Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Counselor, School Type: Middle School
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this tool to design and create lesson plans and general curriculum plans for multiple subjects being taught at my school.

Strengths: very clear options and tutorial of planning lesson plans. provides an easy way to align curriculum planning. would minimize confusion across teachers and styles.

Suggestions for Improvement: could be more visually appealing although this would be more of a tool that we'd utilize for faculty and not students. lesson planning would be the area that i'd use this tool for in my school.

Verdict: This tool would provide a chance to align my lesson planning and curriculum development for subjects being taught at my school. teachers would be able to collaborate and utilize common tools and select from common options, but would also be able to customize their lesson plans and tailor them to their students' needs.

Jennifer, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I could see Istation being an additional option for students during literacy, allowing students to get extra instruction in certain skills - comprehension, fluency, vocabulary, etc.

Strengths: Helps place students in leveled curriculum so they're getting the instruction they need to improve their reading level.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would love to see an option for students to see their own data and not have to wait for the teacher to show them details (obviously makes more sense for older students...I teach 4th and want my students to own their learning).

Verdict: Provides data for teachers - helps identify students that need extra support/attention from teacher, adaptive formative assessments, allows students to see their growth in certain skills.

Technology Integration Specialist, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: This product seems too comprehensive for what my teachers' schedules will allow.

Strengths: It provides a comprehensive, individualized tool for students to utilize to increase their reading skills. It tailors lessons to meet students' individual needs.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) Simplify. Further explanation on how teachers might be able to use certain components with time constraints.
2) Testimonials. I'd like to know more about which districts are currently using this product and what their experience has been so far.
3) English learners. Make this product more relevant for English Learners.

Verdict: Istation Reading looks like a great tool. Unfortunately, I just don't see our teachers having enough time to explore or implement this into their instructional time.

Rsp, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use this product for assessment and curriculum to help my struggling readers.

Strengths: The visual content is appealing. The assessment function would be very helpful for myself and my students.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like to see the assessment tool provide a list of other books that might not be embedded in the product. I would like to see the product be more affordable for low income schools. I would like to see a more diverse range of texts. Thank you.

Verdict: The only reason to not recommend this product is based on the cost of it.

Rsp, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use this product for assessment and curriculum to help my struggling readers.

Strengths: The visual content is appealing. The assessment function would be very helpful for myself and my students.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like to see the assessment tool provide a list of other books that might not be embedded in the product. I would like to see the product be more affordable for low income schools. I would like to see a more diverse range of texts. Thank you.

Verdict: The only reason to not recommend this product is based on the cost of it.

Resource Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, College Prep School
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I teach Special Needs K-8, primarily reading. This is a great, leveled product that assesses students and targets instruction. I am planning on purchasing this product.

Strengths: I want to purchase this product for my Resource program, and have my students use it to skill build for a part of the teaching session. In small groups, I can rotate the students to this program and then back to one-on-one teacher time.

Suggestions for Improvement: I can't think of anything. I would have to use it for a while to give meaningful feedback, because what I saw today was right "on target."

Verdict: Everything I've seen demonstrated is correct (fundamentally) and supports best teaching practice of meeting the learner at the level they need.

Cristina, Bilingual Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I used this product to sort out my guiding reading groups, to see the students' reading level (Tier 1, Tier 2 and Tier 3).
I love it because every student can learn at their own pace.
You can also obtain graphics with their results that you can share with parents and administrators to provide further information.

Strengths: Students can read and listen to reading in an attractive format and they can progress into the different levels. They learn playing.

Suggestions for Improvement: I miss the speaking and writing skill. It would be awesome to include them.

Verdict: Because we can keep track of all our students reading and use the data for instructional purposes.

Computer Lab Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to assess student reading level and provide targeted reading practice.

Strengths: This product has a useful assessment feature, is adaptive, provides useful data for each student.

Suggestions for Improvement: Have not used enough to provide suggestions for improvements.

Verdict: I would recommend this product because it is easy to use, provides formative assessment, adaptive, and provides useful data.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: tracks students performances and makes it easy for the teachers grading. it holds their iterest

Strengths: improves reading

Suggestions for Improvement: easier to email guardians
more positive feedback
grade specific

Verdict: Used successfully by other districts.

Teacher Librarian, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, College Prep School, Blended Learning
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: ELD students would benefit greatly by using this software. Visual graphics are awesome which would aid in keeping students engaged. Character voices are pleasing to the ear. It is comparable to iready.

Strengths: Onset rimes, digraphs, and other phonemic awareness options are available for the student.

Suggestions for Improvement: If math lessons were incorporated into this product it would be even more amazing.

Verdict: It would easily track individual student's progress for differentiated learning. The visual graphics are amazing. Perfect tool for reading intervention.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up