Product Index
Educational Operations
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Special Education Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I currently use a lot of powerpoint in my lecture in history (US and World). At times I feel as though the students are bored out of their minds and this could be a more interactive way of presenting material to students. It can also be used as an essential formative assessment for my students with the built in options available. I also want my students to use this for project based learning. I currently use posters and 'old school' techniques due to the lack of technology in the classroom. This would be an amazing tool to show parents what their students are learning.

Strengths: Is a great tool for visual learners who want to be hands on with the computer.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. no limit to the number of timelines (I can always wish right?)
2. text to voice that is non robotic (I understand though...)
3. have a way to scroll down other than the mouse (kind of hard on the eye)

Verdict: It is student friendly as it looks like a social media tool but also has many tools in it such as video, audio, vocab, images etc. This is free until 200 timelines are over, but as a teacher I do not think I personally would reach that limit. If I want my students to create timelines on this program, then I think it is well worth the money per year. It is also recommended by me because of the build in library of timelines already established that would allow me to modify and change things to already existed ones.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population, College Prep School, Blended Learning
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: The HSTRY website would be a good product to use in science to document the steps of a process,such as the water cycle. It can be used in any content area. It seems like it would be good for documenting projects and adding pictures to show each part of the process. It would be for good how to documentations, or telling a story, or talking about locations. I can see our 5th grade teacher using this to have students research about states and have students document what they learn. I like that you can share story, images, and videos in one place.

Strengths: It creates a reason to write for students.
It gives students and teachers a way to see student progress/work in one place.
Students can add and edit.

Suggestions for Improvement: Students can make positive comments on each other's work.
How to assess student work? are teacher would want to track data or create a rubric.
How can teachers manage large numbers of student projects easily?

Verdict: It gives students a purpose for writing. It can be shared with the class and others. Students can look at other online examples and use their own creativity. It looks like a super creative option for researching and writing.

L Ibrarian, School Type: Middle School, High School
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would have the students and teachers use this product to share facts and information that they want others to know about

Strengths: It solves the problem of students that can't put their presentation together in an eye pleasing fashion. They can add all their information and it looks great and it is ready to share with others.

Suggestions for Improvement: A build in bibliography maker would make this great product even better.
As the students add their pictures and articles, the product could keep track of them and put a bibliography together.

Verdict: This is a great way for students to bring together facts, photos, videos, charts, etc. and share with others.

Resource Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, College Prep School
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this as Informational text to "inspire" either Informational or Opinion Writing. I teach Special Needs K-8, so I would connect the subject matter to the grade of the student that I'm working with. For example, I would use an article on Ancient Egypt to work with a 6th grader, because that connects with the 6th grade standard.

Strengths: This product is cross curricular, and I teach multiple grades, so I could use this.

Suggestions for Improvement: One of the things that I noticed (and shared with the rep) was that it does not have the ability to hear a word pronounced when you click on it. I would need to go between that program and something like Merium Webster for pronunciation.

Verdict: I would recommend it for my Resource program, and for the Middle School Social Studies program, because one Middle School teacher teaches 6,7 and 8 Social Studies, and I suspect this would save on prep time.

Technology Integration Specialist, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, Other, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use HSTRY to as a way to curate a timeline of school events or as a way to demonstrate understanding of historical events.

Strengths: HSTRY outputs a visually appealing and streamlined timeline based on user input. Users can add images to bring their timelines to life.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) CCSS alignment. I'd like to know more about how this product is Common Core aligned. Specifically, what resources exist to support teachers who have a specific standard in mind. Are there examples?
2) Cost-free. This product is appealing, but putting a price tag on it is a red flag for me. What does this product offer at cost that I cannot do through Google for free?
3) Testimonials from current teachers. I'm interested to hear more from teachers who are currently using this tool in their classrooms.

Verdict: This product has an inspiring mission statement and looks visually appealing, but I'm not sure how well it would integrate into existing teaching strategies, curriculum, and tech resources at my sites.

Sarrie, Makerspace Coach. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, Project Based School, 1:1 Devices, BYOD Devices
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Two ways, one would be for students to create a time line about a subject and also a way for students to create a time line of their own work, like a portfolio

Strengths: It is very easy to set up. The cost is affordable and receive much before need to pay. It is easy to set up and work with.

Suggestions for Improvement: At this time, don'the see any downfalls. Looking forward to get the students started on their time lines.

Verdict: The cost is low for what the benefit is.

Sean, Assistant Principal. School Type: Middle School
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I can easily see Hstry being utilized as an introduction to a unit in almost an subject. It can provide the background necessary to ensure all students start the unit with roughly the same knowledge.

Strengths: Hstry has pre-built timelines, but also allows user to manipulate copies of these timelines to add and subtract information to make them their own.

Suggestions for Improvement: The main way to improve Hstry would be to consider renaming the product. Many educators, beyond history teachers, would find the product beneficial.

Verdict: This tool can shift a class, especially history, from teacher-centered to student-centered. By changing the focus from the teacher to the content, students will take the reigns and may explore the concept more.

Rana, Math And Physics Teacher. School Type: High School, 1:1 Devices
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Keep a blog of what is going on in my classroom so that parents, students and other teachers can keep track.

Strengths: I do not think that the product would save me time, but I do think that students and teachers would appreciate the way the class materials are presented.

Suggestions for Improvement: Link the product to a learning management system.
Keep track of learning objectives.

Verdict: I think it is great as a blog (like facebook for a classroom) to post updates about your classroom and keep a timeline so that students can refer back to previous topics in the course.

venkat raman, Speech Therapist. School Type: High School, Higher Education
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: To talk about events in the history.

Strengths: Its a very good tool to talk about events and teach them inference and retelling.

Suggestions for Improvement: it should allow personal review. and write inference. it should online sharing of summary and review of experts on the summary.

Verdict: Its a great tool. It works very well as it provides visual feedback and interactive. it helps with the images to keep it interesting.

Helene, Technology Coordinator. School Type: Elementary School, Project Based School, Blended Learning
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use this to reinforce a 4th grade unit that I teach about the Great Migration of African Americans and the affect that it had on California history as it pertains to World War ll.

Strengths: It allows students to include many sources about a topic.

Suggestions for Improvement: A representative timeline.
Ability to float objects.
More than one page.

Verdict: I would like it to incorporate timelines as visual tools to show how concurrent events affect history.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up