Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Nov 2, 2013

— Rating unavailable for this review.

Strengths:

Suggestions for Improvement:

Verdict:

Nov 2, 2013

— Rating unavailable for this review.

Strengths:

Suggestions for Improvement:

Verdict:

Nov 2, 2013

— Rating unavailable for this review.

Strengths:

Suggestions for Improvement:

Verdict:

5th Grade Teacher
Nov 2, 2013

— Rating unavailable for this review.

Usage: tracking and organizing student documents

Strengths: The product does a great job in organizing student documents. Instead of focusing on correcting and filing paperwork, the product allows teachers to electronically keep track of, distribute, and edit student documents. It also has a feature that tracks the last time the student made a document change.

I also like that it piggy backs on Google Apps. Google is always very user friendly and the fact that Hapara links themselves to the Google Apps is pretty convenient and easy to use.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like Hapara to incorporate a feature where if I had multiple classes, I have the ability to share documents to all my classes in one click. In addition, the "Last Modified" feature is neat, however an actual time and date stamp would be helpful for the sake of assigned assignments and if they were submitted on time.

Verdict: This would be great for middle school and high school teachers. It saves time and paper.

Omar, 9th Grade Digital Media Arts Teacher
Nov 2, 2013

— Rating unavailable for this review.

Usage: I would mainly use this for my digital media arts class to help students develop better file management systems and structures. I think it would be useful for our teachers as well.

Strengths: This product works in conjunction with chrome books, which would be perfect for my math teacher who is doing blended learning on her classroom. This is a great way to be able to see students folders and files and access a specific child's work and be able to project ear portfolio as it is seen.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like this to be on a teacher to teacher basis. I understand that I would need to go through my organization in order for this to become a reality. I use computers with students everyday and not all teachers on our campus would necessarily need this feature.

Verdict: I think it's what we want google drive to be but it is not.

Gabe, Student
Nov 2, 2013

— Rating unavailable for this review.

Usage: class document management

Strengths: This product makes managing a google drive-driven classroom more manageable. The dashboard view is quite handy, and it all solves the problem of how do teachers take advantage of Google's Cloud Based Storage and Document management in a way that doesn't involve tearing hair out.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would make it integrate very well with Apple hardware. There is no doubt about that. Chromebooks are cool but let's be real.

I would also clean up the interface a bit because it looks like it's from the 1980s.

Verdict: I would recommend it for all teachers who use Google Apps in the classroom, especially if Google Drive is a cornerstone of the classroom.

6, 7, 8 Video+ Ela/Ss 8th Grade
Nov 2, 2013

— Rating unavailable for this review.

Usage: Just beginning to use. I use to track student work, and to share student work with class

Strengths: organization of data
ease of access
Also allows teachers to see work being completed or completed for classes other than their own
Helps track student progress for longer assignments

Suggestions for Improvement: Would like to have teachers be able to combine folders for more than one class. Example: one folder for ELA/SS. I know this is possible for site admin to change, but I don't think for individual teachers.

Verdict: Reduces the overwhelm for teachers new to using Google apps.

Professional Development Coordinator
Nov 2, 2013

— Rating unavailable for this review.

Usage: No... I would use it to organize the chaos that is my Google Drive

Strengths: This program solves a MAJOR problem with Google Apps for Ed users. The organization will be a huge timesaver for any teacher.

Suggestions for Improvement: If it were possible to price this differently.. by user, by teacher, or some other way than whole-school integration, this would be better for me to sell to my school/district. There is a pilot program, but the bottom line is that only 20% or so of our teachers would use this right now.

Verdict: I will recommend this to my principal as a pilot.

Danielle, Teacher
Nov 2, 2013

— Rating unavailable for this review.

Usage: I would use this product to manage my 1:! classroom.

Strengths: Wow, this is like a dream. Despite having limitations on what students can view, I struggle to manage my 1:1 chromebook classroom in terms of time on task for students. I love the bird's eye view in terms of management and ease of viewing (I frequently get screen fatigue).

Suggestions for Improvement: Price. The reason why I ADORE GAFE is that they're free. Anything that costs money really puts a drain on the nonexistant resources available to me.

Verdict: I would if they had the means to pay for it.

Science Teacher
Nov 2, 2013

— Rating unavailable for this review.

Usage: Google app/document mgmt

Strengths: My district has assigned Google accounts for all its students and they also want us to move towards a paperless classroom. Hapara would help me manage all the student accounts and even let me see what they are working on in the class with their remote control tool.

Suggestions for Improvement: I wish that it was a little cheaper and used less bandwidth.

Verdict: I would recommend it to all of the teachers at my school who are in the laptop program (all of their students use laptops to access assignments/take notes/etc).

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up