Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to help me translate words so that I can communicate better with my students' parents. Since the majority of them only speak Spanish, I always need a translator present when talking to them and after school hours that is not available. I do not like using Google Translator since that is not always accurate. This would make communicating with parents easier and it would also help me translate words and their meanings to my low english speaking and low readers when they are reading since it will show them this hard English word you are reading means the same as this other word you know already in Spanish.

Strengths: Translates in multiple language the hard words students come across as they read great articles and excellent literature

It solves the problem of EL students feeling completely overwhelmed when reading and not feeling like they can use their bilingual background and Spanish to help them understand English

Solves the problem of having a teacher who is not bilingual struggle to translate for students and parents the curriculum that they are struggling to understand.

Suggestions for Improvement: Nothing really. This seems amazing. I can't wait to use this soon and introduce it to all of my collegaues.

Maybe change the name so that consumers can more quickly tell what it is about.

Have a more eye catching logo and website layout.

Verdict: This would allow for more effective communication with parents and with our students, as well as more personable communication since a third party translator won't have to be present. Also, it can give students that bilingual support that I cannot always provide them.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it as the primary part of computer time in my classroom.

Strengths: Makes any content accessible to any struggling student for any reason while still keeping them accountable so that they do not fall behind in terms of accomplishing grade level goals. It assesses students in an easy way for teachers to monitor and it allows students to be independent from teacher without feeling lost due to tools such as the translating one so that they learn the skill of finding resources and solve their own problems in comprehension.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Nothing, demos were easy to follow
2. Nothing, they offer to demonstrate in class
3. Nothing, they already have signed up California to make it easy to implement right away.

Verdict: This product has tools that will help all of our students with reading comprehension based on common core standards due to the fact that translates any word in texts into so many languages and it scaffolds while still keeping kids on task at grade level standards.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it for my English Language Learners. I would work on their vocabulary and reading comprehension. I would also make it a station and have students rotate centers.

Strengths: Targeted towards ELA, especially English Language learners; levels students, reading comprehension, and practices vocabulary. It also gives students another medium to work with rather than print. It is interactive and engaging.

Suggestions for Improvement: My only concern for this product is that it should be available across all devices. My site is mainly English Language Learners, and one aspect of the product which is for ELLs is only on tablets, while the rest of the product is across all devices. I would like the ELLs aspect to be on chromebooks so that it could be usable for our site.

Verdict: I have a wide range of English Language Learners, and this would be a way to differentiate instruction in the classroom. Rather than spreading myself thin, each student would be leveled and would work at their own pace.

Ell Specialist, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use the OneNote feature for students to response after reading a book or text. I liked the dictionary feature for English Language Learners.

Strengths: I liked the feature of speech to text for my English Language Learners. Teachers have information on what students are writing about. Microsoft 365 is free for students. Students and teachers learn to use OneNote. Windows does provide free service for teachers. I love the dictionary that is built into the text. Students can look up unknown words in their language.

Suggestions for Improvement: I was impressed with this software. At the moment, I can't think of anything that I would change about the program. Maybe find a way to use it with younger elementary students- Kindergarten-3rd grade.

Verdict: This program is for students in grades 4-10th. The teachers have data on what the students have read. The digital inking is an important feature with this program.

Itc Teacher, School Type: High School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I am WL teachers so I will not use this in my classroom.
I think it is good for ELD students and I will recommend this to my colleagues.

Strengths: I think this product really works for differentiated instruction.
Students can work their own paces and students can choose books for their levels.

Suggestions for Improvement: I like this product can be translated in 47 languages but need to have better translation program.
My school is not using ipad and not all classes have 1:1 devices.
I hope it works well on any devices.
This is good program for WL classroom. I would like to see this in Spanish and Chinese.

Verdict: I would recommend this because we have English Learners Class and Support program. It is good for them to use.

Rob, Teacher And Ilt Member. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Targeted ELD students

Strengths: Integrated approach to content area
This would be great for our many ELD students. This is definitely the future of etext and in the future this will be the standard. The wide selection of texts is definitely a positive, as is the user interface

Suggestions for Improvement: We are not at 1:1 ratio yet
We also would have to invest money into the hardware which might be difficult to do as well as the wifi bandwidth needed

Are there controls on keeping students on the correct page of the program? This was not readily observable

Verdict: We will be looking to adopt an eta and ELD program in the next few years so I would suggest looking at this program

E, Tutoring Coordinator. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Low Income Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this with students who need help in reading and comprehension

Strengths: I like the way students can answer questions and continue to make an effort to find the correct answers

Suggestions for Improvement: I think software and apps in general take awaay criticle one on one interaction with a real person. I think we need more connections with real people rather than technology

Verdict: It appears to be successful in bringing up their students language level.
It seems very easy to use and monitor.

Alicia, Educational Technology Tosa. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: To assist struggling readers in accessing content by modeling effectiveness EL strategies while utilizing iLit as a support for students. It offers great vocabulary development and I like the levels and interactive nature of the program.

Strengths: I like the concept of it and the fact that kids are engaged. I would say the gradual release model is effective and there is lots of assessment data for teachers.

Suggestions for Improvement: It isn't a stand alone program and does require teacher modeling and direct instruction so I wonder what kind of supports are in place for teachers to implement the program successfully. The self select piece for choosing appropriate text isn't full proof, so I would love to see Lexile levels as a guide. I would like to see more writing integration.

Verdict: I would recommend it to our continuation high school as many of the learners are done with the traditional school model. iLit gives them a platform to gain reading strategies and learn at their own pace. When students have ownership they are more likely to continue in their learning.

Technology Integration Specialist, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: This product seems well-designed and comprehensive, but I'm not sure it will hold the interest level of our ELL students due to its uniform, textbook appearance.

Strengths: This product is thorough with a clear mission statement to provide explicit, scaffolded content to support English Language Development. I'm not sure if it solves a problem, but it does offer a rich resource for ELD.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) More kid-friendly. This product looks very much like an assessment tool, which will be a turn-off for young students. A more visually appealing interface would be mofre inviting for students.
2) More videos.
3) More translation options.

Verdict: I would not recommend this product because we currently have two targeted ELD programs in place, and this does not seem to offer any additional strong motivators for us to switchover to this product.

Jessica, Teacher. School Type: High School, College Prep School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to incorporate all the different English modalities in my classroom . I would this for all my English and ans ELD students. I would use this to introduce literature.

Strengths: I absolutely love that includes both of the ELA standards and ELD standards for every unit. Other programs only including ELA standards and not ELD It's amazing that there is a built in program that can correct the students writing such as paragraphs and essays . I played around with it a little and it was pretty amazing.

Suggestions for Improvement: Overall, it is great and I don't think there is anything I would change about this. Maybe, incorporate more books!?

Verdict: I would recommend this tool because it is different than all the other ones I have seen so far. This program also has a built in dictionary and synonyms to help the students better understand the vocabulary that is in the Digital novels. It also focuses on academic vocabulary, and includes quick pre-assessment for the students in which teachers can see the results immediately. My favorite part is that it includes a sentence frames for the students to utilize during work time. Actually, my ultimate favorite piece of this entire program is that the teacher controls the pace of the lesson, in other words the teacher is changing the pages and students cannot continue unless the teacher changes the page. Also, a text that the student reads can be translated into 45 different languages and heard in an audio. The translations are fabulous unlike Google translate. It also includes resources for the teacher such as SIOP strategies.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up