade. It would be fun to see even more sport represented in the games to get kids into more sports and to represent more that the experience.

Verdict: I know through my research and continuing education that mobile and kinetic activities joined with learning help students to learn. The program also involves things that students enjoy such as soccer. All of these together show that student would actually try and enjoy the program. This means that they will try to learn in order to enjoy it and will therefore engage more.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Project Based School, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I think the product would be a wonderful asset to the primary classroom. I especially like the way to enable younger students in math.

Strengths: I like the assessment aspect and tools to use within the product. The visual parts of this product are not only appealing to students but they are inviting and easy to follow.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think adding grades five and six to the product would elicit more users.

Verdict: The best recommendation for me personally is the multiple intelligence and kinesthetic aspects of the product.

Jill, Second Grade Team Leader. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices
Sep 14, 2014

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I just got to try it at ed surge. I would love to have the product creators visit my classroom and interact with second graders. The game format was a great idea nad I feel it has great potential with some tweaking. It would be great as a brain break, or whole class starter.

Strengths: It keeps it motivating for the student, I like the bar at the bottom moving toward the goal line, does it have sound?, Student engagement...really well. It needs to become a little more clear on what the right answer is, etc, so others could possibly interact withtheir white boards trying to solve the same problem that the actual two players are trying to solve.

Suggestions for Improvement: See above responses...correct answer flashing....when I played it I was concentrating on the game not the process of getting the right answer...students need reinforcement for what the answer is., See above answers. I know, with the balloon pop game, I even forgot the problem I was trying to solve and the answer that was correct, which is the main objective. I had the opportunity to try the soccer math one as well, a little more fun, but hard to navigate. More fun if players could "run" to correct ansers across the screen to simulate actual play. movement of fron kick seemed counterintuitive to select a math problem to the right of me.

Verdict: Highly interactive, game kinect format. Wrong answers, see above comment., There needs to be some tweaking of the product first. I was playing the pop balloon game, where you had to find the wrong answer. This is very counter intuitive, especially for young learners. To allow the same amount of play time you could allow flipped problems and problem equivalencies that they would need to find. It was not super clear when the correct answer was found.

Leticia, Tech Coor.. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would recommend this product to K-2 teachers at my school site. I'd use it for early finishers, brain breaks, centers, or rainy day activity.

Strengths: This program uses brain / learning based research to get children learning and moving at the same time. Children are having fun, while being engaged. It's also fun!!!!!

Suggestions for Improvement: I'd really appreciate it if the program tracked student responses, or emailed the teacher reports on progress.

Verdict: This program uses brain / learning based research to get children learning and moving at the same time. Children are having fun, while being engaged.

STephanie, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This would be a FUN way for students to warm-up for lesson. I would also use as a reward. Awesome program. I want one today!

Strengths: The involvement of kinesthetic movement encourages students to participate. Students will WANT to learn using this product. With the popularity of video games that use movement, this program could easily be used at home.

Suggestions for Improvement: A way to track data for each student

Verdict: So many of our students are kinestethic learners. This competition part of the game will also encourage students to do their best. Movement and curriculum. Awesome concept!

Jaimie, Transitional Kindergarten Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it for my students in various content areas to incorporate physical activity and skills! Love it!

Strengths: Physical and mental

Suggestions for Improvement: Kindergarten pre school level more programs varied levels 4 player games

Verdict: It is active learning and involves whole body! My students are young!

Kimberly, Instructional Coach. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Math demos at the elementary level that involves kinetic movement to master math domains. The program is computer adaptive and adjusts speeds for learners. Easy to connect to laptop

Strengths: Innovative instruction that can support all levels of learners and increase engagement in math. I like that they are willing to get clients involved with feedback and shipping the kinetic for free Very user friendly and easy to follow directions

Suggestions for Improvement: New and still developing, so may have some glitches Kinder program needs to still be developed

Verdict: This game gets kids out of their seats and is a game-based assessment

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I will be using it at school and with my teams its a good way to connect with my students and teams

Strengths: Its does really well at getting the participants involved in the learning process. It also helps them with the math

Suggestions for Improvement: make it for kids in middle schools and high school kids

Verdict: great for kids its it meant to be used for the kids do get involved and it helps them pick up math and have fun while they are learning

Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Jumpido is great reward for students that have succeeded that the whole class can participate in

Strengths: Really fun reward for students

Suggestions for Improvement: Not that much learning. Set up could be easier. More games

Verdict: It is both educational and fun, and creates a great incentive system for students to want to succeed.

Leticia, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, 1:1 Devices
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I really enjoy the TPR of this program, total body while learning math.

Strengths: Students are using whole brain to solve math equations, this program will make math fun!

Suggestions for Improvement: None

Verdict: Students are completely engaged, game based learning and TPR, doesn't get better.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up