Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Karla, Ela Teacher. School Type: Middle School, Project Based School, 1:1 Devices
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: when we are doing Writer's workshop, the use of the Infercabulary which shows the synonyms and the videos to show each one is very helpful. I use Visual Thesaurus, but the kids need a picture of video explaining the very slight differences between each synonym. As of now, I am the video, but all teachers may not be comfortable acting out synonyms in front of their students.

Strengths: In reviewing this product, I do see how this would be especially useful if I could input my own documents into the program and have the site adapt to my specific needs. I would like to see how what type of library of images and videos this program would be able to provide for extension (depth of knowledge of vocabulary).

Suggestions for Improvement: In reviewing this product, I did not see the data aspect and how teachers might have access to tracking student progress over a period of time. Are there assessments included to test student retention? Assessments and data are the direction in which my county is going and so it is a "must have" with programs that we use.

Verdict: The only caution I would have is recommending a product that is not yet ready for the interent. The only thing they offer is working with the app on IPAD. My student do not have IPADs. I would interested to see how this product transitions to BETA use for a larger audience.

Shannon, 4th Grade And Tech Liaison. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Blended Learning
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: Small group time, this would be perfect for my fourth grade workshops. The MAP assessment focused a lot on vocabulary and we need to prepare our kids for it. This would be great

Strengths: It has an innovative way to address vocabulary needs in the elementary classroom. Students will be engaged with they sit down to practice their skills for state assessments. They can do this independently during workshop/Center rotations.

Suggestions for Improvement: - add a feature that allows teachers to assign vocal words to small grips or independent students.
- add a mastery of progress feature to track student data and then use info for small group teaching.
- lower the price. As an app, it shouldn't be more than $3

Verdict: It still seems like it's in BETA. There is no teacher input on what words each stud net should work on. It would be nice if it tracked progress or mastery.

Teacher, Trainer, School Type: Middle School, High School, Other, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, BYOD Devices
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: I would use it to work on vocabulary with my English Language Learners. We would use it as a station i a literacy unit in Middle School. I'd also share it with other English Teachers.

Strengths: The verb program is spectacular. I love how it comes up with words based on the equation model. This would be especially useful for English learners both secondary school age and for adults. I like that the noun program shows pictures that have to do with meaning and that there are several choices so kids can see the meaning.

Suggestions for Improvement: MORE WORDS!! They both need to have more depth in it's data/vocab in order for me to use it. Also I need it to work on the web and mobile devices. Anything that is just iPad is really short-sighted. Our school has very few iPads.

Verdict: I must say that I LOVE this product, both the one for nouns and the one for verbs. The thing is they have a very limited number of vocabulary words listed so I think we would run out of words soon. I couldn't recommend using something that we would not be able to use all year long.

Edwin, Blended Learning Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High ELL Population, Blended Learning
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This is a very good app and program for my school which has an 85% ELL population. Vocabulary is such an essential part of learning a language, and it becomes a hindrance when it is taught in a boring manner.
This is an exciting and helpful app that target deeper or higher order thinking, and balanced with the video and graphic support.

Strengths: It teaches vocabulary in a very rigorous and exciting way. Choosing a picture from among 4, which suggests which one approximates the word the most, makes the student think harder, and once there is some difficulty, frustration is avoided because of great graphics and videos explaining the meaning.

Suggestions for Improvement: Online support
Pre-activity assessment
Data on progress to tailor the program to each student.

Verdict: This is very helpful for my ELL students at all levels in my school.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, 1:1 Devices
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would recommend it

Strengths: I really like the use of Real world picturesque audio support is a plus

Suggestions for Improvement: explore possibilities for hearing impaired students
Explore possibilities for students with speech impairments
Could you have students compare how they pronounce the work to the audio (audio matching)?

Verdict: It reaves all level learners and does not talk down to the students

Pd Coordinator, School Type: Other, BYOD Devices
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Prof devel with teachers and speech therapiats

Strengths: Visually impressive Great for middle school Helpful for ELL and at risk learners

Suggestions for Improvement: get it web based so we can collect data
Make it cost appropriate for individual teachers

Verdict: Needs to be web based which I understand will be happening soon

Lindsy, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, 1:1 Devices
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: To teach vocab

Strengths: The graphics are very interesting and helps engage students The videos are clear and easy to comprehend The higher order skills are excellent

Suggestions for Improvement: Having some tracking of students in a teacher setting would be valuable

Verdict: Powerful way to teach vocab

Instructional Technology Specialist, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population, Blended Learning
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Strengths: It allows students to work on their higher order thinking skills and abilities. Gives ELL students the opportunity to practice and learn and expand their vocabulary.

Suggestions for Improvement: Have a web option and one click google sign on

Synonums
Antonyms
Open-ended activities which allow students to demonstrate their learning and apply it it many ways

Verdict: I would use this to show teachers another way they can integrate technology into their classroom. Allow for our students that are various learners to work on activities and build on their strengths

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would have teachers use this as an access tool for their students in writing assignments--particularly WordQuations in assisting students with coming up with just the right nuance.

It could also be used in adaptive learning situations (visually and aurally) with our ELL and special needs students.

Strengths: The interactive component is helpful in giving students an avenue for developing higher level deduction and reasoning skills while developing a stronger vocabulary.

Suggestions for Improvement: I am anxious to see the new web-based development with the intent of expanding and categorizing the vocabulary content as well as enhancing the assessment component.

Verdict: Again, this is a great resource for adaptive learning situations.

Grade 3 Teacher; Math Chair, School Type: Elementary School, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: To build vocabulary in my Grade 3 classroom, and also to teach the nuance of vocabulary. To connect the visual and audio senses.

Strengths: It offers visuals to show difficult and abstract concepts related to vocabulary for third graders.

Suggestions for Improvement: After a student is given a sentence using a synonym, it would be good to give them an opportunity to rewrite that sentence using the vocabulary word.

It would be good if a student or teacher could add their own words/word lists, and related pictures and videos.

Verdict: I'm not sure I know the product well enough yet to fight for it, but I'll be checking into it. So far I have not been happy with vocab apps so I'm hopeful this is the one we could use successfully.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up