Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Roberta, Resource Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, 1:1 Devices
Jul 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this with my small math groups within many grade levels.

Strengths: The program requires students to show the steps being used in the correct sequence to solve problems. Good practice for many of my students since so many just manipulate the numbers.

Suggestions for Improvement: Not enough experience with this tool. Would like to see more about how the reports look and can be used to help teachers differentiate in the classroom.

Verdict: Appears to be a nice tool to support and guide many of the students that struggle in our math classes and also to challenge those students who may be advanced with some aspect of their grade based curriculum.

Roberta, Resource Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, 1:1 Devices
Jul 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this with my small math groups within many grade levels.

Strengths: The program requires students to show the steps being used in the correct sequence to solve problems. Good practice for many of my students since so many just manipulate the numbers.

Suggestions for Improvement: Not enough experience with this tool. Would like to see more about how the reports look and can be used to help teachers differentiate in the classroom.

Verdict: Appears to be a nice tool to support and guide many of the students that struggle in our math classes and also to challenge those students who may be advanced with some aspect of their grade based curriculum.

Math Supervisor, School Type: High School, 1:1 Devices
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: It is too individualized and it does not include Algebra 2.

Strengths: It is adaptive, so students get needed review. Students can also be challenged if they are successful. It gives individual results when needed.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would suggest including Algebra 2. This is designed for students to work independently. We encourage more collaboration among students in the classroom.

Verdict: We already own online textbooks, which serve this purpose.

Response from Imagine Math: Algebra II is on Think Through Math's product roadmap. The product does individualize instruction for each student, so that they work within their zone of proximal development. A customized learning pathway is build for each student based on their individual performance on the initial placement test, enabling teachers to ensure that each student is getting the personalized learning experience most suitable for their needs.

Admin, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, Low Income Population, Project Based School, 1:1 Devices
Jul 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Daily in classrooms in many ways depending on need - small group rotation, while cclad in order to pull our for individualized instruction, homework, whole class instruction.

Strengths: Guiding questions to support thinking through the math problems and access to a real live teacher if /when needed. Huge bonus to support learning aftet school.

Suggestions for Improvement: Can't think of any at this time. Will be happy to after using the program.

Verdict: Provides instruction and support for Sorenson lstudents. Gives models, feedback and instruction, including acres to a real live teacher.

Chief Academic Officer, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, 1:1 Devices
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to better support a differentiated learning environment for struggling students

Strengths: What this does well is allow for differentiation and solves a problem with grouping students in different grades by ability.

Suggestions for Improvement: I don't have specific recommendations...I was impressed. Perhaps after using the product I would identify some areas for improvement.

Verdict: It seems to provide immediate feedback and then move the student to the next level. I love the adaptive component that allow for differentiation.

Tech Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, Low Income Population
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: Ideally the district could use the tool as an at home solution. Students would have the ability to revisit, reinforce and extend what they are learning in school, while having the ability to be able to get live help from a certified teacher, if needed.

Strengths: The product offers live help.
The product offers decent data.

Suggestions for Improvement: The cost may be a sticking point.
Outside of cost, the product was functional and impressive as is

Verdict: I would definitely recommend, the product as a possible at home and summer solution. The price might be a sticking point for the district.

Response from Imagine Math: The price of Think Through Math is less than $20 per student per year, which includes as much on-line live tutoring assistance as each student needs, and which is about the same price as a printed math workbook. The program is available 365/24/7 and can be used from home or school. Many schools are switching from printed workbooks to Think Through Math, which offers differentiated instruction, real-time benchmarking information using the Quantile Framework (the math equivalent to the Lexile scale), live on-demand 1:1 support for struggling students, and unique student motivation to keep students excited about doing math.

Technology Coordinator, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: We have two other math systems already, including online access.

Strengths: The live teacher support is a great feature, and I'm sure it's the reason for the higher cost.

I also like that there is no minimum number of licenses.

Suggestions for Improvement: The examples we saw weren't so impressive.

The cost is too high for us to reasonably consider, except for small groups.

Verdict: I'm not sure it fills a need we have. We currently use GoMath and IXL - while there is not the same level of adaptive instruction in those products, they are currently working well for us.

Response from Imagine Math: The price of Think Through Math is less than $20 per student per year, which is about the same price as a printed math workbook. Think Through Math's price also includes integrated benchmark tests that provide real-time student performance data via the Quantile Framework (the math equivalent to the Lexile scale for reading), as well as 1:1 on-demand support from an on-line certified math teacher for EVERY struggling student.

Professor, School Type: Higher Education
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: Would use it to supplement my math lessons

Strengths: Live teacher support is an awesome feature

Suggestions for Improvement: Ability for the student to speak to the teacher instead of typing

Verdict: Looked easy to use and the live teacher support is a unique feature

Response from Imagine Math: Think Through Math is extremely easy for teachers to use. Students can be easily uploaded via a simple spreadsheet and then can begin using the program immediately. Most teachers can be up and running with the program in less than an hour.

Teacher, School Type: High School
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: To diagnose and remediate instruction.
To streamline the intervention and referral proceas

Strengths: Love it. Remediates instruction and live help.
Love the incentives.
Love the lessons and that it was in Spanish and .

Suggestions for Improvement: Cost maybe $6 per student.

Verdict: It offers live help and incentives.

Superintendent, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Low Income Population, Blended Learning
Jul 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: To supplement adopted math curriculum especially at middle grades.

Strengths: The master teacher concept allows students to have individualized assistance

Suggestions for Improvement: Visually might not be attractive to middle grades students

Verdict: Personalized learning and personalized staff development

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up