Product Index
Everything Else
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Jan 24, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this great resource as an extension of my daily lessons for students to practice during their independent time or home with their parents.

Strengths: The way it builds up on the students reading skills. Starting from letter sounds to syllables to reading comprehension. I have been teaching bilingual classes for about ten years and have not been able to find a resource for spanish learning students to be able to use at home.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great if you can add a recording setting where students can record themselves reading and teachers to be able to listen to them the way raz-kids does. This would be great to be able to monitor students progress in their reading when using at home.

Verdict: I would put an effort into advocating for it because its a great resource for bilingual classrooms. There are not may products out there to help students learning Spanish.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it as an extension of my daily lessons with my students. I would also use it as an extension for them to use at home and practice daily learning with the help of their parents.

Strengths: The way this tool build up reading and reading comprehension is a plus. I love how you can start from letters to syllables to reading comprehension. This would really help with the problem of looking for Spanish resources.

Suggestions for Improvement: Right now is only Kinder through third grade. Our school has bilingual classes up to fifth grade I would love it if they would include fourth grade and fifth grade.

Verdict: I would put an effort into advocating for this tool in my school because we are a bilingual school. We have programs to help our student with reading comprehension and language in English but we had never heard of a product with the same benefits in Spanish.

Roseann, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use the product to fill in gaps of student deficiencies because it assesses them for thirty minutes weekly. Then the product will give them lessons tailored to their needs. It also helps with reading and writing in Spanish. This can help my daughter who is in the Dual Language program.

Strengths: The lesson I watched on writing was step by step and engaging. It talked to the student at their level. It also read aloud books in Spanish which is perfect for the Dual Language learner.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. When you drag a word it didn't light up or darken. This happened when I was ordering planets. It would be easier for me to know that I was clicking a word.
2.

Verdict: Our school site needs more programs that can help our Dual Language Spanish Learners because they don't get much support at home. Our parents at my site have been asking for more help.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Blended Learning
Jan 24, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this with my reading groups, intervention groups, and whole class teaching.

Strengths: This program would solve hours of data collection, making groups, assessing students, and creating re-teaching tools. It would also save paper and time collecting resources.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would include training for all staff on all the benefits of this product. I would make sure the teachers were aware of how this product would eventually save them precious time and get them to 'buy in' so that the product will be used by all.

Verdict: This would be a great tool for the entire school body. I love how it will group your students according to levels. Another great thing about this program is how it can be used at home and can go back and forth from school to home.

Eliu, Assistant Principal. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it with our dual immersion students because we currently don't have any Spanish online programs.

Strengths: The program does monthly monitoring to check on students progress. It also adapts as students work on this program.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Have the Spanish available up to 6th grade.
2. Assessment questions to represent SBAC questions.
3. The ability to record a child reading a passage.

Verdict: 1. We don't have anything in place for our dual immersion students.
2. We can target our long term English language learners.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Jan 24, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use Istation in my classroom during reading instruction, specifically for those students who are struggling and need intervention.

Strengths: A strength for this program is that it includes spanish comprehension and skills. The skills also build on each other, which makes it really accessible for the students.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would make the graphics more colorful or use more vibrant colors. The graphics look a bit dated. I feel like students, especially younger students would enjoy a more updated look. I would also recommend more spanish lessons for upper grade classrooms .

Verdict: I would recommend this product because it does not only include reading comprehension, but reading skills as well. I would also recommend this because of the ability to include dual language students.

Pm, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to personalize what my students are working on and the instruction they need. I would use it to provide extra support for my struggling students. Also, as a formative assessment opportunity.

Strengths: It makes lessons engaging both visually and in the content students get. The intervention reports look really detailed and easy to read for teachers.

Suggestions for Improvement: I do not know enough about the program to give any suggestion, however, I would like it to be rigorous enough to meet the needs of students who are advanced and ready to move on. I would also hope that the program included good parent feedback so they would be able to better support their students.

Verdict: I love the personalized aspect of the program. I also love the easy teacher dashboard.

Student, School Type: High School
Jan 24, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: this would be a useful tool to apply in the classroom in place of AR this seems to connect better with children and can be used more frequently than the alternative to keep tabs on your students

Strengths: this product is astounding in the sense of teaching children in a friendly format using games that appeal to certain age groups

Suggestions for Improvement: depending on age grouping change layouts to make changing interests between gender and rising age rates, and up the grade level difficulty for students with higher capabilities to compensate for higher learning levels.

Verdict: I would recommend it for elementary levels and for students in middle school who require intervention to catch up with the other kids

Dewitt, 8th Grade Literature Teacher. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, Blended Learning
Jan 24, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Just recently, all of my students were granted with laptops: so now instead of the students taking turns to use Istation, now they can all use it at the same time in the classroom.

Strengths: Istation is a great tool to use the students are exposed to laptops or computers.

Suggestions for Improvement: Three things that I would change about this program is that I would want to expand this program because it is only from K-8th grade so I would want this program to go up to high school level.

Verdict: I know that students are going to be a lot more engaged into Istation because it more related to the video games that they play instead of taking an AR test which is very boring to the students.

Dewitt, 8th Grade Literature Teacher. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, Blended Learning
Jan 24, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Just recently, all of my students were granted with laptops: so now instead of the students taking turns to use Istation, now they can all use it at the same time in the classroom.

Strengths: Istation is a great tool to use the students are exposed to laptops or computers.

Suggestions for Improvement: Three things that I would change about this program is that I would want to expand this program because it is only from K-8th grade so I would want this program to go up to high school level.

Verdict: I know that students are going to be a lot more engaged into Istation because it more related to the video games that they play instead of taking an AR test which is very boring to the students.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up